We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Julien Dubuque

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Julien Dubuque
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Julien Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,945: English reviews
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I travel through Dubuque often and have always wanted to stay at the Hotel Julien. Built in the 1800s, it had all of the markings of an excellent stay. Wow, were we wrong! This was our first vacation in two years without our daughter . With our second child due in months, I wanted to make this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mike s
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear mike s, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. Our sincere apologies for the noise that occurred during your stay. It is disappointing to hear that your experience did not exceed expectations as that is what our hope is for every guest. I encourage you to send me a note at gm@hoteljuliendubuque.com...

Grass Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Hotel Dubuque is a lovely hotel, rich in history and the glow of the past. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is well decorated. The bathroom doors are unique and the bathrooms very upscale.The lobby area is beautiful as evidenced by the weddings each ay we were there. Dubuque is a very walkable city and the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asti439797
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear asti439797, Thank you for your kind words and five-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and all that downtown Dubuque has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

Wayzata
Reviewed 3 June 2016

When we travel we enjoy staying at boutique hotels, however, this is the first time that we were disappointed. The renovation of the hotel is lovely, however, it does not make up for the unwelcoming and indiffent staff and the unclean-dusty bathroom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jillj789
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear jillj789, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque. My sincere apology that we did not "wow" you with service. It is quite disappointing to read of your concerns. I encourage you to send me a note at gm@hoteljuliendubuque.com so that we may further discuss the issues that you encountered during...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 3 June 2016

The Hotel Julien is as charming as you can get, it's a wonderful place to stay in Dubuque. It is beautiful, classy and the staff is friendly. It is in walking distance of anyplace you want to go downtown. We have been twice and will certainly go again,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear Denise R, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's friendly staff and convenient downtown location. Thanks again for the five-star review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf...

Pearl City
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Comfortable room and beautiful hotel. We attended a wedding reception at the hotel the evening we stayed. The food was excellent and the service was well organized and professional. We also enjoyed the beautiful decor of the hotel and how well everything was preserved during the restoration. We would definitely consider this facility for our next stay in Dubuque.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesfB3217AD
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear jamesfB3217AD, Thank you for your kind words and five-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wedding reception and your stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

Slinger, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We took a one day road trip from Wisconsin to Dubuque. We arrived in Dubuque searching for a hotel room only to find it was a big wedding weekend. Lucky enough we came across the hotel Julien and we're able to find a room that didn't break the bank.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel910
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear Luv2travel910, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

Kent
Reviewed 2 June 2016

It was pricey. Didn't get adjoining rooms that I had asked for. The 2nd night housekeeping didn't leave any washcloths. The steak @ the wedding reception needed steak knives. The bartender was grouchy to me & to other guests. It is a beautiful hotel & the location is great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 368connies
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear 368connies, Thank you for sharing about your recent stay for a wedding. It is disheartening to hear about the incidences that detracted from what should have otherwise been an outstanding experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will visit again in the future. Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Stayed at this place a few days ago. My husband and I were given a gift certificate from our kids. Check in was easy and fast. We were offered a delicious cookie. The room was so clean. The toiletries were Aveda products which I thought was a nice touch. The bed was comfy. Clean. The room was quiet. Nice shower....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hal65
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear Hal65, Thank you for your kind words and five-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed dining at Caroline's Restaurant during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Very nice hotel. Beautiful. Just request a room on the opposite side from the river and train tracks. This old hotel has old windows and the trains got me up every hour since my room faced that direction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear Jeff B, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

Topeka
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We loved the hotel, however, found it a bit expensive for our taste. Also, the thermostat in our room did not work properly, however, we did not report the issue since we only stayed on night. Otherwise, everything was very, very nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S3120AAkatiem
HotelJulienDubuqueGM, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review

Dear S3120AAkatiem, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Dwight Hopfauf General Manager Hotel Julien Dubuque

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubuque
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
588 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
Holiday Inn Dubuque
#8 of 17 in Dubuque
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
18.6 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
5.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Caroline's Restaurant
Caroline's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Soups
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range: ₹ 8,156 - ₹ 17,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Julien Dubuque staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lexington
over a year ago
Madison, Wisconsin
7 months ago
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
over a year ago
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Julien Dubuque staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The King Premiere Suite would be great for families or if you want to entertain in your room or prepare some of your own meals.”
 of 5 bubbles 3catsmom, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room faced east toward the river. We found the housekeeping was only fair as the room had items left by previous occupants:-(”
 of 5 bubbles billhN2105RQ, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We love the south side of the building which provides a view of the Mississippi River.”
 of 5 bubbles W2FC, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles vlb1300, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“higher floor probably best”
 of 5 bubbles rustyroohoo, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5