We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Booking.comUS$ 153
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 153*
US$ 153*
US$ 153*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is our favorite place to go for a short getaway! I cannot express how much we love this place and everything about it. It is so romantic and perfect for a night with your significant other. The rooms are so cool and you feel you are not in Kansas any more! We are so ready to go back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jferguson5
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Jferguson5 - We appreciate you so much and the time you took to write such an awesome review for us! It never gets old hearing guest testimonies about how amazing the stay was. The owner did pour his heart and soul into Chateau Avalon and will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay once again! I hope...

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the buckingham room it was Nice. But the outside security light kept me me awake. Worst night sleep. Breakfast was a 2 out of 5. Wine bar was a plus. 2$ beer. Great flatbread. If breakfast was good and no security light I would have rated very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damerson
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Damerson - I apologize that your stay had some hiccups in it, we appreciate the time you took to inform us with this feedback. Thanks to guest like you we are able to improve on the things that need attention immediately. Best Regards, Laura

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we had a LivingSocial deal, and I would have demanded a refund had I paid full price. We stayed in a Buckingham Suite, which was interesting, but small. The shower is in their two-person bathtub... which is in the bedroom! The last place I stayed with a jacuzzi had a separate shower in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Allison A
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Allison A - Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us, although we weren't able to make it everything you'd hoped it would be and more, your feedback is very important to us and we have actively addressed the concerns that you brought to our attention. If there is anything I can personally do please feel free to...

Reviewed 31 March 2014

My Wife and I were looking for a night away from children and this unique hotel fit the bill as kids are not allowed and each room is setup for couples only. The rooms are themed with various rooms related to egypt, western, venetian, etc.. We will definitely head back as the staff was very friendly from setting up restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Craig K - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us! I am pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations, our staff was so accommodating and of course, that you will be returning! We are looking forward to welcoming you back and plan on making your experience...

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Don't use a third party to reserve your room if you want a specific room theme. My mother reserved a room as a surprise for my husband and I to celebrate my 40th birthday. She visited the hotel a week prior to our stay and picked a special room for us. She was not informed of this policy.by the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marc T
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mark T - I apologize that your stay was not what you had anticipated but I would like to thank you for your feedback on your online travel agent experience you encountered and the breakfast. With guests like you we know what to focus on and improve on immediately and we are so appreciative of that! Please contact me...

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had just gotten married and my wife and I had the opportunity to visit this hotel as a gift. We were very excited to visit, after looking through all of the pictures of the establishment. We were not let down with the quality of the room we stayed in (Tuscany) and the service and friendly atmosphere the host provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boostedtsi
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear boostedtsi, Congratulations on getting married! We are so happy that you enjoyed everything throughout your stay and we hope to welcome you back sometime! Maybe for your anniversary? We will be sure to pass on the compliments to the front desk ambassador that assisted you! Have a beautiful weekend and thank you for the wonderful review! Best Regards, Laura

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had been told that this would be a great place to celebrate our Anniv. So we book a 2 nite stay. First of all our room wasn't ready by 4pm them on our second nite stay we were called to tell us that we would be moving to another room due to the room that we were to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve4530
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

steve4530 - I would like to apologize to both you and your wife once again for the inconveniences of your room not being room serviced. I feel absolutely horrible that we weren't able to meet your expectations so we took care of the remaining balance owed for the lack of your room not being serviced & the camera incident. I...

Kansas City, Mo.
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife picked this place for a weekend getaway for the two of us. She went for the cheaper room so we stayed in one of the Havana rooms, 109. I definitely would not recommend one of these rooms. It was incredibly small with barely enough room between the bed and tub. It had one small table and a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MountainMurf
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear about your disappointment and that we weren't able to meet your expectations. We do train our front desk ambassadors to advise our guests about the DVD players, as we upgraded the TV's to flat screens some of the rooms lost the option of a...

Birmingham
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Don't be deceived by pics of the exterior, nor the AAA rating (shame on you AAA), nor the fact that this hotel was chosen as a KC visitor favorite!! All I can say is those KC visitors that rated this place so highly must be some of NASCAR's finest (the speedway is just across the street) Either that, or they're...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank knightlife
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear knightlife- Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so sorry to hear about your disappointment & that we weren't able to come close to exceeding your expectations. I will be sure to share these concerns with the rest of management and our staff. Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Best...

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel itself is ok the room needs some updates, plants look old and dusty, and the bed seems extra small with cheap looking linens ! The tub in the Castaway room is very hard to get in and out of, it seems it could potentially be dangerous.The walls here are very thin at least in the room we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Have2Bpicky
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Have2Bpicky - Thank you for giving us your feedback! I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered that disrupted your recent stay with us. Anyone under the age of 21 is typically not allowed here. Under certain circumstances we make allowances but many times they slip in and we have no knowledge of children being here or...

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Camelot (36)
Viewed
Colorado Frontier (24)
Viewed
Mayan Rainforest (26)
Viewed
Monte Cristo (40)
Viewed
Pirate's Cove (29)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
1.1 km away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
2.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.0 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
21.2 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: ₹ 8,554 - ₹ 14,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a Jacuzzi - there deep and wide and can definitely accommodate 2 people. The Roman Dynasty room on the 2nd floor has a great view of the grounds and beautiful trees from the bay windows in the bedroom area.”
CVPDRN, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to check out the many themed rooms before deciding. They do offer tours during the day if you are in the area!”
scottlF9679OT, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Install dimmer lights in Tuscany room. Need larger sectional couch or add an ottoman. Unused hallway under stairs (storage?). Have music playing in rooms for added effect. Provide chocolate candy on bed pillows.”
johncC5852OC, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look through all the rooms online before you book-- there are so many fun choices!!”
kerriscarbo, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bring a ash pay with cash and bring a coffee maker rooms dont have one”
williambU3096AT, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 153* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 153
TravelocityUS$ 153
TripAdvisorUS$ 153
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates