We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel on our way through Iowa. The rooms were clean and large, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff very pleasant and professional. We had a nice conversation with the front desk about their facility and various conventions held there in the past. The breakfast was awesome and classy as we had a restaurant area with booths...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanyasm
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to...

Reviewed 24 May 2016

We checked in late last night and were exhausted. The clerk at the front desk did not want to be bothered with me, the customer. I asked if there was a room available and the rate. (The parking lot was almost empty.) He said there was and I paid. He then gave me directions to the room. Had not mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda S
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

St. Louis
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Clean hotel! Nice rooms, comfy bed. Poolside room was so great! Traveled with several families and we were able to keep our room doors open, sit at the tables outside our room and enjoy togetherness outside of our room. Pool very nice, water a bit cool, but hot tub was just right. Enjoyed a hot breakfast included with the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional...

Beaver Island, Michigan
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The jacuzzi was hot, the swimming pool was warm, the breakfast was ample with lots of choices, scrambled eggs, bixucits and gravy , waffles, fruit, yougurt, juice and cereal. The wifi was speedy, the staff was friendly. There was a restaurant and lounge on site. The restaurant had very good food and service at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbird311
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional...

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We have stayed here many times when visiting Iowa City. It is not as up to date as other hotels but it is inexpensive and quiet. I could see how getting a room next to the pool could be annoying but we have avoided that with no problem. Staff is great and rooms are always clean when we arrive. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional...

Iowa
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Called this hotel from the road on the way to Iowa City about an hour or so out last Monday and made reservation. Arrived around 5 pm or so. We went to the room, needed to get ready for an event after a long trip and no hot water. Called the front desk and was told a pipe had broken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hawkeyes4
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Iowa City
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for our 27th year anniversary and we had fun. Our room was clean the hotel was quite I would stay there again. I love the breakfast housekeeper and front was nice. It's right by the store I needed to go to. It's right by the highway straight shot to the mall. Love the pool and hot tube...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional...

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We spent 3 nights in this Clarion Hotel. Would not stay there again. Our room faced the indoor pool. The pool was noisy into the late night and then again in the early morning. The bathroom was filthy with human waste streaked on the outside of the toilet bowl and the bathroom sink didn't drain. When the desk was notified...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

seattle
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

Feces spread down the front of the toilet when we came in to the room. Notified the hotel only to notice it was still there after next days cleaning. Sink clogged. Dirty towels with hairs on them. Balcony facing indoor pool was noisy all night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seatown44
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I was here for a few days and the location was very convenient for my needs. The hotel is nice and quiet. They have a very nice indoor pool that actually has some depth, and a very nice hottub/spa that is tiled. Only drawback is that the room was kind of dingy. The floor had not been vacuumed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoeater
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
4.6 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
418 reviews
5.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
9.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
4.6 km away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: ₹ 5,108 - ₹ 7,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Illinois
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles rclore, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you HAVE to stay here bring your own towels and mattress.”
 of 5 bubbles annasO5315FS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that is far away from the lobby. If they have a wedding, it can get pretty noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanbA4015XA, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do not wish to climb stairs, ask for a room on the first floor, as there does not seem to be an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles C0ldinChicag0, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are closer to vending area”
 of 5 bubbles I7661VIjulief, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5