We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Black Hawk Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Black Hawk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Hawk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Platteville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on vacation. I had stayed here before twice myself on business. Each time it has been a most wonderful experience, and that is coming from a road warrior who spends about 200 nights a year in various hotels. The building is a former stagecoach stop, and now is a wonderfully restored hotel with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron: Thanks so much for your positive review. We are so glad to see that you are return guest and that your experiences have been wonderful. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Kathy Tindall

Reviewed 4 August 2016

I can't say enough about this hotel. You feel like you have gone back in history as you stay here. The hotel is situated on Main St and you can easily walk to restaurants, pubs and shopping. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived 2 hours early to check in, but the staff stopped what they were doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Keith: Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience and that our staff went out of their way to accommodate your early check-in. We have a great downtown area and it sounds like you enjoyed all of its activities. Just to let you know, we have a variety of rooms...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I would stay in the main building which is a hotel but never again would go near the horrible back building which is NOT a Hotel. It is a very low grade motel in my view. I have stayed at 100's of hotels around the USA and world. This "contemporary" section of a nice historic hotel is 2 stars at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank arizonaac
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: We are certainly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our MobileDigs sister property. This property is clearly listed separately on our website "accommodations" section along with pictures of the rooms and our cover page says that we have to distinct properties. Maybe you did not read this information. Yes, the Mobile Digs is a 70's property...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The Blackhawk Hotel is just wonderful. On Main Street of my hometown, I stay there every year for the Sturgis Falls Celebration because of its convenient location for all of the activities. The hotel itself is like a step back in time, not only in its appearance but the excellent service provided by the staff. The housekeeping staff is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank figbrevet
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel and we always enjoy having return guests who enjoy a great lodging experience at The BlackHawk. We work hard to maintain our property to the highest standards and we are glad that you appreciate our efforts. Hope to see you again next year at Sturgis Falls. Kathy Tindall,...

Reviewed 20 July 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Blackhawk Hotel. It really is a charming hotel with comfortable accommodations. Every member of the staff that we encountered from front desk to housecleaning were extremely pleasant and helpful. The attached Soho restaurant and Martini bar were a lot of fun. Walk right out the front door of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bryan: Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. We are always glad to know that a guest has enjoyed their stay and it is especially nice to know that our staff were friendly and helpful. We are fortunate to be able to provide a fine lodging experience is such a great and unique downtown environment...

Richland, Wa
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this historic hotel on a recommendation from our family while we were visiting Cedar Falls - and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in the main, historic building in a third floor room with two queen beds. The room was modern and the Internet worked fine. We'll stay here again our next trip to Cedar Falls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OpenDoorTravelers
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at The BlackHawk Hotel and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience. Many of our past guests and local "friends" recommend the hotel and we are pleased that you were not disappointed. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Cedar Falls. Kathy...

Maple Grove, MN
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Stayed one night coming through on a road trip. Room was advertised as contemporary but was really more retro. Like something out of the 60's, in not a good way. Very uncomfortable. Would not stay again. The only good thing was that it was right on main street so walking to dinner was a nice thing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tecemese
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Our MobileDigs property was completely remodeled and we wanted to keep the 60's-70's "vibe" which is intentionally reflected in our furnishings and decor. Most of our guests who stay there, enjoy their lodging experience and prefer the convenience of parking right in front of their...

Islamabad
Reviewed 14 July 2016

My family and I found the Black Hawk hotel incredibly comfortable. It is a historic hotel but is impeccably maintained and very clean with smart renovations to the rooms and bathrooms. I would have given it five stars but for the mediocre breakfast, which we supplemented at the Cup of Joe shop across the street. We had a big family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraceyIslamabad
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at hotel and thanks so much for the kind remarks about our property. We are continually working to maintain the integrity of our hotel since our major renovaton process several years ago so it always nice to have affirmation that we are doing a good job and our guests...

North Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel has two parts; the main hotel and basically a garage turned into a motel. When I arrived I received keys to the "adjacent property located out back". I went back to the front desk and asked for a room in the actual hotel. Even though the hotel was 60% occupied, and I was only staying one night passing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter2ba
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Peter: As a highly-rated lodging facility, we rarely get reviews such as yours so I wanted to follow-up with my staff to get the "full picture" which was very enlightening. In the first place, we do not, as you put it, do a "bait and switch" tactic and are offended that you would suggest such a thing. Our...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

It's important to realize that the Blackhawk is really two properties: The historic "old" hotel shown on all the websites, and a separate building immediately behind the main hotel housing a circa mid-60's two story motel. Just like all those you see on TV where someone has just discovered a body. When you book you have to absolutely identify which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L1364UPpatrickc
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: I am sorry that you were disappointed in your room choice. It is important that, when booking a room, you carefully review the website and room categories so you are aware of what you are booking. Our MobileDigs property is very popular with business travelers and provides an economical lodging option. If you had contacted our staff to let...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
350 reviews
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
7.4 km away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#9 of 14 in Cedar Falls
127 reviews
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Technology Park Inn & Suites
7.5 km away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: ₹ 6,633 - ₹ 9,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Hawk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 311 which had a king bed and a view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles LuvToTravel0899, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Street views are best”
 of 5 bubbles stevecC3029OO, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles hellfisher, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the main building and not the motel in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles arizonaac, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I have only slept in Rm. 310, but have been in 2 other rooms where friends were staying. I'd say they're all nice.”
 of 5 bubbles figbrevet, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay