We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The room met my expectations (size, cleanliness, amenities ...). The hotel is in good shape though it was a disappointment to discover that the exercice bike was not working and that the whirlpool was also out of order. The breakfast was tasty and proposed more appetizing choices than my appetite could handle. I must say that the staff went out... More 

Helpful?
Thank DrDan2012
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I like stopping in small towns when I am traveling for ease of access and egress, someplace were you can get gas, a meal and a room without urban traffic and the Holiday Inn in Shelbyville fit this bill to a tee. What about the hotel you asked; a very comfortable place to stay and spend a night. One thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I've stayed at a lot of HIE and was disappointed in our stay here. It was a bare bones HIE. The rooms were fine, but no microwave or fridge. It was the noisiest HIE I've ever stayed in. The hotel is right next to I-74 and the highway noise was very loud in our room. We were on the second... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennie30
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review

Dear Jennie30, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. It is unfortunate to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the noise challenges, the condition of the bathroom amenities and the food selection. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to work on these points raised in... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I was staying here for a company function. We had no hot water when we got up no water pressure and told the front desk and didn't take anything off the bill. We had 5 rooms with my group. We plan to make a trip to Shelbyville once a quarter I know we are not coming back here.

Helpful?
Thank David K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review

Dear David K, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your business with us. However, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the lack of hot water and water pressure may have caused you. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued guests like... More 

Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean and quiet. Although the pillows seemed new and in good shape, we didn't get along with them and awoke with some neck pain. Otherwise the bed was comfortable and we had no other real issues. There is an indoor pool and small exercise room that were both clean and well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hehaeh
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I never know where I will end up for the night, so seldom make reservations. I did not check this area until I got there and found no rooms for miles due to events happening in Indianapolis. I called central reservations and they found me a room in Shelby ville, IN Once I got to the hotel, there was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank john k
Murry D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review

I am glad that Drake managed to get a room for you. Thank you for the comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. More 

Remington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We had a slow start to our trip. Biggest down fall is no fridge or microwave. I was told they are going to be updating. Rooms were clean. Free breakfast and a lot to choose from. Inside pool and small fitness room.

Helpful?
Thank Hilliards2015
Murry D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found the rooms to be clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016

After a long days travel, much construction, it was great to see the sign for the Holiday Inn Express before the off ramp; but once off the freeway our GPS led us to the address but we could not see the HIE. We drove back across the freeway, yup, could see it from the other side, drove back to where... More 

Helpful?
Thank ODtravelers
Murry D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a difficult time finding the building. Unfortunately, we have the largest sign the city will let us put up. The rules for highway signs are different which is why the sign by the highway is so much larger. The carpet cleaner has been contacted and they will be cleaned soon. I appreciate the feedback... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Nice sized room, and very clean. The King-sized bed was comfortable. The indoor pool was well-kept. The free hot breakfast was nice, typical Holiday Inn Express fare-with yummy cinnamon rolls. Keurig coffee maker in the room was a nice touch. It was a major disappointment that the walls of our room were so thin that we could hear the TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodney F
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Our room was huge, clean, comfortable and quiet. Slept very well. The breakfasts were delicious and started early the morning of the race, a good cold selection. We appreciated it, we left early but as unfortunately lost over 2 hours driving around the motor speedway looking for an open entrance to utilize our infield parking pass, the last 3 miles... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2011heather16
Murry D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you found the room "clean, comfortable and quiet" and staff "friendly and helpful". We look forward to seeing you next year for the race. More 

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Shelbyville
Hampton Inn Shelbyville
#1 of 6 in Shelbyville
199 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Shelbyville
Comfort Inn Shelbyville
#2 of 6 in Shelbyville
79 reviews
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Shelbyville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Greensburg
31.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Greensburg
30.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a brand new hotel in the Shelbyville area. We offer discount rates to local corporations. We are 2 miles from the Indiana downs and the Indiana Live casino. We offer a free hot continental breakfast to all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis

Address: 38 W Rampart St, I-74 at exit 113, Shelbyville, IN 46176-9472
Region: United States > Indiana > Shelbyville
Price Range: ₹ 5,677 - ₹ 9,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville - Indianapolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Doors at the end of building do not have card swipe for access.”
 of 5 bubbles Jimj196, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room away from elevator. Entire wall of room faces housekeeping office. Very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles hallien299, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We like top floor away from elevator for quieter experience”
 of 5 bubbles JMomma2015, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“select 3rd floor if you don't want to hear the people walking above you.”
 of 5 bubbles DrDan2012, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms overlooking the highway if noise bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles Jennie30, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay