We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hancock House

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 B&Bs in Dubuque
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hancock House is a Bed & Breakfast Inn with majestic views of the Mississippi river & downtown Dubuque. Located at the 11th Street Historic District. Just a few steps away from downtown restaurants, shopping, casinos & entertainment. Relax at our Victorian men's & women's parlors and wrap around porch with free coffee, tea & refreshments all day. With direct booking through our website, you will enjoy a gourmet style breakfast on weekends (Sorry no breakfast on weekdays). We also have ample FREE street parking. We have total of 9 rooms, 4 whirlpool suites, 3 deluxe rooms with views and 2 standard rooms. The house has been recently updated and fitted with brand new state of the art heating and cooling system, Victorian furnishings, new large screen HD TV's and multimedia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Kitchenware
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
251Reviews0Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 11
  • 2
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nikki V wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions
First off, this place is so beautiful. Located within walking distance of everything. Simon, the host is so friendly and accommodating. Such a unique experience! We loved every second of it. He told us stories of where all the furniture pieces came from & a little history of the house.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Global26267471639 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Very disappointed. For such a well known location terrible experience, house full of underage girls 13&14 smoking vapes and weed, and they were able to stay there for free due to a family member being the cleaner. Extremely disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 6 Dec 2023
You got the wrong property. We don't allow children without parents. We don't allow smoking of any kind. I guess this is a joke and will be removed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul T wrote a review Oct 2023
Montgomery, Illinois1 contribution
My wife picked a weekend stay for us at The Hancock House while I was away on a business trip. So I basically had no input but I like to stay in the Dubuque area when we are visiting Galena. Wow. The Hancock House did not disappoint. We parked on the street in from of the house. We were met by Simon as we rang to get in. Simon gave us some recommendations as we were looking to book a closeby dinner. We stayed in the Dollhouse room which has a very nice view overlooking the city. The jacuzzi with the view made our stay. Perfect relaxation from a long work week. Nice comfy bed, plenty of room in the bathroom. Immediate hot water in the shower. Had a very nice breakfast and Simon shared some history of The Hancock House. We met other guests and had a very nice conversation about where we were all from and headed for the day. The house itself is spectacular. The fireplace downstairs is a site to behold. As we've stayed in Dubuque plenty of times before, my only regret is that we hadn't picked The Hancock House on any of our previous trips. My wife made a good call and we will be staying at The Hancock House on our next trip to Dubuque.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early for a stay at The Hancock House
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 29 Oct 2023
Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. Looking forward to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie G wrote a review Oct 2023
Round Lake, Illinois29 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I booked a two-night stay for a getaway weekend, and we were not disappointed with this experience in any way. Simon and his family go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and at ease. The home is elegantly appointed with loving care in all of the period details. Hot water aplenty for the jet tub and a large, cozy bed made our time in the Library Suite one we would like to repeat again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a small refrigerator available for your dinner leftovers or snacks, so feel free to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 29 Oct 2023
Thank you, it was a pleasure hosting you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracy R wrote a review Oct 2023
17 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
It is like staying overnight in a museum. The antiques are beautiful, wood work is restored brilliantly. There are several rooms with different motifs. We stayed in the train room - 3rd floor, newly remodeled bathroom with claw foot tub. The views were amazing. There is only breakfast on the weekends, but there are several options in downtown that have great food & are within walking distance if you can do stairs. I am excited to try another room soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronald G wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
A wonderful historical house, looks like it's over 100 years old, but all the modern comforts and amenities. Stayed in the Library - highly recommended and very comfortable king bed. Met with Simon and learned the amazing history of the mansion. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Simon, the owner was wonderful to work with.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass01989505131 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Beautiful B&B with spectacular views and clean comfortable accommodations! Owner is involved with a great review of local history at breakfast with all the guests seated together at the table. Close to everything in Dubuque and tri-state area. Can walk downtown from steps leading directly between the house on the bluff and downtown or an easy drive.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diane B wrote a review Sept 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We had an amazing time at the Hancock House! This authentic Victorian mansion is well furnished and immaculate thanks to its owner and host Simon and his charming housekeeper Ellie. Taking our morning tea on the veranda was delightful with spectacular views of the city and the river. Simon makes this beautiful home so comfortable and welcoming it's difficult to leave for the many adventures around Dubuque.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be sure to leave time in your schedule to enjoy the grounds and the space of this beautiful home.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Thank you Diane. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tehuff4 wrote a review Sept 2023
Lindstrom, MN4 contributions
+1
We had a wedding in town and many of our family members stayed at the Hancock House together. The rooms and decor were clean and very unique. Simon was very welcoming and shared the history of the house while we ate a delicious hot breakfast (weekends only). It is a very old mansion and many things like doors are original but well maintained. Street parking and a beautiful view of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If traveling with elders, pay attention to which rooms have a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 17 Sept 2023
It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Thank you for being gracious guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jmgorden wrote a review Aug 2023
Elk Grove Village, Illinois2 contributions1 helpful vote
Simon is great! My husband and I stayed in The Florence Room. Beautiful! From our window you could see Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois and the Mississippi River. Close to everything. Great breakfast. We met couples from all over and had very nice conversations over breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Qady, Owner at The Hancock House
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dubuque area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,199 - ₹13,543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIowaDubuque
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HANCOCK HOUSE (Dubuque) - B&B Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hancock House
Which popular attractions are close to The Hancock House?
Nearby attractions include St. Luke's United Methodist Church (0.2 km), Jubeck New World Brewing (0.3 km), and Dubuque Museum of Art (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hancock House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at The Hancock House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Hancock House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hancock House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hancock House?
Conveniently located restaurants include L.May Eatery, Adobos Mexican Grill, and Mario's Italian Restaurant.
Is The Hancock House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Dubuque.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hancock House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mathias Ham Historic Site (3.6 km), Clock Tower (0.5 km), and Dubuque City Hall (0.4 km).