We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
600 W Third Street, Covington, KY 41011
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
HolidayInn.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/05/22
Booking.com$159
Travelocity$159
getaroom.com$165
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (20)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 9 in Covington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is located in the heart of Covington, Kentucky s business and entertainment district. Our Cincinnati hotel is within walking distance of downtown Cincinnati and features free downtown Cincinnati parking and free wireless high-speed Internet access.The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront hotel is the place to stay when attending famous Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky events, such as the WEBN Fireworks, Oktoberfest, Maifest and the Flying Pig Marathon. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront Hotel is the perfect place for your Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati weekend getaway. A centrally located Cincinnati hotel on the Ohio River, we are a Cincinnati Reds hotel near Great American Ballpark and a Cincinnati Bengals hotel near Paul Brown Stadium. We are also near MainStrasse Village, Newport on the Levee, the Newport Aquarium and the Cincinnati Zoo. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront hotel is also a favorite among companies such as Ashland Marathon, Duke Energy, UPS, P&G, Sara Lee and Kroger because of our close proximity to their offices and Cincinnati s central business district.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
612Reviews16Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 272
  • 188
  • 92
  • 34
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
IronRangeMNGirl wrote a review Apr 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota551 contributions224 helpful votes
First, our front desk person was wonderful! Super nice and helpful when we checked into our room & it wasn't cleaned yet. She quickly gave us a new room. The location was super nice to go see the aquarium and other sites. And they allow dogs which is wonderful But I have to say their bathroom door was super weird. It was a frosted barn door. So when it "shut" it still had a gap. Super super weird! The property also was a little tired looking and could use some updating
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear IronRangeMNGirl, Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. Your comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are welcomed as they foster change for the better. We hope to deliver a flawless experience upon your return to the Cincinnati Riverfront area. Sincerely, Elena Atanasova General Manager
Read more
Phil M wrote a review Apr 2022
Monsey, New York114 contributions55 helpful votes
The Holiday Inn was a comfortable motel to stay at. The staff were both helpful and friendly. There is ready access to a number of eating venues. The only negative was the neighborhood which is suffering from age and neglect. Apart from this, it was a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Dear philm729, Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. Thank you especially for recognizing the staff, I will be sure to share your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip. Best, Elena Atanasova General Manager
Read more
Dance mom wrote a review Dec 2021
52 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights while in town for a competition. While the price was very reasonable, I have to say I was disappointed and I would not stay here again. When we got to our room, my daughter discovered one of the pillows had something on it (not sure what it was) and we called down to the front desk to have it replaced. They did come quickly with a replacement one. The door to the bathroom was just a sliding door with no lock and the door had frosted glass so there was not much privacy at all while you were in there. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on cinder blocks. The hotel itself does seem to be outdated in my opinion. I will say that the employees that we encountered were all friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Dear tndiva77, I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking and for the condition of your pillow. Some stains can remain post laundering but we should have caught it in our quality control. Please accept my deepest apologies regarding our lack of attention to detail. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to better serve you on a future visit. Sincerely, Jordan Francisco General Manager
Read more
Mjldly wrote a review Nov 2021
624 contributions280 helpful votes
Very nice and helpful front desk staff. Room is near and clean and well laid out, and the location is super good for easy off and on the freeway. All in all a very pleasant stay and experience, and we would recommend it to anyone traveling in or through the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Nov 2021
Dear Mjldly, We are delighted to hear of the comfort you experienced at our hotel and thank you for your compliments. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our clean rooms and location. Our associates are the key to providing our guests with a satisfying stay. Please visit us again on your next trip to the area. Best, Jordan Francisco General Manager
Read more
Linda L wrote a review Sep 2021
24 contributions9 helpful votes
We came here with a tour group. My husband and I enjoyed our time at this hotel. The people were friendly and made you feel welcome. Because of this we are considering coming back to the area in the future and staying here again. My husband has problems with his back and and the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet and we both got a good night's sleep. Our room was very clean. The whole property is kept well and very clean. While there I needed a safety pin. I called the front desk thinking they might have one. They sent an associate from housekeeping up with a handful in various sizes-wow was I thankful they went the extra mile-it meant a lot to me. There were a few downsides to our stay. The shower drain was slow emptying the water. The one lamp did not work. The toilet paper was awful-next time I'll bring my own.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 30 Sep 2021
Dear Linda L, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable overall. We appreciate your compliments which highlight what we are doing well and your recommendations for areas of improvement. Your review is valuable because it is how we monitor and improve our guest experience. Thanks again and we humbly request a return visit. Best, Jordan Francisco General Manager
Read more
Natimom1 wrote a review Jul 2021
Miami, Florida105 contributions71 helpful votes
Hotel was fine for an overnight stay with our dog. Room carpet is a little worn. Area is walkable and has some historic charm but feels a little depressed. Homeless person in the parking lot. Reception was excellent. Parking was convenient. Room was clean and had fridge, microwave and coffee maker. McDonalds very close.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Good restaurants within walking distance
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Dear Natimom1, We aim to impress, so I'm sorry that your visit was just okay. We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, parking, and evening reception. Your comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are welcomed as they foster change for the better. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Sincerely, Michael Ratcliff General Manager
Read more
Cherylcam68 wrote a review Jul 2021
Richmond, Kentucky1001 contributions25 helpful votes
There are very few hotels in the Cincinnati area that have outdoor pools but this one does. For this reason, it is the choice of many during Jimmy Buffett concert season. Our group of 10-15 chose this hotel for the pool experience and will continue to choose it year after year. It was fun to hang out at the pool with other fellow parrot heads and meet folks from all over. This hotel is older but has been remodeled to keep up with today's standards. It is not luxurious by any means but is clean and well kept with friendly staff members. Jeff ( I hope I got his name right) was very professional and offered us an early check in, which we greatly appreciated. We requested a room away from the elevator and this request was honored as well. The bed was very comfortable and offered a great night's sleep. Kudos to all at the Holiday Inn Covington on a job well done!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2021
Dear Cherylcam68, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. I’m glad you found our location convenient, accommodations comfortable, and staff friendly. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when in the area for business or another concert. Best, Michael Ratcliff General Manager
Read more
JW317 wrote a review Jul 2021
Carmel, Indiana89 contributions29 helpful votes
We booked two suites for three nights at this Holiday Inn. There was only one positive experience our entire stay and it was when I called the day before and asked the general manager if we could check in early because we are nurses and had worked 12 hours then drove 3 hours to the hotel and he agreed to let us check in earlier than the 2pm time that all elite members get. I get to the rooms to find them not very clean and dirty socks on the floor in front of the sofa. I used the restroom and attempted to wash my hands and the handle came off in my hand. I called the front desk and they sent a maintenance worker up and after a few trips in and out of my room he said the only way to repair the sink was to call his boss and get permission to shut off water to the entire floor. So I told him no need for all that we will just use the living room sink. The AC in the living room worked fine but the bedroom AC didn’t which made it hard to sleep. We went down to bring our luggage up from the cars and got two luggage carts both of which were broken with flat tires and impossible to steer. Told the front desk about it and they said they were working on ordering new ones. Well that doesn’t help me much with my luggage and getting it to the 3rd floor. When we checked in we were told that they were very short staffed so no housekeeping would be offered and we would need to come to the front desk if we needed anything. Each time we went in and out we noticed a lot of people loitering in the halls near the doors and just outside the doors which made us feel uncomfortable and unsafe. They were sitting in the halls laying across the luggage racks and sitting up and down the sidewalks at the entrances. It seemed more like a weekly hotel that people were living out of so when I spoke to the manager and brought this up he told me they were housing residents who were displaced from a apartment fire. I feel bad for the people but we were on vacation with my elderly mother and two small children and it just made me tense. The next day during our 10 year olds birthday party our 3 year old got under the desk on the floor and found 3 pills which were controlled substances and could have easily put them in her mouth. Thankfully we saw her and immediately took them from her and contacted the front desk who said someone would be right up and they never came up. Then we went to the zoo and after being there all day we returned to find neither of the room keys worked to either of our suites so I went to the front desk and complained and the clerk made new keys and I asked her was she sure they were done correctly so we wouldn’t have to go through this the next day and she told me that she just got there and not to talk to her like that. Just some more of the great customer service we received from this hotel. The next day we received a text asking us to rate them 1-10 with 1 being the worst so I gave them a 1 . Then the manager Chevonne texted back that it seems like they can’t do anything to please us and that their hotel wasn’t a good fit for them? Well excuse us for wanting clean rooms with working water and AC and without drugs on the floor that our kids might have eaten. I know that sounds really like an unreasonable expectation. I tried to call guest relations many times to move us somewhere else and we held for hours and they never came to the phone. Restaurants were closed because of no staffing. All of this made for a horrible vacation. This hotel needs major renovations and updates. They need qualified management and staff that can deliver excellent customer service. We are elite members so I can only imagine how they treat everyone else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordan Francisco, Owner at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Dear Jdub317, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we were unable to provide you with the excellent service and accommodations that you expect and deserve as an Elite Member. As I mentioned in previous responses to your other reviews on different platforms, we did attempt to assist you with your concerns while on property and continue to want to make things right. Again, if you would like to discuss the issues you experienced directly with me, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel. Your comments and concerns have been shared with the team to avoid similar issues in the future. Your comments and concerns can only help us in striving to become better. Jordan Francisco
Read more
3ess wrote a review Jun 2021
western NY state162 contributions37 helpful votes
I suspect the hotel was recently spruced up. Perhaps it was acquired from another brand, as some signage implied Best Western. Carpet is new, paint is also, but a brown mustard color wall in the room is off-putting. We could feel the support (wood slats?) in the mattress, which was not well padded, and uncomfortable. Everything was very clean. Staff polite and helpful EXCEPT the breakfast server. She was on her phone incessantly, failed to state the offerings except to the males. Rude to females. Skimped the servings to females. Had to ask every morning what the offerings were; although all the men got told on arrival. The second she put the food on the plate, she left the serving area and went behind the "screen" and got back on the phone. Air conditioning did not keep the room very cool. Clock was flashing 20:00, and we could not change it. Told reception it was broken, and after 2nd request someone came and played with it to announce that it was broken. We knew that....but we did get a new one. Parking lot is difficult to access and exit due to hotel location. Would not return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Sep 2021
Dear 3ess, It’s important to our entire team that all our visitors feel comfortable, so I’m very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I regret the lapses in service you experienced; please forgive us. We hope you will reconsider a return visit. We'd love the opportunity to serve you better should your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Jordan Francisco General Manager
Read more
chris W wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
Had an inconvenience with our room but Seidou came through and was very helpful giving emulate coustmer service and resolving our issue over all a good experience he turned what would've been a bad review into a good experience 👍
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn cincinnati riverfront hotel covington, holiday inn covington, covington holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyCovington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Roebling Suspension Bridge (1.1 km), Riverwalk (1.2 km), and Cincinnati Escape Room (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Otto's, Bouquet Restaurant, and Blinkers Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Cincinnati-Riverfront, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting William Howard Taft National Historic Site (3.6 km), MainStrasse Village (0.5 km), and Harriet Beecher Stowe House (5.7 km).