We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We only went here because I signed up for the timeshare presentation thing and wanted to get my cash back. My intention was to try the Orlando resort but for several reason this did not happen during our Orlando trip and we HAD TO do this timeshare presentation by July. This place is straight in the middle of nowhere, a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea M
HIClubCounselor, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. Because of our beautiful woodland surroundings, many of our activities are geared toward the outdoors, such as 9-hole golf course, canoes, paddle boats, and horseback riding. Indoors, there's...

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

I decided to try to make the most of it after being suckered into one of those timeshare presentations. I just arrived and already really disappointed. There is no fitness center, no restaurants (unless you consider Subway a restaurant), nothing to do except small child friendly activities (like movies, putt-putt golf, and coloring). It looks like I will have to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karina M
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of fun things to do. We are a family-owned and family-friendly resort. That is part of our brand. However, we recognize that the grown-ups need to be entertained as well. Because of our...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. If help is needed, from where to find stamps or how to get to soldier field without getting lost, they went beyond what was expected. There is a water park and two pools on site. Very family friendly. Unfortunately not much to do nearby and no wifi in rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic time! Plenty to do at resort and close to Chicago. Didn't get bored once. I got great photos also. I loved the horses! Loved the mini golf and even closer to restaurants in neighboring suburbs. We had a kitchenette and the small store nearby was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn S
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your special birthday trip to Fox River Resort! It's always our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have lots of fun things to do. We hope to see you back again soon, whether for a birthday celebration, or just for fun! Thanks for sharing your comments.

Reviewed 23 February 2017

This property is just average( as far as the regular rooms go). Let me say, I grew up in the vicinity and know the area quite well. With that being said The campus has some nice amenities but is more for families with smaller kids. The waterpark changed the schedule as we were there with no warning! Only opening on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank relaxwithsun
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Fox River Resort. It's our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and have plenty of things to do. Whenever something isn't perfect with your unit, we want to know so that we can correct any problems right away. Because of our woodland surroundings, we are dedicated to...

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I understand that this property was recently acquired by Holiday Inn Resorts, and that there is an expected transition period. However, it appears that some of the focus on maintenance and cleanliness has been lost. I have stayed here before and have always put off doing a review, thinking that maybe they would improve; NOT! I stayed in the Presidentials,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank les w
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay at Fox River Resort. This certainly isn't the way we want our guests to experience our resort. We sent you a private message in hopes of addressing your concerns more personally. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Independence, Mossouri, USA
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I guess i would say ur stay was satisfactory. The front desk man DJ was awesome and a bright spot of our stay. He was very knowledgeable of this and the Chicago area. The accommodations were clean and orderly. They did lack attention to detail. Toilets not flushing right and constantly having to use a plunger. No hot water at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dpcopper
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

As a preferred member of the Holiday Inn Vacation Club, I have always been pleased with our units. Unfortunately, this cannot be said for our stay at the Fox River Resort. Upon our arrival, we noticed it was not a nicely cleaned unit. We had candy wrappers left on chairs, water marks left from glasses covered the coffee table, cigarette...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank ecweiler
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're so sorry to hear of the shortfalls you encountered at Fox River Resort. This just doesn't sound like us! It's always our goal to be sure our guests are comfortable and receive outstanding service. We sent you a private message in hope of addressing your concerns more personally. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We decided to spend a long Thanksgiving weekend at Fox River Resort. This was our first stay at this resort. The people at registration were very friendly and helpful and we were assigned to a third floor unit in building I. We were disappointed when we checked into the unit and found the refrigerator and microwave hadn't been cleaned, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DanTrips
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort, responded to this review

We're pleased you enjoyed the accommodations and friendly staff at Fox River Resort! It's always our goal to make sure our guests feel comfortable and have lots of fun things to do. Whenever something isn't perfect with your unit, we want to know so that we can correct any problems right away. Inspections are an important part of our housekeeping...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We had a condo use for a week and a base of travel in the area. We also went into Chicago which is about an hours travel each way. We had a enjoyable rest during a great adventure. There are several communities in the area and Aurora where you could test your gambling skills r catch to the train to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123456topman

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheridan
31.9 km away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
15.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
23.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites of Morris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
30.5 km away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
16.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax and Renew in Rolling Midwest Hills. The sprawling resort is located about an hour-and-a-half south of Chicago in the beautiful, rolling hills of Illinois. It features a wide range of outdoor activities for family fun. It starts with a stocked, seven-acre lake, ready for fishing. Or, rent a canoe or paddle boat and enjoy a relaxing cruise across its still waters. For swimming, we have an indoor and outdoor pool, plus the always fun year-round indoor Pirates Cay Indoor Water Park™. It features interactive water features, water slides, lazy river, food outlets and more. For sports, enjoy everything from basketball, tennis and volleyball to cross country skiing. And our 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course will help you get that swing back. Plus, the 18-hole mini golf course is a big hit with kids, as is the Activity Center with an arcade, mini movie theater and more. A playground, ball field and sports equipment and even horseback rides help round out your outdoor fun. Sheridan, IL is a rural location, making it a perfect place to get away and relax. Beautiful state parks, historic sites and golf courses are all nearby. Shopping, dining, movie theaters and other entertainment can also be found in the region. And, it's close enough to the greater Chicago area and downtown to experience a day of wonderful sites and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort

Address: 2558 N 3653rd Rd, Sheridan, IL 60551-9400
Region: United States > Illinois > Sheridan
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverleaf Fox River Hotel Sheridan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Club Vacations Fox River Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family amenities”
relaxwithsun, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all condos are convent to the family areas.”
123456topman, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a villa away from construction or remodeling”
563gracep, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want a condo/villa and want wifi, Building 22 is best for now”
weluvtravlin5, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want free Wifi, ask for building 22. Not sure about the others.”
mcgeka, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
HRS.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates