We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Start your review of Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC
 Click to rate
Plano, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. It is nice to stay in a very lovely and comfortable home. It is much better than a hotel. I would highly recommend this lovely home when you come to visit Burlington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ambking
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We hope you can stay with us, again. We very much enjoyed meeting you.

Fort Madison, Iowa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the penthouse suite and we were spoiled beyond belief. The breakfast was amazing! The room was cleaned to perfection. We loved the cozy, romantic feel. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub with the most perfect view of the river. It helped that the room was fully stocked (homemade cookies to boot) and the couple that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brerosas
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The Penthouse Suite is a beautiful, romantic experience even on a cold winter's night. It was so wonderful to have met you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 22 December 2016

My wife and I stayed on the top floor suite (aka Squirrel's Nest) and it was amazing. The view was incredible, the room was pristine and fully stocked with towels and toiletries. The hot tub was so relaxing, and we couldn't have imagined a more perfect view of the Mississippi River in all of Iowa. We watched bald eagles fishing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaelganderson
Moline
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Our kids gave us 2 nights at the Squirrel's Nest as a gift. They made a great choice. The Innkeepers are very hospitable and are a wealth of knowledge on the history of the house and Burlington in general. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and were very comfortable. If I have one complaint it would be the small TV....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review. Yes, we totally agree with you about the TV. It is on our list of future improvements. This past summer, we had the entire exterior of the Squirrel's Nest B&B, LLC renovated. Hopefully we will have a new TV in the Penthouse very soon!

Iowa
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I want to keep this place a secret, really. When you climb the steps to the Penthouse suite you feel whisked away to another dimension! Everything was perfect. Bed was comfortable, hot tub for two!, and amazing views of the Mighty Mississippi! My husband still talks about waking up to that breathtaking view. Sunshine gleams through the windows and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMichelle312
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your visit wit us. Thank you for the amazing review!

chicago
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My childhood friend and I had gracious hosts for the past four days. We stayed in the Squirrel's Nest Penthouse one night and enjoyed the beautiful view of the Miss River, and use of the whirlpool and kitchenette. The other two nights we slept in the Bear's Den and felt very comfortable in the room, which was quiet and cozy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judimac
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit at the Squirrel's Nest B&B, LLC. Your life-long friendship was an inspiration. You are both so blessed to have nurtured each other as friends since childhood, despite living 4 hours east and 4 hours west of the Mississippi River. So glad we were in the middle and you were able to stay...

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed for a night while in IA on business. The Berry Patch was so quiet, cheerful and comfortable a room. And my hosts were very welcoming as well as happy to provide directions and recommendations about local eateries. The place also has a quiet side-yard where I was able to do the day's exercises, an unexpected plus! Delicious breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra L
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The Berry Patch is ideal for individual business travelers. We would love to see you again!

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Stayed in the penthouse, which had a beautiful view of the Mississippi river and woke up to a gorgeous sunrise. Bed was very comfortable, and was one of the best breakfasts we've had. The hosts were great people as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pevans42
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is very much appreciated. It is our wish for everyone who stays in "The Nest" to awaken rejuvenated and feeling special. We have been so busy with bookings the past few months - with the autumn scenery and the delayed frost. I am finally finding time to catch-up on my Review Response.

Hamilton, Illinois
Reviewed 6 June 2016

My husband and I recently visited this bed and breakfast to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. This was our third stay and it did not disappoint! We love the relaxing atmosphere and scenic view. Inez is a gracious hostess and AMAZING cook! Breakfast was phenomenal and we left feeling very rejuvenated! Burlington has lots to offer so we were also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hross1228
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

Thank you! You visits are always a delight, you are almost like family.

Reviewed 29 May 2016

My wife and I stayed in the Berry Patch for a night. It was a perfect place to lay your head to get away for a bit. The breakfast was fantastic and the hospitality of the owners was top notch. The view of the Mississippi river was gorgeous. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
Artysquirrel, Manager at Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your night in the Berry Patch. It is our newest room and was recently renovated. Thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlington hotels
3.1 km away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#2 of 11 in Burlington
131 reviews
3.2 km away
Howard Johnson Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington
#9 of 11 in Burlington
556 reviews
4.8 km away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
3.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
3.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Burlington
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted "Best Breakfast in Iowa" for 2105; "Best Overall B&B in Iowa" for 2014 and "Most Scenic View in Iowa" for 2013 & 2014 by Guests of the Iowa Bed & Breakfast Guild. The Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC is situated on the Mississippi River in Burlington, Iowa's historic North Hill District. Originally built as a Victorian farmhouse in 1890 by Edward S. Phelps, the home was remodeled in the 1920's in a French cottage style. It is a thoroughly modern, 21st Century, romantic destination that is owned by an architect and an artist. Selected First Place in 1997 as Best Room Addition in the USA by "Qualified Remodeler" Magazine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC

Address: 500 North Street, Burlington, IA 52601
Region: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Price Range: ₹ 5,698 - ₹ 10,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Squirrel's Nest Bed & Breakfast, LLC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms looked great!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelganderson, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spring for the Penthouse”
  • View off the Penthouse deck
 of 5 bubbles mikeg663, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Penthouse suite!”
  • standing by the hot tub
  • neighbor's backyard, and view
  • Shades
  • balcony & windows
  • looking down from hot tub area
  • View
 of 5 bubbles DMichelle312, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“penthouse is worth the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles pevans42, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The penthouse offers the best view!”
 of 5 bubbles hross1228, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5