We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1650 Clifty Hollow Rd Clifty Falls State Park, Madison, IN 47250
70 people have started booking this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Vio.com$177
Etrip$177
Agoda.com$186
eDreams$177
Tripadvisor$177
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (168)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (5)

About

#2 of 8 hotels in Madison
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in Clifty Falls State Park, the Inn and Restaurant are surrounded by trees and wildlife, if you like to hike this is some of the ruggedest trails in Indiana, Clifty Inn has the best view of downtown Madison and the Ohio River.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
354Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 126
  • 47
  • 24
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BarbaraLynnS wrote a review Oct 2022
Orleans, Indiana106 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
View beautiful. Bed very comfortable and we each got a good night's sleep. Suite looked nice until we looked a little deeper. Everything needed a good dusting. Cracker crumbs on the kitchen floor. Spots in the toilet area looked like vomit or something possibly worse. I noticed in others' photos there were curtains over some of the windows where we had none. Safety chain-type lock missing. Another safety concern: Although there was a slot for keycard to enter, the outside doors did not need the keycard to open, we didn't realize until the morning we were leaving. Made us wish we had chosen somewhere much less pricey. Room coffeepot did not respond to anything we tried to get it to work. Restaurant coffee was $2.59. Restaurant was buffet only the weekend we were there. Breakfast was $18 (plus $2.59 for coffee) and definitely not worth it. The 'eggs' looked like chopped up butter. I passed it once not realizing what it was. I added flavor by covering it with gravy. (salt & pepper shakers were filthy and would not touch.) Hash browns had an unusual flavor, and the "Potatoes O'Brien" were cheesy! The biscuit, bacon and sausage tasted fine but were coldish. Cantaloupe, honeydew, and watermelon were good. Dinner was $22 (plus soft drinks) for full buffet. Minimal options so we chose the soup & salad bar, only $17. I chose the 'potato' soup, but I could not find a sign of potato, just cheesy, disappointing but not terrible tasting. Husband said the chicken noodle soup was good. Windows were horribly cleaned, streaked, and had handprints just above viewing level.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
We are so sorry your visit was not what you expected, anytime you have a issue please let the front desk know so that we can take care of the situation. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, please be assured we will check into the issue.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beverly L wrote a review Sep 2022
Mooresville, Indiana113 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed 2 nights at Clifty Inn. After seeing negative reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. Spacious and clean room and bathroom. All the expected amenities. Mini frig, microwave, sink, coffee maker and supplies. Iron, ironing board, hair dryer, TV , DVD player, radio with dual charging stations. No housekeeping during visit due to Covid. We stayed in room 105. Had a patio with nice river view. View of river was restricted in rooms further down. Couldn’t see the smoke stacks, nice plus, from room. They were visible from the patio. We stayed during the week, so inn and park were not crowded. Beautiful outside patios and fire pit. Plenty of nice chairs to sit inside and out. Inside pool also nice. Plenty of towels and chairs. Handicap assessable. Hot tub for adults only. Water temperature very hot. We ate at the inn. Enjoyable breakfast and dinner. Home style cooking and typical fried food options. Average prices. Buffets available on Sunday. Everyone friendly, nice and helpful. Park was beautiful. Only went on easier trails. Did see Big Falls from lookout. Nature Center was small but nice. Staff very knowledgeable and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. Hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry S wrote a review Jul 2022
Mooresville, Indiana14 contributions1 helpful vote
We love staying at Clifty Inn! Sitting outside in the courtyard after a delicious meal from the restaurant is a must! The view of the river is hard to beat! When we're not enjoying the river view we're off on the trails!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HH wrote a review May 2022
Ohio360 contributions233 helpful votes
I didn’t read the prior reviews before staying here. If I had, I likely wouldn’t have come as they are generally pretty poor with regards to housekeeping and room issues. For the most part, we experienced the same. We stayed in a suite with a kitchenette area. Room was very large, with a separate living room, small dining table, desk, microwave, mini fridge and sink. It was in the old part of the Inn and generally “outdated”. The ac did not work in the family room, it only blew hot air. We opened the windows to get fresh air instead since it was a good temperature outside. One of the bedroom windows wouldn’t open due to damage/split/swollen frame. The windows that did open were filthy, tons of dead bugs and dust. Pretty gross. We’re pretty sure there was a mouse in either the ceiling or the ductwork above the bedroom as we heard steady scratching type noises all night long. We did advise the front desk and maintenance came and supposedly placed a mousetrap while we were gone one day. Despite the shortcomings with the room, I’d say we still enjoyed our stay. The park itself was really pretty and the hiking was phenomenal. The town of Madison is really quaint and we spent some time exploring there. If we returned I’d inquire about booking a room only in the more modern section.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
Thank you for letting the front desk know about your stay, I will check to see if they compensated you. Hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andie wrote a review Apr 2022
Waterloo, Iowa3 contributions
Room in what seemed like an older part of the inn. Upon opening the door a smell hit us in the face, couldn't quite figure out what could b causing it. Opened door and window to air out, perfume helped. Ants, ants, ants!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
You stayed in the Parkside which is a older part, so sorry to hear about the ants, hope you will come back and try the Riverveiw side, thank you for letting us know about your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IndyJaneAnn wrote a review Apr 2022
Greenwood, Indiana45 contributions25 helpful votes
In a spring mini trip w/two grandsons and hubby I mapped out a sojourn from Indy to southern Indiana, Louisville then to St. Meinrad. Clifty Falls was our first overnight stay and did not disappoint. Oh my…I have stayed in several state park inns in Indiana and Kentucky and this was five star times ten. From the friendly desk staff to the grounds, entrance, the gift shop, etc. And the views of the hillside and Ohio River. Oh my!!!! The best….The abundant seating and floor to ceiling glass panorama views throughout the lodge. Amazing! The State of Indiana did it right on this lodge. The room? Our room was a top floor room w/balcony. So peaceful and lovely. The room was a five star as far as comfort and decor. The rooms are decorated in “lodge” type tones, beige and brown but not overdone. The only complaint is there were three table lamps I believe w/low voltage bulbs, and the shade was burlap/linen type which offered a warm ambiance, yes. But reading and for hubby to do his cross word puzzle? Not so much…but minor for all the other luxuries. The pool was small but very nice w/much seating and a plus was a glass “viewing” area w/comfy seating to enjoy the pool activity outside (and chlorine fumes), the pool area in a hallway. . Perfection. In the evening, while my family was at the pool, I enjoyed watching the twinkling lights of Madison from the bed nearest the balcony. It was magical. The bathroom was 5 star, updated, perfection. In the morning we enjoyed watching barges on the river. Fascinating. A word…yes, there are the smokestacks, you cannot mistake there is a presence. But geeze…most people should already know this. Deal w/it or select another venue. Our balcony had a privacy screen from the next door balcony. You could not see the smokestack unless you turned to the right to view. To my eye, the smokestack was majestic…just a reminder we still use coal for electricity. I actually Goggled to learn more about barges and the smokestacks. As for all of our “trip”, it rained all day but cleared up around 5. The sun peaked out and some families ventured out on the hillside overlooking the Ohio River to run off energy.. Absolutely lovely. In the evening it appeared there was a fire in a fire pit. I did not want to leave the next morning. We ate breakfast in the lodge. Perfection for our picky eaters…I am not a breakfast person, I ordered a basket of the “fried” biscuits (sugared biscuits). Oh my gosh, great w/coffee. Enough to share w/my family. Jaden” from Maryland (followed family to Indiana) was our server. Jaden was just the best…and just what we needed to begin another rainy, cold day. Sadly, we never actually saw the falls due to the rain….but the comfort and warmth of tie lodge, views of the Ohio River and the hillsides certainly made up for the spring rains. Actually, I could just stay in the lodge enjoying the views and comfort. So utterly peaceful…but it was early April, a Tuesday/Wednesday w/not a lot of activity. I am sure weekends and summer/fall it is not as peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Early spring/April, mid-week, so quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
What a great time you had, this is what we try to accomplish for all of our guest, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron Lawrence wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary at what we thought would be the perfect get away. We booked a two night stay at the Cliffy Park Inn, that we had visited years ago with our children. We picked a suite room over looking the river and that was probably the best part of the visit. We noticed the coffee stains on the dirty rug in front of the sofa, more coffee stains in the eating area rug. Some of the furniture in the main room and bed room looked like you would find in a second hand flee market. There was dark colored venetian blinds that where tore up and about two feet longer than the windows they covered. One window had separate upper and lower blinds. The lower blind had a glob laying on the floor where they were to long, with dust balls, the vacuum sweeper was not able to clean the carpet completely. The sad part was trying to take a shower. They have a fancy system in the shower that does not work. The shower head slides up and down a pipe to adjust the shower head height. It was broke, so the shower head came just below your neck, so washing your hair was very hard to do. The water was barley warm and the shower stall has no shelving for soap or shampoo to sit on. So you put everything on the shower floor that you need in the shower. I did take a shower and a foot bath at the same time, since the floor drain was slow draining. For a very expensive suite, we should have stayed at Motel 6 !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
I am so sorry your experience was not good, thank you for letting me know the issues that you had while you stayed, I hope you will give us another try, if you get in touch with me I will discount your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
redtruck b wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Front desk was awesome messed up our stay on my anniversary the booked 2 rooms for 1 night instead of 1 room for two nights . So we had to take the grey room which the whirlpool tube was broken was told that’s the room the take stuff from to fix other rooms . So then as we start to settle in the air conditioner did not work .we were suppose to stay in the park view suite from the start, so now as we have to pack all of our stuff up and move at 1030pm to another room with air conditioning it has 2 queen beds not a suite there again not the right room from the beginning now moved to a different room not what we we were told not a suite all in all I’m here 1 more night will let you know what the do to make this right it makes me so upset that it’s my anniversary and had all these problems in day one we did get a discount friends and family but it was not about the savings it was about the experience I know that they probably don’t care and will leave a basic response to this review but keep in mind I work hard for my money as I’m sure they do to but it really makes me sad that it’s a anniversary that was not all I planned for love the town . Front desk were nice and apologetic but all in all doesn’t change my experience will see what they do would be nice to stay in the suite i original had booked will see ! I will post more as we have another day to stay here so far not impressed at all
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
I am so sorry they did not take care of you when you left, please get in touch with me and I will take care of your next stay. Thanks for letting us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
onecindy wrote a review Jun 2021
Columbia City, Indiana28 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed over a weekend. Reserved Friday for a sat and sun stay. That being said , there wasn’t much to choose from. We received a room in the old building. Be warned this room smells. According to housekeeping all the rooms In the old bldg smell. It smelled old and musty. We paid 154 for sat and 130 for Sunday. At this rate the state should rip the carpet out and take care of this smell. I was told by others that the new bldg is like entering another world. Night and day. In Today’s standards we really expect better. We also received no housekeeping. I had to go look for more towels myself The hiking is great and the dining room had amazing food for reasonable rates. Beautiful views off the dining room. We will stay elsewhere next time. For the price, I just would expect a room that did not smell of mold and humidity and at least towels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book in the mew bldg or go elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Renie Stephens, General Manager at Clifty Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2022
I am so sorry about your stay, we have upgraded the rooms with new mattresses and linen I will check out the room for the smell, also after covid we do not enter any guest rooms so that is why there was not housekeeping service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vermona H wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My husband booked a suite. They are very cute with a balcony. When paying about $190. A night for a room I expect it to be clean. The toliet under the seat wasn’t clean. The toliet paper had a bunch of dust as did other things. The other thing that grossed me out was the drain in the shower hadn’t been clean out. & someone else’s hair was floating during my shower. The fitted sheet on my husbands side of the bed kept coming undone. Curtains at patio doors In both rooms were ripped or had holes in them. What’s up with that. No wonder the housekeeper half clean the place. Where’s the pride.. No toiletries in room. People at front desk said we had the best room? Staff friendly. Dining room clean. Staff very nice & food good. June 2021
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clifty hotel madison, clifty inn, clifty falls state park madison
LOCATION
United StatesIndianaMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLIFTY INN (Madison) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clifty Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Clifty Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lanier Mansion State Historic Site (2.9 km), Historic District (3.5 km), and Clifty Falls State Park (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clifty Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clifty Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clifty Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clifty Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clifty Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Pepperoni, Red Pepper Deli Cafe, and Hinkle's Sandwich Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clifty Inn?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Clifty Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clifty Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clifty Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lanier Mansion State Historic Site (2.9 km), Historic District (3.5 km), and Broadway Fountain (3.0 km).
Does Clifty Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.