We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Duneland Beach Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Michigan City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Duneland Beach Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Duneland Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 56: English reviews
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that I am a patient, easy going person. I planned a romantic weekend at Michigan City for my girlfriend (now fiance) as I was going to propose. We were staying at Blue Chip Casino so I decided to get away from the casino crowd and have dinner at a more private, romantic setting... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank schaferm133
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a nice time at the Inn. I can't remember the name of the young lady that checked us in a little before check in time. She made us feel so welcome and was polite and courteous. We stayed in the middle of the week and knew there wasn't a continental breakfast so we were surprised that in our room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wow, what a difference new owners make. We ate at the the Inn about 6 years ago and had an OK meal, thought about staying the night but when we checked out the rooms they were a bit "worn out". When we read the review from Lisa D, thought we would give it another try and see if anything had... More 

Helpful?
Thank B W
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the city of Chicago to the Duneland beach inn the peacefulness is a great part of the stay. The beach that is part of the inn is clean & a short walk from the Inn, the bar is o.k. the restaurant is great. The breakfast hutch is a nice touch for the morning to get you started. Tips if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Saint John, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I had just a wonderful NY's dinner and over-night stay at The Duneland Beach Inn. From the moment we came in out of the snow everyone was gracious and welcoming. Our dinner was delicious and served in a a lovely window side setting. The bar is small, warm, and very nearly perfect setting on a snowy night.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Duneland Beach is a restaurant/ bar with rooms above it not a B&B! We heard nothing but pans banging below in the kitchen and rowdy bar people. No common area -our TV did not work the bathroom so small in the captains quarters my knees stuck out could not close the door. We asked when it would quite down they... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank elwalt2276
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not a B&B, but a country inn. A inn by definition serves meals and has a restaurant on property. Perhaps you were looking for a smaller, quieter place to stay. Because we are a small inn, we apologize that expanded cable isn't available in the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Chicago Il
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When I called for info and to discuss my reservations etc I was not impressed with the folks that answered the phone. The rates are high but it is all about location and they have it. Our room was small but we didnt spend a lot of time there. Dinner was nice outside and I loved my fish. Yes the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keekeechicagoil
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and hope to see you again soon. More 

Long Beach, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We decided to have our Easter family dinner at this establishment, what a major mistake that was! The food was average at best, the prices were high and the woman who owns it, Kay, I believe, couldn't be more arrogant and stuffy in nature! We miss Kelli's table and are looking for a nice owner friendly place to spend our... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Samuel K
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your Easter Dinner.I would like to address your concerns. Regarding "overpriced" your family of 12 guests enjoyed Easter dinner off the menu, not a buffet, for $25.33 per person. That is not unreasonable for Florida grouper flown in fresh and prime rib dinner including soup or salad which most of your table ordered. We are... More 

Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Driving around the area when we stumbled upon this place and decided to stop for a beer or two; good thing we only had one round because they charge $10 for 12 ounce bottle of a craft beer which usually goes for $5 per pint at most fine pubs. Will not return.

Helpful?
5 Thank HoosierTravelMaster
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Hello HoosierTravelMaster and thank you for your review. You are correct. Some of our craft beers are expensive. My guess is you chose a Dragon's Milk or a Hopslam? They are $10. Our neighborhood bar is small and doesn't afford us the room for beer on tap. Please look at the whole picture. We are not a pub nor a... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Husband, daughter and I went early on a winter Sunday and we were one of only 2 tables the whole time. It would have been nice to have more of a crowd, but the service was excellent, food great and atmosphere just lovely. The cocktails were pricey, but delicious: perfect Makers Mark Manhattan. We had a few small plates like... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DRobert831
dunelandbeachinn3311, Owner at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Although open all year, our business is seasonal. If you would like a little more buzz, try us on a Saturday night or any day during the summer. We appreciate your remarks and the opportunity to offer you the unique ambience the Inn provides us all. More 

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
11.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
6.3 km away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
568 reviews
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
10.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away one block from the private beach, Duneland Beach Inn is a private getaway located near gaming, shopping, and wineries. There is a casual fine dining restaurant & bar on the first floor offering some of the best cuisine in the area, ice layered martinis, and wines from around the globe. The circa 1920's Inn offers eight well appointed guest rooms on the 2nd floor which was long ago offered 21 rooms with a shared bath. A great place for a couples getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duneland Beach Inn

Address: 3311 Pottawattamie Trail, Michigan City, IN 46360
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Price Range: ₹ 10,875 - ₹ 17,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Duneland Beach Hotel Michigan City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duneland Beach Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Duneland Beach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the bar. Looked fun.”
 of 5 bubbles GarrettR254, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are horrible and dusty”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Says free wifi but good luck getting a signal.”
 of 5 bubbles busymom01, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Next trip I would like to stay in Tally Ho. Little bit bigger than Dune Grass where we stayed and its the same price.”
 of 5 bubbles R9532NVjanes, 22 May 2014 | Read review
“Some rooms have Jacuzzi's some don't, our's (Joe's) had one and just a Queen bed, but that shower is very cool. Might stay in Betty's next time.”
 of 5 bubbles 842bw, 1 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5