We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comfort Suites University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Suites University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Central Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We needed a place to stay at the last minute when we decided not to stay at a motel where we had reservations. This was a bit more than we usually pay, but since we were having family visiting us at the motel, the extra seating (sofa, chair, and coffee table) in a suite was very nice. We even stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4handsomemolly
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. Our studio style suites with the extra seating is ideal for entertaining family and friends. We hope to see you again in the future.

Hermitage, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stopped thru on our way to Michigan this week. Instantly, we remarked at how clean the hotel smelled. Love that it's 100% smoke free. Our room was spacious, had all needed amenities and we were able to sleep as late as we wanted without being woken up by housekeeping. We will gladly stay here again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to let other travelers know of your recent stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Safe travels.

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

1 point off for Hot tub broken And slim " truck parking " I don't think they should list truck parking.. Other than that, clean. Convenient, but over priced according to some.. but I used my clc card.. Also ..koodos for being one of the few hotels that actually honor my extras as a diamond level member

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonny_circumvehor
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank your for your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty maneuvering through our parking lot but once you realize how our layout is it is an easy maneuver. You just need to hug the left side of the median coming in and then make a right turn. Hopefully if you and your rig...

Oceanside, California
Reviewed 18 May 2016

With our son attending college in South Bend this was our second stay at this establishment. The front desk owner was as usual friendly and accommodating. Although 3-4 miles from the college, the area around the site is full of anything you might need (food, gas, snacks, etc). The proximity to the airport and train are especially beneficial - both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your recent stay with us. We know what a special occasion Graduation is and we are pleased to know we were a part of making it a great weekend. We hope to see you in the future if you make it in for a Notre Dame game.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 22 April 2016

The room was nice, the location great, and amenities were fine, but the event going on was ridiculous and should have never taken place in a hotel. It was beyond loud with many customers complaining to no avail. The people attending this religious event were inconsiderate, noisy and rude, and they literally took over the hotel. I couldn't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valleygirl5957
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you concerns and we realize that particular week-end was very trying for all with a Dance competition and Religious conference. We made several attempts to get the group to turn the sound down. This is not indicative of the normal groups we host.

Bourbonnais
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Stay here for a waterpolo tournament, way overpriced for what they offer!! Third floor bathroom cieling paint falling off. Breakfast wasn't good at all! Save your money and stay in Mishawaka!! Staff was friendly! Room walls seemed to be really thin, listened to my niebor snore all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

We appreciate your response. Our rates are established but what is going on in the market and that particular weekend with a Dance competition and Religious meeting. We are in the process of a renovation that will address most of your concerns and hope that at some point in the future you will give us a second chance.

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I had a great stay at your hotel. The staff was excellent and the room was one of the best I've stayed in. I'm a comedian on a long tour and this hotel has been one of the most relaxing places that I have stayed at yet. The location was great in relation to eateries in the local area, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch B
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to relay your recent stay with us to others. We look forward to seeing you again on another trip in the future.

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 4 March 2016

My family and I have stayed in numerous Comfort Inn and Suites, and this is the worst one. The parking lot was riddled with potholes. The carpet in the room had multiple stains and some kind of sticky substance. The shower had mold, hard water build up on the shower head, which dripped all night. The toilet had stains in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BorgProtocol
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Again I want to apologize for the circumstances of your recent visit. I have taken the liberty of crediting your account back and assure you that this situation is not the norm for our hotel.

Fort Wayne
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Outside of hotel looks nice but inside is worn and in need of a refresh. Free wireless WiFi was sporadic to the point of unusable in my room. Window heating cooling unit was 10 degrees off so a 70 degree setting stayed on until the room approached 80. I didn't report the issues since hotel was full and doubted they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbushzone
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We certainly would have liked to have addressed the AC issue while you were here. In the coming months we will be doing some upgrades to the hotel that will definitely address the concerns you mentioned. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you int he future.

Grand Haven, Michigan
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

We had a work conference here. There was about a hundred of us that stayed the night before then had our meeting the next morning in the conference room. The rooms were great and bonnie did a fantastic job taking care of us during the conference. The only thing I would suggest changing is that some of the chairs in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Javid Z
GM_ComfortSuitesSB, General Manager at Comfort Suites University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and we truly appreciate your kind words and suggestions. I will tell you that we just met with contractors this week and on the list is the replacement of all our breakfast and lobby furnishings. Hopefully by the next time you may visit us the work will be completed and you will notice the...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
5.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
104 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
1.7 km away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
5.6 km away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#10 of 29 in South Bend
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University Area

Address: 52939 US 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Price Range: ₹ 6,872 - ₹ 12,706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel South Bend
Comfort Suites South Bend
South Bend Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Suites University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good for visiting the university and or games”
743rajenderv, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“corner suites are large and sunny”
norlander1, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe smoking on floor 3.”
Toby504, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book early if you're going to attend a football game in SB”
Hokie67, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on floor 3 were nice”
Luluflies, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5