We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Trego, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

The check in staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a truck and large travel trailer and were able to find an adequate parking place. There was a large grassy area behind the motel to walk the dogs and let them run. The room was clean. No smells in room or hallways. Breakfast food was fresh. My only suggestion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kowgirl2007
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, that your room was clean and that you enjoyed our free grab-and-go breakfast. Your feedback regarding our breakfast selection will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. Thank you again for your review. We look...

California Desert, California
Reviewed 13 October 2014

I had made a reservation via Priceline for a studio. When I checked in at 5pm I was offered a non smoking room. The receptionist MEGHAN was not at all professional and rude in talking. We realized that the toilet was a jammed toilet at 7 pm local time and immediately reported this to Meghan. She didn't seem I retested...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abhisekh B
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel was sold out, so maybe they gave me what they had, but it was a smoking floor and a smoking room. The place reeked. I opened the window, but it hardly helped. The room seemed clean, but the hallways and elevators were not. The rate, even supposedly a good rate, was too high for the value received. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowlandsville
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you encountered a smoke odor and that you were not informed of our housekeeping policy. In an effort to keep our rates low, we include housekeeping for our guests staying 8 days or more. We offer additional housekeeping and refresh services for a minimal fee. We...

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We selected this location because of its proximity to the area we would need to be in so we did not have to navigate through the city to get to the location of a wedding. It was our first stay at an Extended Stay facility and were very happy with the decision.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our convenient location. We are pleased to have provided you with a pleasant stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

IL
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If I would have paid prevailing rate for this hotel, I would feel that I had been ripped off. The room was fairly clean. Hallway smelled strange but room free of bad smells. Bed hard and uncomfortable. Staff seemed friendly. Since I didn't stay long term I don't have a full picture of this hotel, but based on comfort, clientele,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Budget_Hotel_Family
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am pleased to read that your room was clean and that our staff was friendly; however, I regret to read of the odor in the hallway and that your bed was uncomfortable. In response to your feedback, I will be working with my housekeeping staff to review cleanliness standards so...

Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful when they were available. I saw them outside by the pool smoking the majority of the time. Hallways smell terrible, seems as though the windows need to be opened and air the place out. Our room smelled like mildew and we ran the air conditioner with the window open just to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amyrandyclaire
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. In response to your feedback, we will be working with our housekeeping staff to ensure all areas of our hotel are cleaned properly and smell fresh. Still, we are glad that you found our staff to be friendly...

Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 17 July 2014

On a cross-country trip, this is the first motel (including ESAs) that fell well below minimum standards for normalcy. The reception people were...not actually in reception half the time we were looking for them. The entire place REEKS of smoke (to such an extent that my dad, a smoker, complained). furniture in room was worn out and - in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Rebecca - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. We will be working with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to improve our room quality and to ensure our rooms are always clean and fresh. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If...

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed two months and was my second visit. Staff are helpful especially Monica/ Kristi and a maintenance man who turned the mattress without hesitation! Close to nice mall...walking distance! Great places to eat including vegan lunch stop within two blocks. Some updates are planned but overall a safe and pleasant stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Judith - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location and our great staff, especially Monica and Kristi. We are happy that we provided you with a "home away from home" experience. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is easy to find. I was checked in very quickly and got the exact room and location that I had asked about, very nice. The hotel is extremely well kept, pretty nice fitness center, Very nice pool area. Spacious rooms. Plenty of variety in shopping within a short drive. I was able to cook and enjoy a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geotreo
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your quick check-in, our fitness center and our pool area. As well, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room, our location and your fully equipped kitchen. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with...

Minnesota
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is my second time staying here for work. The rooms are clean, spacious, modern, and affordable. What more can you ask for! Oh, the free grab and go breakfast is convenient as well. I recommend this hotel for everyone, business traverals and families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fang0026
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at a great value. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your clean, spacious room and our grab-and-go breakfast. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
1.0 km away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#19 of 20 in West Des Moines
122 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
510 reviews
2.9 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
2.8 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
246 reviews
2.6 km away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#14 of 20 in West Des Moines
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pool will be temporarily closed this summer for repairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Address: 2701 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1441 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: ₹ 4,752 - ₹ 6,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Extended Stay and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room on the back of the building and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rmusat, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles George93001, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“I had a room on the third floor, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PamySu, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles LadyBug929, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Try for top floor for seeing the area.”
 of 5 bubbles johnnymack5150, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay