We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

PricelineUS$ 80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 80*
US$ 80*
US$ 80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
 Click to rate
Marshall
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was just...OK. We were greeted nicely at the front desk and quickly directed to the third floor to our room. Unfortunately, at 4:30 pm there were still stacks of dirty linens lining the hallway which was a terribly hard first-impression to overcome. The room was reasonably appointed and the bed fairly comfortable. The hotel is right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth-of-Marshall
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for including us in your travel plans. It's nice to know you had an overall pleasant stay and that you liked our front desk associates and your room. However, we are sorry for not meeting all of your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service levels. I hope...

Kansas City, Missouri
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I never know what to expect from an Extended Stay America but this one far exceeded my expectations. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, bathroom was spotless and staff was accommodating. They don't keep pots and dishes in room but are quick to get whatever you need for you. The General Manager, Matt, met us with a smile. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frickster519
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It is good to know you had an excellent experience at our hotel due to your room accommodations being comfortable and that you received memorable customer service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your...

Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewed 14 April 2017

If you have read any of my other reviews you know I try to give the good and the bad, or tell you if something was just average. Unfortunately, there was nothing positive about this stay except that we survived the night and it provided a great story line for a book. When we exited the elevator on our floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GypsySouls5
Charlotte, Michigan
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel isnt to bad.. Staff is always super friendly whwn I stay here, room is always clean. They do a grab and go breakfast. Beds however arent that great. Mine was on wheels and kept moving and the blankets are thin. But its a good place to stay if you are on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kdenton1987
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the bed and the blanket was uncomfortable. To uphold our company's high standards, we will make sure we are replacing beds and blankets when they are worn. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I am currently staying here and I found the staff members are very friendly especially 'Maya'. I feel like a extended family here. Hotel manager 'Matt' is a fantastic guy- very helping and cooperative. I am glad I choose to reside here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pandeymegha34
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you favored the customer service from our staff. I am proud of our staff for assisting you so well. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Cheep, easy access off the interstate. Now, if the fire alarms would not go off at 6:30AM for the whole building, stains of some kind on the bed skirts, and the HVAC not working, no vending machines, or ice maker, I would give it a higher rating..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that the bedding in your room wasn't up to our standard and am also sorry that our fire alarm system disturbed your stay. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, we will, as a team, make sure...

Urbandale, Iowa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Although I love to stay in a four/five star hotel, this is perfect for my current situation. I am in a holding pattern waiting on a foreign government to get around to deciding on my visa application, and it looks like I will be here for over a year. I feel at home, the staff is absolutely wonderful, I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrannyEllen
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your remarks. It is a pleasure to read you are being well accommodated by our staff and that you found our hotel to be comfortable to your liking. We are glad to be able to assist you properly. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us...

Urbandale, Iowa
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Love my long term but temporary home. I sold my condo in March and had several pending matters in Des Moines, as well as hopes of getting a visa to settle in the UK. I needed a place to stay put and have effectively made my room at Extended Stay America into a cozy bed-sitting room. I love to cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrannyEllen
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Your feedback is very important. It is satisfying to hear we are able to accommodate you well why you wait for your appeal. I am pleased our staff is providing you with excellent customer service and you are enjoying the fully equipped kitchen provided in your room. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in...

Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

For the price, it's not a bad value. The bed is comfy, and the room has a good refrigerator. I liked the bath tub that looks as though it was made from recycled material. Be warned, however, the breakfast is less than thin. Solidly decent coffee, otherwise, just pre-packaged muffins and granola bars. And that. is. it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AirJanet
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you were able to have a great experience, but disappointed that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Marion, Iowa
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Needed a place to crash for the night after meeting clients but with easy access to downtown for a late morning meeting. I didn't want to break the bank for a 9-10 hour stay. Clean room. Other reviewers had me in a panic after I read them post-booking. Only two things I found to be true: 1) my second floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CraigAdamson
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Craig - Thank you for your review. We apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. We offer a variety of quick options for our guests that do not have time to cook in their fully equipped kitchens. We will review your feedback and use it to improve our offering. We look forward to hosting you again in...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.8 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
133 reviews
3.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
3.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th St, Urbandale, IA 50322-2068
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: ₹ 4,522 - ₹ 7,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else”
  • Phone missing buttons
  • Peeling pain on windowsill.
  • Clock with wire taped up and not plugged in.
GypsySouls5, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“226 was ours and very good.”
frickster519, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm on first floor in front and it is plenty quiet for me.”
GrannyEllen, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am on the first floor facing parking and across hall from laundry. Amazingly quiet.”
GrannyEllen, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a blow dryer when you check in. The rooms do not have them”
OmahaFamily, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 80* /night
View Deal
ExtendedStayUS$ 80
TravelocityUS$ 80
TripAdvisorUS$ 80
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates