We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 73: English reviews
Ligonier
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We work over the road and REALLY appreciate it when we can get a place where we can cook a meal ourselves and have some place that has more of a "Apartment" feel to it. This chain really fits the bill and this particular property was one of the best that we have stayed at. This review is being done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horizontransport
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I’m so pleased to read that you had a great stay at our hotel! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the...

Shenandoah, Iowa
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We booked our stay through Priceline as an Express Deal - so we didn't get to choose the hotel. After booking and then reading reviews, I was very leery of staying here. We booked non-smoking rooms and got non-smoking rooms. The rooms were clean. There were no dishes in the room, not even glasses. I would think they could replace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am pleased to read your remarks about the cleanliness of our room; however, I apologize that our amenities were not to your expectations. In response to your feedback, I am reviewing your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure that all equipment...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed there to take a break from the long journey. It is an OK place if you are used to extended stay. There is a kitchenette which we found it to be useful because the location is not great to go out and eat. A light breakfast is served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Espi52
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the full size kitchenette in your room. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Stayed here while in town for one night for business. We had to wait for over a half hour for someone to get to the front desk to check us in and at night there is no one and I mean no one at the hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wpierce3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. The situation you described regarding the long wait to check-in is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have talked to our overnight staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thanks to your feedback, we can...

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Terrible place to stay. No room service. I had to take my dirty towels to the front desk to get fresh towels. There were spider webs in the corners of the room and ants in the room. The one chair in the room had a broken arm. The place advertises a kitchen, however, if you want any pots, pans, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joecool11
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed to hear about the cleanliness issues you experienced. Please accept my apology. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure your experience is not repeated by making sure we inspect all rooms thoroughly before guest arrivals....

Minnesota
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

First time booking this hotel. Went through Hotwire which was my first mistake. The front desk staff were apathetic and the lobby carried a faint unrecognizable stench. In a classic bait and switch, we were placed in a smoking room after requesting a non-smoking. The room was filthy and the floor of the kitchenette was covered in water leaking from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamblinTrav
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay did not meet our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, we will do our best to honor all room type requests, unfortunately until we complete our remodel this fall we will still have a...

Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here several times. It's nothing fancy and could maybe use a little updating but I love the location, large rooms and kitchen area. The staff is always very friendly. I did hear a lot of traffic noise from the interstate this time. But that's my only issue.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such nice comments about our staff. It was disheartening to read that our rooms were not to your standards; however, I am happy to inform you that we will be going through a full remodel this year and our rooms will be updated and better...

Chisago City, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 February 2015

I booked a stay for 2 nights as i was in a racquetball tourney in the area. I pulled up to the hotel and was treated to fire alarms going off....a fire truck just pulling up and a guy at the front desk who asked me"What do you want?" I told him kindly.....my room??? I was assured there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank body4sal
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that your check-in experience was unacceptable. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken to all of our front desk associates to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for sharing...

Mesa
Reviewed 21 December 2014

They have it together with there new manager. What ever you need they have it. The full size frig and stove top is great. I stayed two months and always felt safe. I am a woman staying by myself, so that is important. The price is right for short or long term stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and that you felt safe staying at our hotel. We are glad to know you found us to be a great...

Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I did not have the same experience as the other people. This is a very basic and older motel but I gave it five stars because it was good value - $58 a night for a queen non-smoking room on the ground floor and very affordable for a Senior citizen with limited funds. There was no odor in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I truly appreciate your comments regarding your room and the amenities at our hotel. It is great to read that we met your needs and that our staff was helpful and informative. Thank you again for your review. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.9 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#1 of 11 in Urbandale
113 reviews
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#15 of 20 in West Des Moines
83 reviews
1.9 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Urbandale
151 reviews
3.2 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th St, Urbandale, IA 50322-2068
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: ₹ 4,670 - ₹ 6,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Extended Stay and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am on the first floor facing parking and across hall from laundry. Amazingly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GrannyEllen, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a blow dryer when you check in. The rooms do not have them”
 of 5 bubbles OmahaFamily, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“none of them no good looks but a high way”
 of 5 bubbles steven4613, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Convenient location, friendly staff”
 of 5 bubbles charlescU3827EZ, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near stairs and elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles horizontransport, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay