We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

General Butler State Resort Park

Save
Share
1608 US Highway 227, Carrollton, KY 41008-8051
Lowest prices for your stay
$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$104
Travelocity$104
FindHotel$114
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Carrollton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make General Butler State Resort their resort of choice when visiting Carrollton. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and General Butler State Resort makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you’re looking for a diner, consider a visit to Welch's Riverside Restaurant or Waffle House, which are all conveniently located a short distance from General Butler State Resort.

Should time allow, General Butler State Resort Park and Butler-Turpin State Historic House are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

At General Butler State Resort, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Carrollton.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
Outdoor pool
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
175Reviews5Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 64
  • 43
  • 19
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Naomi S wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
We had a wonderful experience, the room was great and staff was excellent. The view was magnificent. We did the trail walk by the lake and it was so peaceful. Will be coming back with my children for a family vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jerrie L wrote a review Apr 2022
DeRidder, Louisiana29 contributions4 helpful votes
I made a reservation to stay in a 3bedroom cottage. Upon getting there and seeing the cabin, we did not stay there. The cottage was shabby on the outside, but the inside was a terrible smell of old cigarette smoke. It was so run down and poorly maintained. Needs attention at all levels
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Debra B wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Checkin was quick & friendly. Room was clean & comfy. Went there for my 60th birthday to kick back back, relax & watch tv. Got in room tv no channels. Called desk said they forgot to tell me they had hoped to get it & internet that day or the next. We wound up watching my little 7” tablet that I was able to hotspot to my phone to have something. So couldn’t sit anywhere else in room but bed to watch it together. Noise above our room from 9am with a few pauses during day until 5pm. We thought they were remodeling the room above. Disappointed in my 60th birthday stay. I loved it there before & why I booked for my birthday. I will go back but I will be sure everything is in order because I paid full price. Could have been offered a food voucher for their restaurant as good gesture. Everyone was friendly just disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just check beforehand what amenities might not be available that you really want.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Brandy M wrote a review Aug 2021
North Vernon, Indiana55 contributions6 helpful votes
Nice place, I will be back. Not a five star place but nice pool. Main complaint was a small one. I went to restaurant and this employee rudely told us they are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays as if everyone in the world knew that. When I went to buy a pop, I asked the lady working about it and she said they had to close because they didn’t have enough help. Well that is completely understandable and I wish the 1st lady would have just said that. I will be back, nice place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Thanks for the feedback! We will address it with the dining room team! Look forward to your return!
Read more
Thomas C wrote a review Jul 2021
Northern Kentucky, Kentucky397 contributions173 helpful votes
NO WiFi I’m cabin area. They advertise that they have WiFi. Will lose money and the park manager said to check out. I worked for Ky state for 28 years and we did not treat people/ customers like this.Trying to find another place. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park
Responded 31 Jul 2021
We advertise WiFi in lodge and campground areas. And are trying to get it in the cottage area currently. It seems there was miscommunication, but the word was you wanted a full refund. You were entitled to a full refund if you checked out. A full refund for not having WiFi and staying is not warranted. WiFi is available in lodge mezzanine for use anytime.
Read more
Boilerfan78 wrote a review Jul 2021
Indiana4 contributions1 helpful vote
We reserved three nights in a two-bedroom cottage as part of our first family vacation in two years due to COVID. We had a great first evening enjoying the cottage and the setting; so much so that we were willing to overlook the inconveniences of the restaurant, boat dock, mini golf and Butler-Turpin House being closed during our visit. However, our feelings quickly changed in early afternoon the second day when we discovered bed bugs in our cottage. We immediately reported it to the front desk and began packing our things. Park staff seemed to take the report seriously and while they did offer a refund on our first night and no charge for cancellation of our remaining two nights (which is the least I would have expected), there really was not much show of concern or extra efforts to help with a situation that ruined our family vacation. My hope now is this situation is resolved before any other unsuspecting family stays in this, or any other, cottage or lodge room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
debbie k wrote a review Jun 2021
Lawrenceburg, Indiana212 contributions27 helpful votes
We went down just for a couple nights to get away. I used to go to all the KY State parks as a kid and they were always so relaxing and a joy to go to. But, like everywhere right not, people are getting paid not to work, so they are very short staffed. The unfortunate part is many people are taking it out on the employees and it isn’t their fault, they are working and wearing many hats, and doing their best to accommodate people. Robin at the front desk was very friendly and professional, she had a couple new people and they are trying too. The housekeepers were very nice and still trying to keep a smile even being short on trying to get rooms cleans. The dining was very limited and people need to be aware of that, because no help, same as bar. But, my room was clean, comfortable and I overlooked the clean pool with a few people in it. It still has a beautiful lodge and a great escape. So when you go there or anywhere else that is short staffed, don’t take your frustrations out on the employees, they are working and doing their best.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I had 208 and was satisfied, maybe better lighting
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Thank you for understanding. We, all of us here, care! We want to do our best for every customer and try to exceed expectations in every way we can! We hope you enjoyed your time and hope you will visit us again soon!
Read more
Bernie O wrote a review May 2021
Bondsville, Massachusetts580 contributions157 helpful votes
We used halfway.com to find this location when attending the Kentucky Derby last weekend. Good size room. No housekeeping during our three day stay. Not sure if this is because of COVID or something else. TV did not work, but we were not in our room long enough to be a problem. Breakfast was a box with a very small container of orange juice, muffin, fruit cocktail. Again because of COVID there might have been any other option.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Thanks for your feedback. Housekeeping was cut out for in house guests due to COVID and the breakfast bag was something we added during this time so that there would at least be an option for food. Prior to covid our restaurant was open for breakfast. Hope you enjoyed your stay and come back to see us again in the future!
Read more
KentuckyBreezing wrote a review Feb 2021
Dublin, Ohio177 contributions98 helpful votes
We’ve stayed at many Ky state parks in our time and I will be positive and say Gen Butler tries to please. Comments: 1. Room clean and spacious. Everything worked. But lavatory sink had trip around faucet and shower had continuous leak. 2. Bed was comfortable. 3. Food service is impeded by covid but they will make you dinner to go and breakfast is bagged for you. ( Like most motels now) 4. Nice staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park
Responded 22 Feb 2021
Thank you so much for the feedback! You are certainly correct, we do try! If there is something specific we could have down to make this a 5-star review please let us know by emailing our park manager at susan.spears@ky.gov. Thanks and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
Pamela K wrote a review Nov 2020
Indiana12 contributions3 helpful votes
We were so excited to get away with another couple and decided to spring for the most expensive cabin. We had planned a two night stay. What a disappointment it was. Apparently there had been a Halloween party the night before we had arrived. The back porch was a mess with marshmellows and trash strung all over the porch area. The cabin was dirty and there was something nasty on the ceiling. Several things were broken including the dining room table. We had decided to eat in because of covid. While we were cooking we pulled a pan from the cabinet that was covered in grease. So we ended up washing everything we used. In our bathroom somebody had vomited on the wall (gag) and there was still reminents of it. The worst was at night when we got up to use the bathroom and were greeted by cockroaches. Needless to say we cut our two day stay down to one and checked out the next morning. We explained to the front desk why we were checking out and asked for a discount. Of course we didn't get one. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Maybe the lodge would be a better choice? Obviously cleanliness or customer satisfaction is not...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park
Responded 23 Dec 2020
We apologize this was your experience and this is of course not acceptable for our standards. However, we addressed it with the housekeeping management and you were given a 50% discount as requested when you checked out.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
general butler state hotel carrollton, carrollton general butler state resort
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyCarrollton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about General Butler State Resort Park
Which popular attractions are close to General Butler State Resort Park?
Nearby attractions include General Butler State Resort Park (1.0 km), Point Park (2.6 km), and Butler-Turpin State Historic House (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at General Butler State Resort Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at General Butler State Resort Park?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at General Butler State Resort Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at General Butler State Resort Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to General Butler State Resort Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hometown Pizza, Mi Viejo, and El Nopal Mexican Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at General Butler State Resort Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at General Butler State Resort Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to General Butler State Resort Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Butler-Turpin State Historic House (1.0 km).
Does General Butler State Resort Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is General Butler State Resort Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.