We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Port Huron, Michigan
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The hotel staff was courteous and helpful quick service. Room was large clean and quiet flat screen tv was a bit small and far away from the bed. Was overcharged for our room and hope to clear this matter up when I get back home, I thought that the home was a bit pricey for the area and the level...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nearpar
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

It is nice to know that you had a great stay at our hotel. I'm glad you were giving prompt customer service, but disappointed our grab-and-go breakfast was not to your liking and that you were overcharged. Thank you for being so patient on the latter matter and until the issue is resolved. Thank you again for your review. It...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I arrived late accompanying a friend who was to stay there. It was after 11pm and VIckie was there to help with everything. When we came across a "hard-headed" lock-n-key situation while I was helping my friend with her luggage, Vickie who was also in laundry duty made her best to solve the situation in the best of the ways,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billie T
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am more than pleased at the excellent customer service you received. Vickie will be informed on the excellent work she did accommodating you. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with recommendation from wedding invite suggestion. It was a really convenient location being close to the reception venue. Rooms were spacious and clean, beds extremely firm, and would consider in the future if a longer stay was needed. Not impressed with the grab and go breakfast as there weren't many choices. Front desk checking seemed kind of slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I'm disappointed our grab-and-go breakfast was not your liking; however, it is good to know that our facilities were up to your expectations, especially our location near the wedding. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

New Jersey
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this nice, clean and comfortable hotel. It is in a convenient location and reasonably priced. The front desk employees are pleasant. Breakfast was simple but adequate and included oatmeal, muffins and granola bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingrm
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to read that we were able to provide you with a home away from home experience at a reasonable rate! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location as well as our friendly customer service. The staff and I would like to...

Reviewed 17 May 2016

The location of the hotel was easy to find. The check in process was easy and the staff was very friendly and informative. I was very pleased with my room and felt like I got a better deal than the online third party service lead me to believe that I would get from a 2-star hotel. I think this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your kind comments about our friendly and efficient customer service and will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team! I’m so pleased to read that we were able to provide you with a home away from home experience. The staff and...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The check in process was short and smooth, room was very clean and had all the basic necessities. Breakfast bar was very well packed with yummy food, from yogurts to cereal and eggs with bacon, sausage and biscuits. All personnel was courteous, especially Jeremy, who was very well helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmusat
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our grab-and-go breakfast, comfortable rooms, and our friendly customer service. I’m thrilled we were able to provide you with a home away from home experience! Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us...

Ventura, California
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This is clearly the worst hotel I have stayed at in my life. Non-smoking room and hallways were very 'smelly' of smoke. Once a week housekeeping unless you want to pay extra. Selection of old apples / oranges, granola bars, stale muffins, is what they call breakfast. If you need more towels go to the front desk. With regard to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George93001
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals as well as reviewing our room inspection procedures. I will also review...

Fort Dodge, Iowa
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I had to obtain a last-minute room due to a family medical situation. The room was just what I needed after a stressful day. It was clean, the bathroom was nice, and the bed was so comfy! The free Wi-Fi was great, and there was a good selection of TV channels. I did not use the kitchen facilities, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamySu
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms. I’m thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming...

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I chose to stay at an Extended Stay America hotel when I recently traveled to Des Moines, IA for a job interview in case it went well (it did!) and my family would be relocating to IA from Illinois. I would be in need of temporary furnished housing until our house in Illinois sells. I will NOT be staying here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are reviewing our room inspection procedures and making sure that everything in our rooms is functioning properly. I will also...

Reviewed 7 March 2016

Stayed 2 nights, with my 16 year old daughter & husband. Great bathroom, kitchen, bed area & sofa bed area. With sofa bed open - there was plenty of room to move around everywhere. Very clean. All items in good shape.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelerfromthenorth
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to read that we were able to accommodate your needs with our spacious and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
1.0 km away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#19 of 20 in West Des Moines
122 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
509 reviews
2.9 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
2.8 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
246 reviews
2.6 km away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#14 of 20 in West Des Moines
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pool will be temporarily closed this summer for repairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Address: 2701 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1441 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: ₹ 4,768 - ₹ 6,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room on the back of the building and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rmusat, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles George93001, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“I had a room on the third floor, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PamySu, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles LadyBug929, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Try for top floor for seeing the area.”
 of 5 bubbles johnnymack5150, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay