We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
831 E Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3652
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$133
Priceline$133
Travelocity$133
Hotels.com$133
Agoda.com$127
FindHotel$133
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (103)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (2)

About

#5 of 8 hotels in Madison
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a charming hotel in Madison, look no further than Hillside Inn.

While staying at Hillside Inn, visitors can check out Dr. William Hutching's Office & Museum (0.6 mi) and Schofield House (0.6 mi), some of Madison's top attractions.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and you can stay connected during your stay as Hillside Inn offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk and newspaper. Plus, Hillside Inn offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Madison's popular lobster restaurants such as Key West Shrimp House Incorporated and Crystal & Jules, all a short distance from Hillside Inn.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Lanier Mansion (0.9 mi), Historic District (0.4 mi), and History Center (0.9 mi), which are some popular Madison attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

The staff at Hillside Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
230Reviews5Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 70
  • 46
  • 23
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
darkeyes wrote a review 8 Aug
Indiana79 contributions43 helpful votes
The Hillside is in a good location to the historic district. I found the staff to be friendly enough and the room clean. The balcony had a nice view of the lights of the bridge and Main Street at night, not so much of a view during the day. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The AC didn't cool the room very quickly (I like it cold!) but I always supplement with a fan anyway for the white noise. At some point during the night it reached a temp I was comfortable with. Downside: no soap, I had to use shampoo to wash with. They has a shower cap and even a sewing kit so I assume the lack of soap was just an oversight. Also, the balcony door did not lock. I don't expect the average hotel guest to have the acrobatic skills to get over to the next balcony but being a single woman staying there I would have felt more comfortable with a locked door. All in all, it was a good stay and if I am in the area again I would have no problem staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DebbiecB1438XU wrote a review Jul 2022
Bedford, Kentucky, USA50 contributions13 helpful votes
I must say the hotel has wonderful views. The beds weren't bad. The pillows for me were kind of hard, but I'm picky about my pillows so that didn't bother me. The breakfast was kind of a letdown. We got down to the breakfast room a little after 7. There were just a few people there. The only hot food was three sausage links and some watery scrambled eggs. No coffee. We waited for about half an hour and they got the coffee going. After another half hour they brought some bacon. The lady that made our reservations, Birdie, was so sweet. Birdie must work nights. I called to ask about the light outside and she told me what to do. I also asked if there was any way I could go into the meeting room just to take a picture and walk out. She was sweet about that also. Sadly she got off duty before that could happen. As far as receptionists go, Birdie is the best!! She was patient and kind, unlike one of the others when I said I didn't know where to park, they replied between the two white lines, lol. All in all nice hotel. The kids loved sitting outside on the porch overlooking the town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim Steele wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Enjoyed the view from the room overlooking the town and Ohio River. The building has some years on it but it had historic charm value to it. The breakfast bar was decent and had a good choice of food and there was plenty to eat. Here's the problem we had with the hotel. One of the desk clerks seriously needs to work on her people skills because she doesn't have any. We were travelling with another couple and we asked if there was a chance to have a room close to our friends. Instead of explaining how the room are assigned, we got a whole bunch of attitude of what we shoulda, coulda done to be next to our friends. The next day a tornado siren went off and one our friends when down to the clerks desk to ask what should do. The same clerk we had problems the day before was on the desk. She had no idea what the safety protocols were and told our friend that you're on your own. We probably give the hotel a 4 or 5 rating but because of this one clerk (who should be fired) we're giving a 3 rating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: To quote the one clerk we had problems with, "You are on your own"
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
travelpr0123 wrote a review Apr 2022
Saarbrücken, Germany1596 contributions638 helpful votes
As mentioned by other guests the views of the town and Milton Bridge are very nice from your balcony. The hotel is a 1970s time capsule with small rooms and tiny bathrooms, not much can be done about that. What can be improved is getting rid of the stench in the rooms and hallways, and buying better mattresses. The "breakfast" is something you may want to avoid. Staff not overly friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
roadrambler5 wrote a review Oct 2021
Duluth, Georgia72 contributions9 helpful votes
Great hillside location just outside of historic downtown Madison, Indiana. Overlooks the Madison/Milton Bridge on Ohio River! Clean newer remodeled rooms, great friendly and helpful staff and a good breakfast to boot. Great place for romantics, couples and families too.. Clean, awesome location with everything one must have on a trip in a small historic town,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are great....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Kidwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hillside Inn
Responded 8 Nov 2021
Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us at our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience and hope that you return again on your next visit to Madison.
Read more
CAR wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We didn't go for the expensive rooms with a view, so we got stuck in a teeny corner room on the back side of the hotel. Our bed had a dip in the middle so all night we were trying not to fall into each other. We complained and got the same room on the other side. Bed was much better. But there are other problems that will prevent us from ever going again. First, most of the staff smokes and just goes to smoke right outside the entrance. This means you are smelling their smoke as you enter or leave. The ash bins are just outside the door. You'd think staff would be asked to move further away. Guests are told they will be asked to leave if they are smoking in their rooms. But staff can fill the air at the entrance with smoke? Next, there is a great view but no way to enjoy it unless you just walk around in front and sit on the concrete wall. There's no outdoor patio with chairs, which would really be a nice touch. Another way to get a good view would be the room extending out from the breakfast area. This was closed for "meetings" so even at breakfast, you couldn't look out and see the view. And the breakfast: The waffle maker is always a hit, but why offer "strong" coffee when it is just brown water? I wouldn't bother with eggs unless you can use real eggs. The boiled eggs were a nice touch. It's hard to bring a hotel back from the brink, so I understand the challenge. Give people a view even if they didn't pay for the rooms with the balconies. Give people a good cup of coffee. And really make sure you have good beds in all the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Kidwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hillside Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hillside inn, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. You also had the opportunity to change to a room with a view as you were asked at check in if you would like to upgrade to a balcony room. During the week we are able to do that with rooms available. If you were dissatisfied with your room, you could have not stayed another night in a different room. Every one has a different view on the type of mattress on a bed. Some like it hard and some say it is too soft. It is hard to please all customers, but we do try to accommodate the best we can. We open our meeting room/dining area overlooking the hill if we are sold out during the week. We are sorry you were displeased with our breakfast as we strive to put as much food as we can due to still being under Covid regulations. We are a historic hotel, built in 1925 and we are remodeling at all times to keep up with the growing motel industry. We value your imput given to us and thank you.
Read more
K2the wrote a review Oct 2021
10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I have been working in the hotel industry as a supervising front Desk Agent and Night Auditor for 20 years. So I know a few things. I've seen the great managers and owners that understand the meaning of hospitality and the ones who just want your money and want to offer very little in the way of going the extra mile so you'll return and or give positive feedback. First see attached pictures of the floors of my nearly $175 per night room. Seriously rooms should be cleaner for this price at a run down outdated hotel. Second the hubby and I ended up arriving a little earlier than expected and asked for an early check in. We were flat out refused! I would have paid a little extra even. We kept getting met with the response we don't have anything ready until 3, 2:30 maybe. Funny thing is and I pointed this out they never asked my name or my room type to check and see. Also as it was 12pm and check out was 11am let me tell you what we do at my hotel. We communicate with housekeeping about a checked out room of that room type a guest has departed from. Let them know we have a guest requesting an early check in and have them start that room next. We may not be able to check the guest in at the moment, but we do get them in with in and hour or so. IT DOES NOT TAKE OVER 3 HOURS TO CLEAN A ROOM. If it does it should be clean then!!!! They kept saying housekeeping is in the halls??? What? So? They were "in the halls" after 3, so your point? The lady was incredibly snarky and when I said ok I see why they have some bad reviews now, she said okay and thank you super sarcastic. It is things like that they go the extra mile and provide good customer service in a hospitality industry for a guest who had one of the most expensive jacuzzi suites at your hotel. I come to Madison often and I ill not be back and I have recommended more than a few family member visit. This will not be a recommended hotel. The room next door also had a constant barking dog and they did nothing about it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Kidwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hillside Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hillside inn, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Everyone is told that when making reservations, that check in time is at 3:00 pm. We can not expect the housekeepers to clean all rooms in an hour. You were at the motel at 12:00 to check in and rooms were not ready at that time. Check in time is 3:00 but your were allowed to check in at 2:30 pm. It does take the housekeepers longer than 1 hour to clean all rooms when you only have 2 housekeepers. Again sorry for your inconvenience. Thank you again for your feedback.
Read more
Jo M wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall, we really enjoyed our two night stay for our anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the balcony overlooking the river was great! They had some ads and menus in the room for local restaurants, which was helpful since it was our first time to the area. They have a cute fish pond in the entryway and we loved stopping to watch the fish on our way in and out. The continental breakfast was good, one of the better ones I have had. The only negative thing is that the walls are thin and we had noisy neighbors. We were woken up at 3:00 AM by our neighbors blaring music, so we called the front desk. They were very prompt in coming up to ask them to turn down the music, and we didn't have any more issues after that. We had such a nice experience, that we have already booked another stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Spend the extra $20.00 for a room with a balcony, it is worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Kidwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hillside Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Sandy Roberson wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Awful!!! Have to enumerate! 1) Bathroom soap dish had 2 huge cigarette burns into it. 2) Sadly in need of paint; all walls horribly chipped. 3) The phone didn't work! That may account for why there was an EXTRA phone left on the table--unplugged. 4) TV went offline twice. 5) The sheets were terribly stained. 6) Beds uncomfortable. 7) Holes in the drapery. 8) A long cord was hanging from the ceiling. 9) There is ONE FREAKING ICE MAKER FOR 3 FLOORS! You have to bring your bucket to the 2nd floor if you want ice. 10) ONE vending machine -- unusable -- product YEARS OLD. 10) No restaurant, but we brought leftover food back & decided not to keep it. To be kind, I asked the person at the front desk if they would prefer it be thrown away somewhere else, rather than in the room. She said 'yeah--take it to the dumpster around the building!!' My husband and I come to Madison quite often (car shows, etc.), but we will never stay -- nor will we RECOMMEND -- that anyone stay here.. The view is NOT that great. You are staring at the bridge & can only see a little to the left & right of it. Do yourself a favor -- Stay at the Clifty Falls State Park Inn. It is awesome, with a pool, a great restaurant, great rooms, an AWESOME view of the river!!! It's worth the $18 extra over the price of the rooms at Hillside. NEVER AGAIN!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ...don't stay here...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Kidwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hillside Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
I am sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one at our hotel. Thank you for your comments.
Read more
sunbird12 wrote a review Mar 2021
Louisville, Kentucky2 contributions
A wonderful experience. I come to Madison, IN frequently and always stay at the Hillside. The warm, comfortable and friendly people always brighten my stay. The rooms are always clean, comfortable, have a balcony overlooking the Ohio River.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Kidwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Hillside Inn
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Thank you for your recent review concerning your stay with us at our hotel. We are glad you visit us when in Madison. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hillside hotel madison
LOCATION
United StatesIndianaMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hillside Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Hillside Inn?
Nearby attractions include Historic District (0.7 km), Mad Paddle Brewstillery (0.9 km), and Broadway Fountain (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hillside Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hillside Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hillside Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hillside Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hillside Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hinkle's Sandwich Shop, Off Broadway Taproom, and The Red Roaster Coffee and Eatery.
Is Hillside Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Madison.
Are there any historical sites close to Hillside Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lanier Mansion State Historic Site (1.4 km), Historic District (0.7 km), and Broadway Fountain (1.1 km).
Does Hillside Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Hillside Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.