We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 348: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The only reason not to rate 5 is: we requested a top floor room when making the reservation on Best Western.com and the person assigning rooms for the night ignored the request. Fortunately the hotel was not full and the night clerk could fix the problem but this shouldn't have happened in the first place. We were in room 304...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roadtripwoman
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the good words. We always try and accommodate guest requests and I am glad we were able to get you your top floor room as requested. Happy travels and come back when in Des Moines.

Central Kansas
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This BW is located on the west side of Des Moines with easy access to both I-80 & I-35. Quiet location in business park. Nice roomy breakfast area with all the usual breakfast items. Quality exercise room machines. Good parking area. Better than average bed, even for Plus hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DirkD346
About Hotel's Favourite Review
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words about my hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed our amenities and our location. Happy travels to you and we hope to see you back soon.

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk staff was very rude the moment we checked in. They proceeded to watch our group on cameras then call our room to say we had too many people. Told me to leave, hung up then called cops. There was no service what so ever and the best western customer service did not comply either. The escorted 5...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K7140MFsarahw
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sarah. we were not rude when we asked you to kindly let us know how many people were in the room. You paid for two and had seven people in the room. When we inquired you told us "it is none of your business". I am sorry but it is my business. As the owner I am responsible to...

Flagstaff
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice facility friendly staff and close to freeway nicely remodeled yet hidebed in room badly needed repacement. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this facility to others.Breakfast had a good selection and was enough to start our trip. The happy was a special treat ,pizza was good the beer tasted very good after 10 hours on the road!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great words. Thanks for noticing our renovations...and yes, the sofas are the last items we are changing out, hopefully as early as late March, early April. Come back then and we can show them off! Happy travels to you.

fort frances, ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent service and comfort! we were even upgraded to a suite! just awesome! we would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! There was also a complimentary social hour with pizza and beer/wine in the lobby.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldie247
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am happy you enjoyed the upgrade and the social hour with the wine and snacks. We hope to see you again when you are heading back down South again this fall/winter.

Dubuque, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We never need to stay too long however, when we do stay the Best Western in Clive is a great place to stay. They have a lot to offer and its near restaurants and activities. We highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amye624
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Hopefully next time we can host you for longer.

Monett
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Entire hotel in great condition. Clean rooms, comfortable bed. Good location near restaurants. Easy access off of interstate. Complimentary cookies at front desk were good. Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. Well lit parking area. Would stay at this location again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed our amenities and of course...those cookies. Happy travels and come back soon.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stay in Des Moines on average twice a year. We've tried several different hotel chains. We always look for an indoor pool because the grandkids love to swim! We will return to this BW in the future. Great bed and pillows, recently remodeled and a great location. One of the nicest breakfast buffets for a hotel chain, always well...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am so happy your grandchildren enjoyed our pool. Thanks for noticing our recent, complete indoor renovation. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

I was in search of an affordable and convenient hotel at last minute for a funeral. This hotel met my needs. Room was clean and I had every convenience I needed for my two night stay. I did not attend the Wednesday evening happy hour nor the complimentary breakfast, but the evening desk clerk was happy to accommodate my simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about my property. Happy travels and come back whenever in town again.

Minneapolis
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This is a very nice hotel. I will definitely stay here again! The suite was large, there were ample plug ins, it was warm, there was plenty of hot water, it was quiet! The grounds are nice, it is dog friendly, and the ceiling panels in the elevator even have nice pictures on them! The towels were folded into fancy...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 330elizabethal
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Ahh, you are the first to notice our elevator ceiling tiles. I love the blue skies above my head as I get into the elevator and wait for the thing to move, it sets a whole different mood to the place. I am glad you liked it as much as I enjoy it every day.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.5 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
256 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
554 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
0.4 km away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Address: 1450 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8243
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: ₹ 5,633 - ₹ 11,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clive
Clive Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prefer first floor if available because of elevator but it's really not a big thing.”
 of 5 bubbles mikekW6915XL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are much larger than the standard rooms for a few extra dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles AitutakiGirl, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrading to a suite was worth every penny.”
 of 5 bubbles AudreyF178, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nothing really other than main level if you do not want to climb stairs. One elevator. Overload”
 of 5 bubbles tomaT8622LX, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“314 is near elevator/ice machines. No noise from them but some interstate noise. Rooms at west end are further from the interstate.”
 of 5 bubbles srehmann, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5