We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hartwood Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hartwood Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I called to ask what the rate was and was given the rate (after I informed them of what date I would be staying there and how many people would be staying). While I was getting my card to book the room, after they knew what days I would be staying and after I verified the amount a 2nd time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B A
Natalia L, Owner at Hartwood Inn, responded to this review

Your review was "deleted from here" by Trip Advisor because it violated their guidelines.

Reviewed 8 February 2016

$40 Bucks vs $102... Just needed a room for a couple nights. No complaints. Mgr works hard to deliver on expectation of peace, quiet and functioning room... So there are nicer hotels in the area but you'll pay for it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James C
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I booked a room here and when I cancelled the reservation I was still charged 10% of room for the inconvenience of the cancellation. The man on the phone stated it was to pay for the credit card transaction fee. WHAT A HEIST!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzette11464
Hartwood_Inn_Manager, Manager at Hartwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suzette11464, We end up NOT charging you for cancellation. It is true that the company whose booking engine we are using charges us 10% per every online reservation regardless whether it was subsequently cancelled or not. If our attempts at renegotiating the terms of our contract with this company are unsuccessful, we will remove the option of online reservation...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Room was definately not clean. Floor, walls, bathtub, and carpets filthy. Smelled like smoke overpowering the room. Looks nothing like the pictures. We stayed one night because everything else was booked. Definately do no waste your time or money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Awful filthy room. Front desk would not answer their phone when we called from our room. Holes and stains in sheets. Filthy shower curtain. We ended up buying Lysol spray and wipes to clean the room ourselves. Had booked 2 rooms long distance for a 3 day stay. The only reason we continued to stay for the duration is because...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank coloradogirl0363
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Only room available in town and if we weren't so tierd we would have keeped driving. Room was not clean floors need steam cleaned bad, smelled a little had to check the room for bug's shower curtain was dirty, rooms looked NOTHING like the pictures, bathroom floor was gross tile chiped. Stayed in a room by the office there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amana C
Marshalltown, Iowa
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here one night only because everywhere else was book within 60 miles, so we had no choice. The part of the motel that we stayed in is like the old strip type motels, where you enter your room from the road. First thing I did upon entering the room is take my husbands penlight and check the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nursekris89
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had never been inside a room there And did not know what to expect. The only thing that could have made it nastier is bedbugs and roaches... Which I had to check to make sure there weren't! Absolutely no heat in room. Had to be about 45 degrees when we went in... Two hours later it warmed up. A nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ohtobeadog
Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Hartwood Inn for a Motorcycle Rally in a neighboring city Sept 9 & 10, 2011. Our room was so dirty and smelled of Old Cigarette Smoke and Urine the smell was so awful I kept our door open for air as much as possible. We asked for a new room but they were booked due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reachingforthestars
West Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have stayed here three times now, rooms are clean not high quality sheets, but does have refrig and microwave always polite to us

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank plk702

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midwestern non-franchise motel. The motel has following room types: smoking rooms, non-smoking rooms, pet-friendly rooms, and wheelchair access rooms. The rooms have one queen-size and two full-size beds. The rooms have following amenities: microwave, fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, cable TV with over 60 channels plus HBO, and free long-distance calls within US and Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hartwood Inn

Address: 1312 Gilbert St, Charles City, IA 50616-1612
Region: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Price Range: ₹ 3,734 - ₹ 4,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hartwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hartwood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay