Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel

Living room
Traveller (74)
Sunrise Over the Ohio from Our Room
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
₹22,385
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₹22,385
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 9 hotels in Covington
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whether traveling on business or pleasure, alone or with the family, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront delivers smart value, modern accommodations, and a great location with everything you need for a great stay!Located in Covington, Kentucky, the southern side of Cincinnati, & just one mile from downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront is close to everything & second to none. Our location is perfect for enjoying all that our area has to offer, from the Ark Encounter to the Cincinnati Zoo, from Newport on the Levee to the Creation Museum, from OTR to Findlay Market.Just blocks away from dining & bourbon at MainStrasse Village, Hard Rock Casino, & the area's best city overlook at Drees Pavilion/Devou Park. Perfect for baseball, football, & concerts!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Aerobics offsite
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Archery offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book summer and save at participating US IHG hotels.

Location

200 Crescent Ave, Covington, KY 41011-1002
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Intl Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
Cincinnati Municipal Airport
319Reviews12Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 67
  • 12
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
awblenko wrote a review Jun 2023
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania79 contributions28 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was in excellent condition and very well maintained. While Holiday Inn Express is my "go to" brand when traveling (best breakfast buffet - yay), this hotel really stood out, from entering the front door to every corner of our room. Hard working and nice staff. Great location right across the river from downtown Cincy but without the downtown rates. I look forward to returning some day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Thank you for the awesome review and very kind comments! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ellenation wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a block of rooms here for my wedding guests as well as myself, and had the best experience booking and working with the coordinator, Molly. She was very responsive and helpful with all my questions and requests. She even offered to pick up breakfast for us for the morning of the wedding while we were getting ready!

The hotel is in a great location for where we had pictures (Devou Park) as well as the ceremony in Cincinnati - none of our out-of-state guests had any problems navigating to it.

The hotel was clean and recently remodeled. The staff was so friendly. I would 100% book here again and recommend it as well!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Thank you SO much for the awesome review! We are honored to be your host hotel for your wedding and happy everything went well! I appreciate the kind comments on Molly and all our associates! Congratulations to both of you! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jonnie103 wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect from check in to check out in every aspect. Great rooms pool and breakfast.cant say anything more just great hotel as well as staff location is great for any nearby attractions and right on Ohio river with spectacular riverfront view
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MollyF654, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Wow! Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review!! We are so pleased you had a great stay and we hope you'll come back and see us again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CMD925 wrote a review Jan 2020
Houston, Texas5 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a multi-story building. Check-in was a breeze art 830pm and the room was spacious and pleasantly decorated. Breakfast was one of the best among all the BW hotels I have stayed at. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the parking is all around the building so you can always find a spot that is not too far.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for the great review and kind comments! I am happy you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast too! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
.Z. wrote a review Mar 2022
Los Angeles, California150 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Worked in KY for a week and stayed in Covington KY. At first I wasn't a fan of the area at first, as we arrived at night. The next day I walked around and found out the area is an amazing little village center with great restaurants, bars, cafes and shops! Lots of convince stores, though no grocery stores within walking distance. The hotel itself was a bit dated, but the bed was comfy. TVs did have the ability to log into Netflix and YouTube, as well as cable. The Fitness Center was basic, but was at least open, so was the pool, though I didn't go in. Great view of Cincinnati and the Ohio River from my window, was on the 6th floor. Sound travels far in the hallways, walking around I could hear people talking from all the rooms, FYI.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: High Floors have the best view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Hi Suzi L, Thank you for taking the time to write are review. I have shared your concerns with our management. It will help us improve our service from now on. We always want to offer you the most frictionless experience. It's been a pleasure to host you. We hope to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
243DLP wrote a review Jul 2023
Midland, Michigan1,020 contribution193 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here two different nights. Both were king rooms on the 6th floor facing the river, with A/C on wall by window, keurig, microwave, fridge (no freezer), tub shower with shampoo & soap dispensers on wall. No towel racks and small counter in bathroom. The rooms were quiet. A/C was a little loud but not enough to keep us awake. There is a wardrobe instead of a closet. The beds are firm, but I have a mattress pad I use. The beds have a sheet and then a comforter which makes it a little too warm for sleeping - there should be a blanket you can put on instead of the quilt (maybe put one in the wardrobe). The first room the shower drained very slow. The second room was close to the elevator, but not too noisy. The room also seemed to feel damp (maybe the a/c is leaking somewhere?). The toilet acted like it was plugged. Breakfast was typical HI Express. They had coffee in the lobby which is always nice. Possibly would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Thank you so much for the valuable feedback and details, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and would consider us again the the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jorge R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I were in town for a baseball game. We booked 3 rooms, but my wife and I arrived first. The c”guest service center checked us in, but they told us we had to pay for all 3 rooms, plus the $20 refundable damage room deposit for each room.
We asked if we could just pay for our room, but we were told no because the original credit card that was initially used to reserve the rooms could not be billed.
So we paid the charges as we were tired and just wanted to rest after a 400 mile drive. Then when my brother-in-law arrived he asked them why the policy change? Since they previously stayed here and had always been allowed to pay each individual room. When they gave him an answer, they accused us of never asking to only pay for our room.
The following morning, I went to the guest service center and I asked the front desk to please send extra pillows to my room as I have a bad back and had a terrible time sleeping. I was told they would send them up.
My wife and I went out to a baseball game that was moved from sn afternoon game to a late 7pm game. Needless to say, we were gone a majority of the day. Later that evening we returned about 10:30p - 11:00p and our room had not only not been cleaned, but our pillows were no where to be found.
I phoned the front desk, pleaded with them. I was offered an apology for the mishap and was told they would send the pillows up immediately. We waited until after midnight and the request for the extra pillows never arrived.
My family and I will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Thank you for the feedback, I am very sorry you did not experience a great stay with us that we strive to provide for all of our guests and happy to see your room was discounted for the issues you encounter during your stay. I have also spoke to our team members to provide improve our services. Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gloria W wrote a review Jul 2022
Dearborn Heights29 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Moat of the staff was friendly, but I did not get what I expected from this hotel from reading their ads and the prices I paid. The pool was not warm and not enjoyable. this was the opinion of other people in the pool area also. I went there day 2 and it was just as cold. Mentioned this to front desk and they said it is as high they make it and do not expect bath water warm. The only people who can see the river is if you are on the upper floors. Tree, houses, business all around the hotel on bottom levels. If you want the room cleaned and restocked do NOT go here. If you need anything you have to go to lobby, they do not clean room unless there 5 days. So, every day you must go to lobby if need anything, clean towels, toilet paper, soap etc. They said this is posted in lobby. I could not find anything about this in ads, in lobby etc. They showed me a sign on a side table 8 x 10 with a lot of other information on it in small print, pool hours, fitness center open etc.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if want a view top floor best, exercise room has only 5 machine, buffet breakfast was ok and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Thank you for the feedback, I apologize we did not make you aware of stay over service very well. During covid we stopped everyday service as some guest did not wish others in there room and now we are trying to get staffed back up to provide service everyday. Our local Health Department allows us to heat pool to 83 degrees, which can seem cool. Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
644fredb wrote a review Mar 2024
Sarnia, Canada46 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a 3 day stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a statue of a pig outside the lobby, apparently there is some local history about pigs in the area. We were a large bus group, but they had rooms assigned, so that our bus chaperone just handed us our room keys, this saved a bunch of time at the desk. Buffet breakfast was good, more variety than expected. Each room has both firm and soft pillows on the bed, just check the stitching on the pillow cover. There was renovation work going on upstairs on the 5th and 6th floors, but it never bothered us. Overall a good experience, would choose this hotel if we are ever back this way.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are a couple liquor stores adjacent to hotel, Kentucky taxes alcohol at a very low rate.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear 644fredb, Thank you for the wonderful review and kind comments. We enjoyed hosting your group and so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
j_frankart wrote a review Jun 2022
Hanover, Virginia40 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn't get off to a great start. We checked in and went to the room. The key card opened the door...and I heard "hello?" I've always had this irrational fear about someone being the room when I got there. It's not longer irrational. So we schlepped our belongings back downstairs where the clerk figured it out.

We get a new room (booked and paid for 2 adults, 1 child) with a pull out sofa, but no bedding for the pullout. I called the front desk to ask for a blanket and pillows. I was told I could come down and get it. OK...so now I'm compensating not only for your incompetence but also your laziness? OK, that's fine. The FD clerk was able to pull away from her conversation with someone in the back office long enough to hand me the bedding, but a delivery to the room would've been nice.

Breakfast was good. The gym was decent, but not the best hotel gym I've ever seen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback, I apologize your stay wasn't what we always strive to provide for our guest and will share your comments with our team to improve. Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catey D asked a question Oct 2020
1 contribution
How can I reserve pool time when I book my room?
Answer from Beth W
Covington, Kentucky2 contributions
Hello, Please sign up for an hour time slot upon check in. Safe Travels!
Jennifer G asked a question Oct 2020
Cleveland Heights, Ohio6 contributions5 helpful votes
Is the pool indoor, and open?
Answer from DDMI
Grand Rapids, Michigan95 contributions35 helpful votes
It was open by reservation indoor.
occams-razor asked a question May 2020
Antioch, Illinois87 contributions69 helpful votes
is there a hot tub in the pool area?
Answer from Beth W
Covington, Kentucky2 contributions
Hello, We do not have a hot tub at our hotel. Currently, our pool is closed as we are following Gov. Beshear's orders. Hopefully, he we release this soon. Thanks, Beth
Answer from Beth W
Covington, Kentucky2 contributions
No, I am sorry but we do not have shuttle to game or airport. Many guest take advantage of the Southbank Trolley. The stop is 2 blocks away and drops you 2 blocks from stadium, the cost is $1.00 per person each time you get on and off. A cab from airport is usually around $30 each way. Thank you, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Answer from Molly F
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We've changed websites, please contact us by phone at 859.581.7800
644fredb wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sarnia, Canada46 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are a couple liquor stores adjacent to hotel, Kentucky taxes alcohol at a very low rate. "
Read full review
WVJennie wrote a tip Aug 2022
Huntington, West Virginia32 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the 6th floor with a river-side view. You'll see more."
Read full review
Gloria W wrote a tip Jul 2022
Dearborn Heights29 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"if want a view top floor best, exercise room has only 5 machine, buffet breakfast was ok and coffee available in rooms and lobby 24 hours"
Read full review
Marcus2784 wrote a tip May 2022
Hicksville, Ohio66 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is free for guests in the outdoor lot that is well lit."
Read full review
.Z. wrote a tip Mar 2022
Los Angeles, California150 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"High Floors have the best view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Covington area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,828 - ₹17,575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn cincinnati riverfront (downtown area) hotel covington, hampton inn covington, covington hampton inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Plus Cincinnati Riverfront Downtown Area
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyCovington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
127
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES CINCINNATI RIVERFRONT, AN IHG HOTEL (Covington) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cincinnati Escape Room (0.8 km), Paul Brown Stadium (1.0 km), and Old Kentucky Bourbon Bar (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Otto's, Bouquet Restaurant, and Cock and Bull Public House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting William Howard Taft National Historic Site (3.7 km), MainStrasse Village (0.6 km), and Harriet Beecher Stowe House (5.9 km).
All Covington HotelsCovington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CovingtonHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire