We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

939 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 931: English reviews
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I paid quite a high price to stay at the Des Moines Embassy Suites for a conference being held there - over $200 per night. The front desk folks were delightful. I was disappointed in my suite however. It is clear the hotel is old. Paint is chipped on the walls and the furniture shows distinct wear and tear. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkemu1978
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear mkemu1978 - Thank you for the great comments about the Front Desk! Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor housekeeping prior to and during your stay with us. I have forwarded your specific comments to the attention of the Executive Housekeeper so he may address them with the staff. i will also review the breakfast item selection with...

Okemos, Michigan
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel was attractive and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. The gym was functional. The cocktail hour and breakfast were both good. My only minor complaints were that it was very muggy in the public spaces, probably because of all the fountains and the lunch we ate at the restaurant was only so-so. The location was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannah_mi_16
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear hannah_mi_16 - Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the gym. We are in the process of finalizing a complete update of the space with all new equipment and can't wait to get the project finalized as we will have truly a state of the art facility once completed. I am sorry...

TALLAHASSEE, United States
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Unfortunately, I was traveling alone. The hotel rooms seemed out of sink with the lobby. However, there was a fridge, a microwave and a great bar sink for entertaining. Love being able to invite employees up without inviting them to my "room".

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Peggy B - Thank you for staying with us - greatly appreciated! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Super friendly staff, from the front desk, to food and beverage, and housekeeping everyone we met had a smile on their faces and were happy to assist in any way possible! Rooms were clean, though a little dark. We've stayed here in the past and I'm thinking it might be time to lighten up the rooms decor? Anyhow their location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lu P
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lu P - I am glad that our staff provided outstanding, friendly service! I so also wnat to thank you for your continued patronage and wanted you to know that we all look forward to serving you in the future when you come back to Des Moines. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Madison, WI
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed just one night because we came for a concert at the amphitheater that borders the hotel. Couldn't beat the convenience! Through sheer good fortune we were there early enough to catch the sound check from the sidewalk by the bridge. Hotel was very clean, employees were friendly and attentive. Had a really great cocktail hour, the Liberty Grill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni S
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jenni S - Thank you very much for the detailed review of the hotel and the services. I am delighted you had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed the concert. Please come back soon! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Hutchinson, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Stayed for a wedding and had a big, clean, quiet room. I will be back! The hotel was close to bars and restaurants. The quality of customer service was top notch. Anything we needed from the front desk we received with a smile!

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kateZ2269PL
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kate Z2269PL - Thank you very much for recognizing our great service and the Front Desk staff! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Maple Grove, MN
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location on the river, designed to be part of the scenery. Easy walking to the whole city. Plenty of locations for entertainment. It was a bit expensive and since it's a Hilton property the free wifi is kind of hidden and it's notoriously bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lomunchi
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Lomunchi - Thank you very much for your feedback. We do offer complimentary basic internet to all HHonors frequent traveler program members and have premium level WiFi service available at a nominal fee. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Greenfield, IA, United States
Reviewed 17 June 2016

This stay was great, Close to where we needed to be. The staff was attentive, and helpful. The Breakfast every morning was incredible, and the manager's reception at night was really an added bonus. Our room was very comfortable, CLEAN, and well maintained. I will definitely stay there again as much as possible.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jim J - Thank you very much for the great comments and positive review, I greatly apprecaite your business and look forward to your return. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Burlington, Iowa
Reviewed 15 June 2016

It is located along the Des Moines River and the view from the river side is awesome. Suites are very spacious. It was less than a 10 minute walk to Wells Fargo Arena for the Boston Concert. We used 15000 Hilton points and got the room for $65. I believe they have a relationship with Wells Fargo and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Terry W - I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the excellent location we have. I look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I was there on business and it was a convenient location. Room was very nice and the staff was very courteous. Underground parking was a plus. They had a few perks such as cocktail hour and breakfast but our schedules did not allow for it. Room was spacious and well maintained. A very obvious design floor was in the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dan W - Thank you very much for your business. Greatly appreciated! Skip Hammerman General Manager

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.0 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
410 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: ₹ 12,174 - ₹ 22,451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from main lobby is quiter. Above floor 3”
 of 5 bubbles 681freds, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“top floor if you would like a good view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles jessenaj, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are great views from the top floor!”
  • Nicely appointed kitchenette!
  • Very comfortable bed!
  • Comfy, cozy living area!
 of 5 bubbles LakeshoreLady, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the largest suites.”
 of 5 bubbles cedmark3, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher the floor, the better. Also, try getting a room facing the river or the State Capitol.”
 of 5 bubbles Kashbcn, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5