We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
200 Crescent Ave, Covington, KY 41011-1002
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 15/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Updated 15/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 9 in Covington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Whether traveling on business or pleasure, alone or with the family, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Cincinnati Riverfront delivers smart value, modern accommodations, and a great location with everything you need for a great stay! Located in Covington, Kentucky, the southern side of Cincinnati, and just one mile from downtown Cincinnati, Ohio, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront is close to everything and second to none. Our location is perfect for enjoying all that our area has to offer, from the Ark Encounter to the Cincinnati Zoo, from Newport on the Levee to the Creation Museum, from OTR to Findlay Market. Just blocks away from dining and bourbon at MainStrasse Village, events at Drees Pavilion and Devou Golf Center, & the area's best city overlook. Perfect for baseball, football, and concerts!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Aerobics offsite
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Archery offsite
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English
307Reviews12Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 64
  • 11
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
j_frankart wrote a review 23 Jun
Hanover, Virginia42 contributions14 helpful votes
We didn't get off to a great start. We checked in and went to the room. The key card opened the door...and I heard "hello?" I've always had this irrational fear about someone being the room when I got there. It's not longer irrational. So we schlepped our belongings back downstairs where the clerk figured it out. We get a new room (booked and paid for 2 adults, 1 child) with a pull out sofa, but no bedding for the pullout. I called the front desk to ask for a blanket and pillows. I was told I could come down and get it. OK...so now I'm compensating not only for your incompetence but also your laziness? OK, that's fine. The FD clerk was able to pull away from her conversation with someone in the back office long enough to hand me the bedding, but a delivery to the room would've been nice. Breakfast was good. The gym was decent, but not the best hotel gym I've ever seen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, I apologize your stay wasn't what we always strive to provide for our guest and will share your comments with our team to improve. Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
Ina_31 wrote a review 5 Jun
St. Catharines, Canada422 contributions140 helpful votes
I had a good experience and I enjoyed the view of the bridge over Ohio river from my hotel room. The hotel was clean and the hosts friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and there were different options every day. Overall i enjoyed my stay at the hotel and it met the expectations for a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the awesome review Ina_31! We appreciate the kind comments and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
Marcus2784 wrote a review May 2022
Hicksville, Ohio56 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel is clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Wheelchair accommodation in our room and throughout the hotel were super. Kudos for having a pool lift (though I didn’t have time to use it this visit). Room was spacious and well laid out. The decor was even fitting for the riverfront area. Breakfast was delicious and kept fresh and restocked. There’s a small “market” at the lobby for various food and drinks and things you might’ve forgotten. Minutes from downtown Cincinnati, Newport Aquarium and immediately off the highway but no noise issues whatsoever. If we’re in the area again we will definitely stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking is free for guests in the outdoor lot that is well lit.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Marcus2784, Thank you so much for the awesome review and very kind comments! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
.Z. wrote a review Mar 2022
Los Angeles, California82 contributions52 helpful votes
Worked in KY for a week and stayed in Covington KY. At first I wasn't a fan of the area at first, as we arrived at night. The next day I walked around and found out the area is an amazing little village center with great restaurants, bars, cafes and shops! Lots of convince stores, though no grocery stores within walking distance. The hotel itself was a bit dated, but the bed was comfy. TVs did have the ability to log into Netflix and YouTube, as well as cable. The Fitness Center was basic, but was at least open, so was the pool, though I didn't go in. Great view of Cincinnati and the Ohio River from my window, was on the 6th floor. Sound travels far in the hallways, walking around I could hear people talking from all the rooms, FYI.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: High Floors have the best view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Hi Suzi L, Thank you for taking the time to write are review. I have shared your concerns with our management. It will help us improve our service from now on. We always want to offer you the most frictionless experience. It's been a pleasure to host you. We hope to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
djna01 wrote a review Mar 2022
Ruislip, United Kingdom180 contributions127 helpful votes
Short drive over the river from Cincinnati in Covington. Immediate neighbourhood not exciting, but half a mile, easy walk to Covington with good bars and restaurants. Hotel as expected of this chain. Clean, comfortable. Very helpful and welcoming staff. Would certainly stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you for awesome review and kind comments! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld
Read more
Mike Kidd wrote a review Dec 2021
19 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel for one night just before Halloween weekend. Got in late, phone died and went to sleep. My wife called the property at 3 am after waking up sick and was concerned that I had not called her. That part is on me, it happens. However, my wife asked the clerk to do a health check of the room. Night Auditor who worked the night of October 28th, 2021 treated her very poorly and could care less that she was worried. Would not call my room, go to my room, nothing. My wife called IHG and they called the hotel and he still would not help her. We all understand privacy (he already verified that I was registered in the room.. so that privacy part was OK to divulge?) but when someone is begging for help, and they say "what if he's dead?"; and the night auditor replies, "if he is dead, you can sue us"... pretty poor customer service. You have to question if this is the type of hotel where you want to visit safely and spend your money. My wife called the police who did a health check, I answered after one knock on the door and called her from the hotel phone in my room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alisha Mardis, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Dec 2021
Thank you for your response. I believe that we have addressed your concerns before but just to clarify the desk agent that was at night was here by himself. He had called the room that you were staying in multiple times, with no response however because he was here alone, he was not able to leave the desk, which is why he informed your wife to call the police to do a well-check. I'm very sorry that you had a poor experience as our entire staff is trained on how to handle safety issues within the hotel and it's guests.
Read more
JeffBreedlove wrote a review Jul 2021
Atlanta, Georgia4236 contributions473 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights. The staff were all extremely nice and professional - all of them. I really appreciate them. The hotel is a bit older and it’s not as fresh as some other HIE’s but it’s perfectly fine, clean, and safe. It’s within walking distance of a Skyline Chil - so that alone is a major plus. We found it located perfectly to get into Cincinnati. We really did have a brilliant stay and will stay on future visits. The only downside is a smaller parking area - but again, the staff will help and find a solution… the customer service here is extremely helpful to this being a solid HIE property Stay with confidence
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor pay attention to Reds home games
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Thank you for the awesome review and very kind comments on our team members! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
kmb wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
This hotel does not have a riverfront but a huge wall view. This is not a new hotel it is a best western converted. The signs in the parking lot reflect this. Our room was not cleaned or restocked during our 3 day stay. On weekends the room price goes up and the service down. They supply a grab and go breakfast. The elevator is scary it shakes and vibrates when in use.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Jun 2021
Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry we did not provide the great experience we strive for all our guests. Kentucky has now opened self-serve breakfast and housekeeping services are provided upon request as some guests are not comfortable having others in their room. The elevator has been serviced and working fine now. Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM
Read more
GreenfielldDonC wrote a review Mar 2021
Greenfield, IN8 contributions7 helpful votes
If you can accept the huge plastic shields at the desk, and if you can accept the big tables in front of the counter, and if you can accept the poor reception from what seemed like a non--caring staff, and if you can accept a breakfast in a small white bag that contained a bottle of water, a muffin, an apple, a box of dry cereal, and if you can accept that this hotel only has a coffee pot behind the counter, and if you can accept that your room has two little Kuerig nasty coffee cups, and if you can accept the terrible views from your room, and if you can accept the poor neighborhood that is home to this hotel, and if you can accept a van always blocking the hotel entrance, then this is the hotel for you. Enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the river, hooray for you.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Fruin, Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2021
Wow, it's sounds like you were very unhappy with the required and necessary safety protocols in place to protect guests and staff due to the pandemic Covid 19 virus. We are all tired of Covid too but these measures are in place because this is what is required by the state, our brand, our ownership, and the CDC. Social distancing is required at this time and physical barriers at the Front Desk helped keep our team safe. Our breakfast service has been impacted as well and while we wish we could serve a buffet like we did prior to Covid, we are not permitted to do so at the present time. Our Grab and Go is one of the better ones you will find at a hotel during Covid. We are a riverfront hotel and the wall you are referring to is a levee to protect against flooding. We do have rooms with outstanding views above the flood wall available. I am concerned that you found our staff to be non-caring as we typically receive very high marks for our staff's friendliness. Milk is available in our refrigerator upon request as well. Our neighborhood is urban but is very safe. The Covington community is a wonderful one and one of its unique characteristics is a liquor store or gas station on every corner. If you dive in a bit deeper you'll find a beautiful gem of a city with lots of character and friendly folks.
Read more
ZandyV90 wrote a review Jan 2021
3 contributions
Clean. Very Clean and friendly yet respectful staff that did not bother us much unless needed something. The pool was a bit cold and it could only hold 12 people at a time however still a very lovely hotel I would absolutely return here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Fruin, Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2021
Thank you Freedom for the wonderful review! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our value, our staff, and our comfy beds! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$161 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn cincinnati riverfront (downtown area) hotel covington, hampton inn covington, covington hampton inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Plus Cincinnati Riverfront Downtown Area
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyCovington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
127
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cincinnati Escape Room (0.8 km), Paul Brown Stadium (0.9 km), and Old Kentucky Bourbon Bar (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Otto's, Bouquet Restaurant, and Cock and Bull Public House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting William Howard Taft National Historic Site (3.7 km), MainStrasse Village (0.6 km), and Harriet Beecher Stowe House (5.9 km).