We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
PITTSBURGH
Reviewed 14 November 2015

This hotel is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff are warm and welcoming. The furnishings are traditional. It's fun to look outdoors and watch the buggies go by. They sent us to the Blue Gate for an Amish dinner that was delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MARY V
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 1 November 2015

The Hotel located on the quiet side of this busy town. Appears to be new, very clean and friendly staff. Rates are very reasonable considering the service and the excellent breakfast. Versatile hotel for family or business, they have a business center with conference rooms, pool, work out area and breakfast. Not many locations in town to eat a late...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
Franklin, Indiana
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We have stayed at this hotel many times but this will be our last time. Service and quality have deteriorated. We got off to a bad start as the clerk was not very cordial. I always request an upper level room in advance and she made no apology for giving us a ground floor room on the end which seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank rondot98
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We got in late and were welcomed nicely. Late checks in, no problem The hotel room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Good hotel and great value. Stay here you won't be disappointed. We will be back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sabmik1713
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed here while going to a Notre Dame football game. The hotel was affordable, and in a great location. We loved our stay here. It was clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff and breakfast met our needs. We would stay here again when in the area. We booked our room via Hotels.com, and received a reduced rate. When we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan c
Sellersburg, Indiana
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Our trip to Shipshewana was a very pleasant one, except that is, for the stay at The Van Buren Hotel. First off, they charged $169.00 for a stay there on a Tuesday night. Really?? Just because it had a jacuzzi in that room that I didn't even enjoy. Then, to make matters worse, the bed was absolutely terrible. The fitted...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Busman69
VanBuren7780, Guest Relations Manager at The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana, responded to this review

I’m sorry you had such a terrible stay with us, but from what I understand, you were unhappy with our hotel before even checking in. Due to the local flea market business, Tuesday’s ARE the most expensive day of the week at ALL Shipshewana hotels, not just ours. When you arrived at our hotel, with no prior reservation, I’m sure...

Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. It is very clean and reasonably priced. Staff is friendly- courteous - and very helpful. Free breakfast is awesome. One of the best!! It is only 40 minutes from Notre Dame by the toll road. 56 minutes if you don't take the toll road. And if you have the extra time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Puglady49
Carsonville
Reviewed 1 October 2015

This place had well appointed décor with lots of oak.......rich looking furniture...suites spacious......service wasn't lacking/friendly folk. Exercise room/Pool/Hot tub...Large breakfast area...hot food was good. Close to activity in Shipshewana....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Harvey C
Saint Charles, Missouri
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Spent two nights here while in town for a wedding. Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and relaxing pool. Very nice and helpful staff. This was a great hotel to use as our gathering place. It was nice having the chairs outside to relax in on a beautiful evening.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JC_2kids
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Had a really nice stay at The Van Buren Hotel. Continental Breakfast was fresh and a lot to select from. Rooms were so clean and I was really impressed by that. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. While I was staying there, the hotel had two separate large tour bus groups come and go. The staff seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbgrad2014

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipshewana
2.6 km away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.9 km away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
641 reviews
11.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
2.5 km away
Super 8 Shipshewana
Super 8 Shipshewana
#4 of 5 in Shipshewana
642 reviews
3.1 km away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Van Buren Hotel is the ideal place to stay while visiting the Shipshewana area. Our exceptional service and hospitality is among the best in town. We offer a full, hot complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, along with many other fine amenities. Come, stay, and enjoy The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana where our family serves your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana

Address: 1175 N. Van Buren Street (Hwy 5), Shipshewana, IN 46565 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Shipshewana)
Region: United States > Indiana > Shipshewana
Price Range: ₹ 5,705 - ₹ 8,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shipshewana
Shipshewana Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor, pond view was beautiful.”
mrsgrove13, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are far enough from street to be quiet.”
S3060UWjohns, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the AC/heating unit before you unpack to make sure its not a noisy unit too close to the head of your bed.”
Fulton_ILNan, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our first floor room had a view of a small pond - facing south.”
Grammie5Illinois, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother to chose a room. This is not a good place to stay.”
604gailr, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5