We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 17 November 2014

The room we reserved lacked pillows , sheets and was extremely filthy. We called the night attendants multiple times but got no help. Although the room was nonsmoking , smelled of smoke. Not a hotel for families with children

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank C P
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not having the necessary bedding prepared for the sofa sleeper in your room. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room for every guest. I am sorry that your room smelled of smoke and that it was not cleaned to your satisfaction. The...

Reviewed 13 November 2014

Room was filthy. Walls were dirty, microwave hadnt been wiped down in some time. Lounge chair in room scary. Very dirty. Did not touch it. Mold on bottom of shower curtain. Towels were clean and white though and bedding/sheets appeared to be clean. Bed kinda hard and did not seem to be a queen.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TRGriffin
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

We read your comments about your stay with us, and would like to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so we are disappointed to hear about the condition of your room. Please accept our apologies. Your comments were reviewed by our staff, and we will work to ensure all...

Payson, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 8 October 2014

This is an honest review with pictures to back it.....We arrived and checked in, great staff. Got to the room...Boogers on the walls, handprints on the walls, feces smeared on the side of the toilet, half empty soda can in the fridge, trash on the floor, gum on the lamp arm, spit wad over peep hole, closet doors off track...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MelodyNRitch
Reviewed 20 September 2014 via mobile

This hotel would be good if they hired a housekeeper and groundskeeper. Every trash can on site was overflowing on to the ground. My room had dirty blankets upon check in which I asked to be replaced but was told they didn't have any clean ones. My bathtub had mold in it. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Dishes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Z
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Ashely - your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear of the cleanliness issues you experienced in your room and in the common areas of our hotel. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are committed on improving...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2014

don't stay at a smelly bug bed dirty room. Look at the pictures for yourself . Extended stay in this location burns for sure all the franchise. What the hotel offers online is a hoax or should I say a joke. The sofa beds are from the 70's and the rooms smell like wet dogs!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rose mary q
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about the condition of your room. In response to your feedback, we will be deep cleaning our rooms and improving our preventative maintenance program. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our room had a lot of deferred maintenance, the most annoying was the shower valve. It screeched and didn't stop the water flow though the tub spout. I guess room service was not something they do. They seemed understaffed. The room didn't get cleaned and the desk person was in a room doing something half the time we needed something....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Bob - We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We are glad that you appreciated the value of our hotel; however, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room. We discussed your comments with our staff, and we are taking proper action to ensure all of our rooms are in proper working order. We...

Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have previously stayed at other locations of extended stay America and prefer extended stays because of kitchenettes. However, here the carpet was dirty to a point that it was sticking to feet. Staff was not knowledgeable about the area or options. I left some glasses in the hotel and they told me on the phone that they can't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seharmd
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

We received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The condition of the carpet you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. We will be working with our housekeeping staff to ensure every room is cleaned to our standards. We are glad that we were able to find the glasses;...

La Grange, Missouri
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all we were moved to this hotel because the other extended stay that we were supposed to stay at "overbooked" there rooms. How does that happen? We stayed two days and noone cleaned our room the following day and noone brought us extra towels. Its the kind of hotel you wouldn't want to walk barefoot in. They did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Audrey - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for moving you to another one of our ten Extended Stay Americas located in the Kansas City area. In addition, I apologize that our housekeeping services were not explained thoroughly at check-in. Please know, housekeeping services are provided once a week for guests...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed in room 176. Compared with other Extended Stay locations my room was relatively modern looking and spacious. It had a flat screen TV with the usual basic channels plus Showtime. Microwave, fridge, etc all clean and in working order. The iron worked VERY well which was a plus! Large closet to hang my suits including sturdy wooden hangers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CiaranJohn
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada...

Edwardsville, Kansas
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our second time here. Made the reservation online, checked in and the room was what we asked for. The room was clean, smelled fine and had everything advertised. We stayed three nights and it was a trip away from the kids. We enjoyed ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmithPoe
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your kind remarks. We are pleased to know that the cleanliness of your room met your expectations during your visit with us. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merriam
0.2 km away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#3 of 5 in Merriam
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
1.7 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at...
#31 of 37 in Overland Park
78 reviews
3.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Lenexa - 87th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission

Address: 6451 E. Frontage Rd, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Price Range: ₹ 4,058 - ₹ 8,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Merriam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Shawnee Mission staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For security purposes, ask for a room that faces the Office and one close to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles ChipK133, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“we dont like to have people above us so we stayed on the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles HMH178, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't get this hotel. Not worth it!”
  • Bed bugs!
 of 5 bubbles armandoosu, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try to get as far from the highway as possible. Also, even if you ask for non-smoking, it will still smell like smoke.”
 of 5 bubbles Shelbyr2010, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“At this point, I'm not sure there is a "good" room.”
 of 5 bubbles seenie33, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5