We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Grizzly Jack\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,738: English reviews
Start your review of Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel had roaches and refuses to give a refund and admit issue Tried to get a refund an front desk denied ever was an issue They also tried to double bill me when I checked in claiming I never paid NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!! STAY FAR AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank y b
Coralville
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had not been to Grand Bear Resort in many years, but received an email from them that stated “spend your spring break with us, we have great rates”, So I checked it out and talked to some friends and thought it would be a great get away for spring break, plus a birthday. It was me, two girlfriends and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Keeley C
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for contacting us here at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort. Your input is very important to us as we strive to excel in customer service as our goal. In regards to your review we do take these concerns very seriously. On behalf of our entire staff I would like to apologize that you experienced issues during your phone...

Caledonia, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time. Our experience was a good one. Though the water was cool we found the hotel to be extremely clean the cleaning staff does a stellar job. We found the staff to be pleasant professional and helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant there it was terrific, well presented and reasonably priced $30 before tip for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Runonheart
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share kind words about our staff and resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and your comments will assist us in continuing to focus on making our guest experience the best it can be. We hope to host you again soon at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice little place close to home for use but it'd be nice if it were a little cleaner and the water wasn't freezing while we were there. There seemed to be a lot of kids running around way past 1 and 2 in the morning. It'd be great if the workers would monitor this so families could sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience while staying at our resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and your comments will assist us in continuing to focus on making our guest experience the best it can be. We hope to host you again soon at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the worse experience that one family could ever have. Pool area is disgusting, staff in the Wave never washed hands after cleaning then making new drinks and touching food. They left windows in pool area open to get proper ventilation. Chlorine smell is overwhelming, my kids got sick. The breakfast was ok if you like premade food, When...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rosestone44
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff I would like to apologize that you experienced issues during your stay with us. Our top priority is to provide superior customer service and I apologize that our team didn't accomplish this goal. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your experience, which assists us in continuously improving our guest...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Water park wasn't open. Food was horrible. Rooms are dated and disgusting. Tv was from 1993. There were 200 lb raccoons hovering outside our balcony. If I could leave a negative amount of stars I would

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shawn D
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important...

Springfield, IL
Reviewed 1 week ago

A little nervous to stay here after reading reviews but we really wanted to visit the area and hoped for the best. I'm so glad we read all the reviews, planned accordingly and went ahead with the trip. The best way to summarize this property is they are just not keeping up with regular maintenance and seem to be trying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2hotpugs
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay in our resort. We appreciate your feedback and will be looking into your advice to help improve our property. We are thrilled that you chose Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort during your recent stay in the Starved Rock area. We hope that we can host you and your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked on line at a discount, so i guess you get what you pay for, the day before checking in I found a calendar for the water park to find out that it was closed. The entire stay that we booked the park was going to be closed. So my husband and I said we would be ok make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really the only bad thing about my trip was that the water was ice cold due to maintenance the day before so that was just bad luck. The amusement park is not even open any more. Probably that alone would of made me not book if i would have known. Other that that my cabin was beautiful no complaints there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jblaze74
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay in our resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and your comments will assist us in continuing to focus on making our guest experience the best it can be. We hope to host you again soon at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort.

fun5
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When Grizzly Jacks was really new my husband and I took our 3 oldest kids there quite a few times. We even went with friends. We all loved the place. Recently we were looking for a quick getaway with our youngest child and saw this place on groupon. I had read reviews of it going downhill, but decided to give...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fun5
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff I would like to apologize that you experienced issues during your stay with us. Our top priority is to provide superior customer service and I apologize that our team didn't accomplish this goal. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your experience, which assists us in continuously improving our guest...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (294)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
7.5 km away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
6.0 km away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
6.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
16.2 km away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort offers skin-drenching fun all year long right in the beautiful setting of Starved Rock State Park. Located just 90 minutes from Chicago or the Quad Cities and an hour from Bloomington or Rockford, our 60 wooded acres offer all of nature's wonders, featuring 60,000 sq. ft. of Indoor Entertainment! This includes Grand Bear Falls Indoor Waterpark and Enchanted Forest Indoor Amusement Park, beautiful lodge accommodations, as well as our 1800 sq. ft. vacation villas and luxurious 2800 sq. ft. cabins. Enjoy a variety of dining options, including wraps, salads, hot sandwiches and made to order pizzas at Lumber Jacks Pizzeria and Sports Bar. During the summer months guests can enjoy a view of nature at our Bear Island Pavilion & Curtis Canyon Deck. Next to Bear Island enjoy our “Castle in the Woods” playground area and test your skills at our 18 hole Canyon Creek Miniature Golf Course, Laser Tag, Ropes Course and Zip Line (additional costs apply - open to the public). All lodge rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer and wi-fi internet access. Our Vacation Villas are a 2-story townhome with a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Our Log Cabins offer 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 3 fireplace, s and an oversized Great Room. Other resort amenities include the Cave Arcade with over 60 games, the Wave Cafe Snack Shop, the Honey Pot Sweet Shop & Grizzly Bean Gourmet Coffee Shop, the Moose Crossing Convenience Store and the Northwoods Niche Gift Shop. Our Grand Bear Conference Center includes over 8000 sq. ft. of meeting space, including 6000 sq. ft. of Grand Ballroom space to accommodate your larger functions such as weddings, family reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

Address: 2643 IL 178, Utica, IL 61373
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Price Range: ₹ 6,485 - ₹ 21,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizzly Jack`s Grand Bear Hotel Utica
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
College Station, Texas
Joliet, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor has terrible wifi signal”
 of 5 bubbles rosestone44, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I recommend the villas. Spacious with washer and dryer, full kitchen although does not get housekeeping.”
 of 5 bubbles 2hotpugs, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“to high for what you get not worth the value”
 of 5 bubbles N4098PFbrendam, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in a cabin if you have a larger group.”
 of 5 bubbles peacechyld2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Visit the place if you can before booking it.”
 of 5 bubbles Joles919, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5