We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Newport, Michigan
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The number one reason for my excellent review is the staff. From the front desk, dining room hostess, bartender, cleaning people, and the shuttle driver all went beyond their job to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was very clean and confortable. Plenty of towels and made in America glasses. Made in America another plus for the rating. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 71allga
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing such kind words about the team. We work very hard to show the highest levels of hospitality to our guests and comments like these mean a lot to everyone here. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again the next time your travels bring you to West Des Moines.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Sheraton was in a good location with several restaurants within a relatively short walk. Hotel is ok, but looks like it will be improving via a major renovation. Rooms still were nice and common areas were good. Place reminds me of an old Holiday inn with the inside open looking down over the common areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juice17995
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel is best avoided. I traveled to Des Moines on business and was booked to stay at this Sheraton. I was very disappointed. Upon arrival, I was first ignored at the counter while other quests who arrived after me were helped; I was right in front of the clerk yet was not serviced. Then I was told no rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mbryan2016
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with trying to check into the hotel. I apologize that you experienced this and will be following up with the team to find the reasons that you experienced the issues that you did and insure that it is an isolated experience. I assure you, this is not indicative of the levels...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

here for work and i've gotta say that although it's kind of in the middle of nowhere and not much to do but this hotel has got the most comfortable bed and comforters ever! it's currently undergoing construction but I still slept like a baby. $13 breakfast buffet...but being a Monday...the fruits selection didn't look so fresh so i walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieutie
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I have been here for several events and business meetings. The space is great and lots of room. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Close to restaurants and the business district which is convenient. Also right off the interstate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Megan, Thanks for your review. We love hosting meetings and really appreciate the feedback.

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is what you would likely expect from a Sheraton Brand hotel. When I stayed, it was hosting several conferences... old school vibe with the open atrium in the center of the hotel and all of the rooms around the outskirts. Interiors/finishes are a bit outdated and could use a refresh, but the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamGolf3
Chicago
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I'm a road warrior and usually book my hotels last minute when I'm done working for the day, wherever it may be. I found this Sheraton a bit dated in appearance, but room was nice and bed extremely comfortable. Parking was convenient and there were a few restaurants nearby, so it worked out to be a comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMGONLINE
Iowa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We visited this Sheraton as guests of a wedding reception. The food, drinks and The Des Moines room were wonderful. I thought that the bed was super comfortable. Was surprised to see no refrigerator in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCHS1972
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed the wedding and the food and drink served and were then able to get a good nights sleep. We look forward to hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Des Moines.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The Sheraton West hotel is a decent hotel with outstanding service. The front desk is always very helpful. The fitness center has free weights and cardio equipment. The breakfast buffet is $12 and not included with the stay as it used to be when this hotel was an Embassy Suites. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AlexanderDelarge
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are just now beginning a major renovation project that will see our guest rooms and corridors remodeled and updated this year. We are super excited to see the new product and are sure you will enjoy it too.

Boston, MA
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times and it needs a serious facelift. It reminds me of an old Holiday Inn that Sheraton purchased in the 1970s. The furniture is dated and so is the service. When I arrived at night I had to wait 4-5 minutes for a front desk person to show up. Restaurant is also average...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are just now beginning a major renovation project that will see our guest rooms and corridors remodeled and updated this year. We are super excited to see the new product and are sure you will enjoy it too.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
3.3 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
368 reviews
4.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
540 reviews
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
178 reviews
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.4 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: ₹ 6,741 - ₹ 16,688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ice machines located on floors 8 and 10”
 of 5 bubbles sleestaker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There were some minor renovations going on at the hotel. It did not bother us. It was minor.”
 of 5 bubbles sixthcents, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nice place”
 of 5 bubbles PhyllW, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with the King size beds are a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles 71allga, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always like a room with a lot of light!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 4JMP, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5