We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn Portage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Portage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 340: English reviews
Start your review of Hampton Inn Portage
 Click to rate
Bemidji
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I were traveling to Ohio and we so often put off making reservations for each nights stay until we need a place because we want to get the most out of the daylight hours and our driving. Thank goodness Hampton Inns are so near the Interstate. Right at the right time and so perfect! Great nights sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
Chicago, Illinois
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 26 December 2016

This hotel is a wonderful example of Hampton Inn quality. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about my stay, from the telephone booking all the way to checkout. I got caught in Winter Storm Decima with a longtime friend and we had to leave the highway for safety. We are so glad that we found this hotel because it provided great accommodations...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonrisa1908
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to this hotel for three different times and it is a great option along the I-94. As stated in the title, it is a typical Hampton Inn: fair price, reasonable breakfast, clean and standard bedrooms and good staff. The area is not the best (you would probably be better served on the north side of I-94) as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bncav
florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to go to portage in for a family gathering. . I am so glad we chose the Hampton Inn. The hotel did not show the usual wear and tear that small town hotels sometimes show. Well maintained excellent reception and housekeeping, breakfast and a salt water pool. I could not believe that it has been open for over 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kemomom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and his wife were married in Portage IN on December 17, 2017. We booked a block of 55 rooms at this hotel. All the rooms were very clean and very up to date. The staff was very friendly and helpful the entire weekend. We were there from Friday - Sunday and the entire experience was wonderful. They went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived late in town and scouted hotels. Most were less expensive than the Hampton and they looked like it. The Hampton is well maintained outside and in. The front desk staff are super and phoned the room after we arrived to ensure that everything was perfect. A small but nice pool and exercise room. Very comfortable bed. Very clean restroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 608sergios
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Columbus, United States
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There were several hotels in the area and the Hampton had perhaps the highest rate. However taking into account the appearance of the building, the large comfortable room, the efficiency and personal attention of the staff, and the wonderful breakfast, overall it was a bargain. We plan to return to the Indian Dunes area in the spring and will be...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertsC5934BT
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope to see again in the Spring. The Indiana Dunes State Park is five miles from the Hotel.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My job keeps me in hotels a LOT, and I stay in Hilton properties as much as I can. That includes many many Hampton Inns. One thing I like about the Hamptons is the brand consistency. I always know what to expect when I check in. The Hampton in Portage had all of the features and amenities I have come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric18_13
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay our Hotel again.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The first room wouldn't unlock (very old decrepid locks on doors), so they moved me. Room two had tons of black mold growing in the AC/Heat Unit, carpet not vacumed (even had sunflower seeds on it), salt like substance on the TV table, smudges and smears from a dirty wash rag on the desk. The third room they moved me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaron m
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Once again our apologies for the entire situation. Upon your request after you informed us that you had made a reservation at the Hilton Garden Inn, we checked you out of Hotel. There were no charges to your credit card. In addition we added 5000 Honors Points to your Hilton Honors account. Our apologies for the inconvenience.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We stay in Hilton brand hotels lately, so booked them for our recent road-trip. Comparatively, this one was older, and a little less clean. We were okay with that as sometimes housekeeping just can't do magic with outdated things like carpeting, etc. however, the craziest thing about this hotel was the bathtub in our bathroom. As I said, the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Falltravels
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Our apologies for any inconvenience resulting from our tubs. The intent of the design of the tubs was to insure a quicker flow of water to the drain. We have applied a clear non skid surface to the tubs, and we provide a rubber maid bath mat in each guest room. As the Brand evolves...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
5.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
124 reviews
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Address: 6353 Melton Road, Portage, IN 46368
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Price Range: ₹ 6,586 - ₹ 9,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Portage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prefer rooms facing the south: you can hear the I-94 on the north facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles bncav, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose our room online and it was quiet even facing the road ,off the road might be better during heavier traffic days”
 of 5 bubbles kemomom, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Even street-side was quite, at least in the winter.”
 of 5 bubbles 608sergios, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor above the pool and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles loislane2121, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side rooms are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kathy3650, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5