We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
 Click to rate
Liberty, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cannot recommend staying here for the original price. The place is run down and smelly. We also had a problem with the hot water. The shower wouldn't get hot. It was barely warm. We talked to the front desk about it and they suggested letting it run. We let it run for 30 minutes and it still didn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karibu7
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Bloomington, United States
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was great! It was super reasonable and had everything we needed. We were in town for a convention and knew the town was fairly small so we weren't expecting much more than a run of the mill motel but this place way exceeded our expectations. It had a bar/restaurant (with complimentary breakfast) and the rooms weren't anything special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashton F
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to...

Joliet, Illinois
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Made reservation on Dec 27 for one room, two beds for the night of Feb 18. reservation was confirmed. When arrived given room with one bed and a foldout couch. Desk said "tough sold out " with apologies. Since we had arrived about three and the hotel was still empty it was obvious our room was sold out from under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KESRAV
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I would never stay here again. 1) Crappy, filthy carpet. 2) Crappy towels. 3) Crappy SLOW internet. 4) Furniture is trashy OLD. 5) No fan in bathroom. 6) No water pressure in shower. 7) Truck (18 wheeler) turning his engine on/off. Slamming back doors and in general not allow me to sleep for an hour after my 7 hour drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rclore
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Hotel Highlander Conference Center. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding __________ (ENTER SPECIFIC ISSUE HERE) on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with __________ (NAME OR DEPARTMENT) to ensure we handle...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here during a weekend getaway and shopping trip. We stayed in the whirlpool suite. The outside of the hotel is very old looking and could use a makeover which worried us upon arrival. Once we got inside we were pleasantly surprised. The inside was very clean and nice. Our room didn't have a microwave or mini refrigerator which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

Omro, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Checked into room and there no refrigerator/microwave in room which was suppose to be standard as this was a suite. Called front desk twice before getting the item delivered, took them 45 minutes, and the frig/micro was in the storage room right next to my room. Second night the phone rang at 2:20am. I did not answer. At 2:30am somebody...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gokartracer
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Northwest Indiana
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed one night while in Iowa City for a college visit. Right off the expressway and about 10-15 minute to campus, it was convenient. Definitely an older hotel but it was pretty clean. Bathroom really in need of upgrade. Furnishings and bed were comfortable, free wifi and standard free breakfast, and lower rate made it decent for a stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cubfans
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Very tired property Second floor reeked of cigarette smoke. Could not open windows in the room. This place should close down and get torn down. Probably was first rate 50 years ago. Now just milking the fact that it is in a college town and sometimes it is the only place still with rooms available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This was a nice place back in 1990 but it's very clear not a dime has been put back into it since then . It was dirty, everything was falling apart. The decor was awful dusty, rusty, or falling apart. The hallway smelled like smoke and curry. The pool was really big the hot tub was out of order, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed S
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Older place. Staff not real helpful. Don't get a room overlooking the pool. Most places close the pool area at 10. Here it's 11 but the noise continues as people are partying around it. When you call the desk the staff tells you it closes at 12, then does nothing about the noise. Second night same problem.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hockeypop55
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
4.6 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
434 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 6 in Iowa City
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
4.6 km away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
93 reviews
5.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: ₹ 4,687 - ₹ 8,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Illinois
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay elsewhere”
KESRAV, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A different hotel!”
rclore, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you HAVE to stay here bring your own towels and mattress.”
annasO5315FS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that is far away from the lobby. If they have a wedding, it can get pretty noisy.”
jeanbA4015XA, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do not wish to climb stairs, ask for a room on the first floor, as there does not seem to be an elevator.”
C0ldinChicag0, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5