We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Kirkland, Illinois
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We just returned from staying at the Extended Stay America in Des Moines/Urbandale, IA. This was one of the worst hotel stays I have had in a while. The woman at the counter took her own time waiting on us. There was a guest in line ahead of us who asked for change and she gave him an attitude first....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelly E
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Shelly - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, we are working on retraining our staff on the importance of guest relations and cleanliness. We really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed one night at this ESA while on a road trip on I-80. Very convenient to the road; but ask for a room facing away from the highway if you want more quiet. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. I got a good AAA rate that made it worthwhile to stay here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papazed
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with cleanliness of our hotel and that you found your bed to be so comfortable. The staff and I are pleased to read that our hotel met your needs for an overnight stay. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Sometimes the quality of paid internet service is very bad: the speed is slow and the connection breaks every few minutes. For example, while I was writing this short review I lost connections twice for a few minutes. It makes it really difficult to use this hotel internet for work or streaming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that our wireless internet connection was not working properly during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with our wireless internet provider to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for bringing...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean room with a full kitchen, Free Wi-Fi available, and all in a room that didn't feel cramped. We skipped the breakfast so I can't comment on that except that it was available. Staff was friendly. I arrived 15 minutes early for check in and was looking for a public restroom in the lobby after my long drive. They didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrie K
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Carrie - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and our friendly staff. We are also glad you appreciated our free Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchens. We would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Staff is super friendly, especially Kari; rooms are very clean and spacious. It's very quiet here unlike other hotels. The beds are so comfortable and the internet is fast too. I stayed in a Value Place for a little while and it was HORRIBLE, so I'm thankful I changed to Extended Stay. MUCH better!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PackersGirl1163
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and spacious. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look forward...

Canon City, Colorado
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was awful. Headaches, nausea, rancid smoke smell, bad, bad, bad. I would not stay here again as you get a hotel room to get a good night's rest, not to lay awake hating every minute of your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Dean - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are very disappointed to hear that we were not able to accommodate your non-smoking room request. Please accept our apologies. We will be working with our staff to make sure we are accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Thank...

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I called to request a non-smoking room because I am allergic and the desk clerk was very rude and told me she could not do anything more than notate my "preference" because I booked through a 3rd party site. Who I booked the room through shouldn't matter. I AM ALLERGIC, which means if I can't get a non-smoking room when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HazelJae
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that our staff did not provide you with quality service. We will review your feedback with our staff to make sure we are always accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for...

Julian, California
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Things got off to a bad start when the desk clerk could not check us in properly due to a computer issue, and we had to leave my credit card at the front desk, which made me very uncomfortable. When we got to our room, it was far less than clean. Sticky counters, stains, a ton of dog hair on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chemoangellaura
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that it was difficult to check-in to our hotel and that your room was unclean upon arrival. To uphold our company's high standards, I am working with our staff to better our check-in process and improve our cleaning services moving forward. The...

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Somewhat outdated for supposed to be new! TV channels are 32 analog channels of what I would say is basic cable. Served its purpose but the West DesMoines property is by far a better value. Toliet clogged up however luckily I was checking out. Was noisier than I expected. The room below me (I was on the third floor) left...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rlwallen
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. I sincerely apologize for your experience including the maintenance issues in your room. I will meet with the staff to review our maintenance policies to ensure your experience is...

Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My non-smoking king suite had an ash tray in it, smelled like smoke and had several cigarette burns in the carpet. Doesn't have a drive- up covered area to unload/load luggage. Tiny lobby area and no lounge area to hang out with large groups of friends. Continental breakfast very limited items to chose from. Would not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rules24
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry that your room smelled of smoke. Your comments were reviewed by our staff, and we are taking steps to ensure your experience is not repeated. I apologize that we do not have a covered drive-up or lounge at our hotel. Lastly,...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.9 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
124 reviews
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
554 reviews
4.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
88 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: ₹ 5,175 - ₹ 7,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“226 was ours and very good.”
 of 5 bubbles frickster519, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm on first floor in front and it is plenty quiet for me.”
 of 5 bubbles GrannyEllen, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am on the first floor facing parking and across hall from laundry. Amazingly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GrannyEllen, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a blow dryer when you check in. The rooms do not have them”
 of 5 bubbles OmahaFamily, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“none of them no good looks but a high way”
 of 5 bubbles steven4613, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5