We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Chicago St. Charles

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (25)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 10 hotels in Saint Charles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
172Reviews2Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 79
  • 50
  • 30
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jessica A wrote a review Oct 2023
Geneva, Illinois1 contribution
First impression: yes, the property is slightly old and could use some updates. At the end of the day, a clean bed in a cool room more than makes up for it. The front desk staff was incredible; I remember Jessica the most because she gave me some fantastic recommendations for local restaurants! The maintenance was very helpful when I needed to figure out my TV and Carrie makes a fantastic old fashioned!! Housekeeping was every two days and they like to start early, especially as we saw many guests leave without physically checking out so they weren’t able to know who was still here. It’s always a pleasure!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Isuredotravelalot wrote a review Sept 2023
Atlanta, Georgia74 contributions34 helpful votes
First off the staff at the hotel were fine. Polite professional etc. what upset me was the fact that they have central controlled air conditioning that is set by the management and you can’t make any difference by changing the temp on the thermostat in your room. Unfortunately in 2023 if you want to charge me $150+ for a mediocre room, I better be able to control my ac! You don’t get to save money when I’m paying you for my room. I will NEVER stay here again if the need arises. Shameful!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Schalla, Owner at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Unfortunately, your statements about the thermostat controls are not accurate. The thermostats for all the rooms to control your temperature are on the wall and are not locked in any way. Our guests are free to change the desired temperatures at their free will. Please feel free to reach out to the hotel directly if you have any further questions. I also advise doing this before posting negatively about a property on social media regarding an issue of this nature. Thank you again for the feedback however misguided it might have been and I hope you were able to enjoy your stay otherwise.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jyss wrote a review Jan 2023
Saint Paul, Minnesota598 contributions123 helpful votes
Stayed here with our senior dog. The pet fee was reasonable. I am platinum and we had a large room on the top floor with a balcony. There was a small couch and lots of space. The hotel didn't seem very busy and was quiet. There was plenty of parking and there were places to walk the pup. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The elevator was a little rickety. It would shift when you entered the elevator. The pool was down but they reached out to let us know before end.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Schalla, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Responded 30 Jan 2023
Dear Jessica , On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with your feedback. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the entire team as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PF Hospitality wrote a review May 2022
Wichita, Kansas10 contributions
+1
The Courtyard in St. Charles is nestled in such a beautiful area. Plenty of parking and check-in was quick and easy. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The lobby was very clean and inviting, it is also very modern. There was a Starbucks inside the lobby as well. Our room was a double queen. The room was very clean and very well put together. The view out our window was of a beautiful courtyard with spring trees in bloom. There was a desk so I can take care of business, and the television had all streaming services available. The bathroom was clean and had all the amenities that should be there. There was a comfortable recliner and a comfortable chair at the desk as well. The property was quiet and the beds were comfortable, which made it easy to get a good nights sleep.There was a nice fitness center, and I was able to work out. The equipment was in good working order and clean. There was not Complementary breakfast, but there was breakfast available to be ordered through the Starbucks in the lobby. Overall I had a great experience at this hotel. I talked to Mark the GM and he was very nice and we were very grateful for the hospitality he extended to us. We felt safe and secure and I highly recommend this hotel. Thank you to all the staff and everyone that helped make it stay so pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Schalla, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Responded 6 May 2022
Hi PF! Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with this very detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the hotel met your needs enabling a fun and productive visit to the St. Charles area. I will pass your comments along to the rest of the team and again thank you for the feedback! We hope to welcome you back again! Take Care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael S wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice lobby and room. Be aware though! $19 for a glass of wine and a cranberry juice drink (no alcohol)! Friendly staff. That about sums it up but I need more characters to submit this review on this site.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Schalla, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Responded 2 May 2022
Hi Michael, First I want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback as it is very much appreciated. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us recently and I hope you had both a fun and productive visit to the St. Charles area. I do wan to apologize if you felt the pricing at our Bistro was above your expectations. I'm not sure what drinks exactly you ordered but the highest price for wine on our menu is $13.50 and for cocktails it is $11.00 We do have some higher end drinks available off the menu for our guests and I apologize if pricing was not discussed with you prior to placing your order. I will discuss your comments with out Bistro team to make sure standard policies and procedures are being followed. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to host you again in the future. Take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shellyc653 wrote a review Feb 2022
Morton Grove, Illinois329 contributions253 helpful votes
The room looked and felt very old. It looked like no work has been done on the room since the hotel was built. The bed was very uncomfortable. I woke up with neck and back pain. The TV was so small it might as well not have been there in the first place and there were issues with the remote. It was difficult to change channels. The mini-fridge was very small and old and did not keep food cold. One of my salads spoiled. It took forever for the water to get warm in the sink outside the bathroom. There is a useless balcony with no view as everything you see outside of the balcony is either a parking lot or dead trees. The floors in the room are uneven, especially the floor outside the bathroom - in the sink area. The light/vent in the bathroom is so loud I didn't even bother to turn it on after the first time. When I called the front desk to report these things no one answered. Any money put into this hotel went into the lobby and was not invested in the rooms. This was not a pleasant experience and I would not stay here again. I gave one extra star for the lobby because it was the best part of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Schalla, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Responded 11 Feb 2022
Hi Shelly, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that your experience at the hotel failed to meet your expectations. We will use your comments as a way improve the services and amenities provided for at our hotel. We were in the middle of completing several renovations when the pandemic arrived to the US. We finished public space renovations in March of 2022. Exterior of the building, courtyard, and rooms were due to be completed in early 2021. Unfortunately due to the pandemic and the financial duress that the owners incurred those plans were unable to be completed. I will spare you the details of the present ownership status but until those matters are resolved any further renovations will be delayed unfortunately. I appreciate your understanding of the role the pandemic played not only in our country but more specifically in the hospitality and service sectors. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time in our lobby and Bistro however and I hope the service you received from our team was warm and welcoming. Take Care, Thanks again for your feedback we hope to have the opportunity to re-earn your trust in terms of lodging choices in the St. Charles area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ValGary2014 wrote a review Oct 2021
Clayton, North Carolina1051 contributions245 helpful votes
We stayed two nights with family for a funeral. The public areas are very nice and well arranged. However, the room was a big disappointment. Worst we have ever had in a Courtyard. The room was very dated. Needed a big overhaul. The bath tub porcelain was worn off. The shower head was rusted and very disgusting. The floor edge was dirty. The sink area is much too small for two people. I can not recommend this unit and would discourage staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sherry H wrote a review Oct 2021
Madison, Ohio168 contributions68 helpful votes
Stayed 5 nights and was very comfortable. On arrival the hotel appeared to be clean. Desk staff was very welcoming. Our room was very clean. The tub surface was pealing and the calking was a brownish yellow. This gave the tub an awful dirty appearance. I bought my own cleaning items (I’ve done this for years. Its just the way I am) and did my own clean and discovered that the tub was in fact, clean. It doesn’t look that way and someone should resurface and re caulk the tub. Towels are not soft at all! The tap water doesn’t taste good. We went out and bought water. I got ice from the ice machine and when you hit the button to dispense there was a rotten egg smell. It was very nasty I’ve never stayed in a hotel where the cleaning staff were not friendly. The house keeping I encountered would not make eye contact and would look away or down. After a couple of days it dawned on me that the only time housekeeping wore a mask was when they were in the lobby. They looked away to hid their maskless faces. On Thursday the 7th there was a maskless mgr behind the desk without a mask. At checkout at 4am on the 8th the desk clerk had no mask. Doesn’t matter if one thinks masks work or don’t, should or shouldn’t be worn, but if you put signs up stating “masks are required “ on your entrance doors, the employees need to wear them also.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t drink the tap water or put ice in your beverages
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Schalla, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Hi Sherry, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am so sorry that you encountered the problems that you did during your time with us. We are in the process of re-surfacing our bathtubs and I do understand your frustration with the condition of the tub in your room. I am glad that you shared the feedback regarding the masks as this is a very important policy that we have in place here and it was very disheartening to learn about your observations with some of the staff. I will be using your feedback to re-fresh my team in regards to the importance of wearing their masks while at work. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if there is anything further I can do for you. Again, I truly apologize that we fell short of your expectations on this visit and hope if the need arises that you give us the change to re-earn your trust. Take Care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen E wrote a review Jul 2021
16 contributions4 helpful votes
Had to change rooms after the first night because the noise from the people above us was so terrible we had little to no sleep. The rooms were very clean and nice. Typical courtyard. But the room was equipped with 2 small styrofoam cups for the tiny coffee maker. No cups for water. Had to rinse out the cup. The coffee maker only made half a cup at best. I get reduced amenities but really, can't provide 2 cups per person??? Lobby was very clean and inviting. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not the best courtyard I ever stayed in but not the worst either.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JanetWoo wrote a review Jun 2021
Hobart, Indiana107 contributions39 helpful votes
We were staying for one night because our son was in an event nearby the next day, so we didn't arrive until after 5 p.m. However, the room we had reserved wasn't ready. I was surprised, but no big. So we went out to eat first with our luggage in the car, as opposed to being able to stow it away and change. My husband had booked a jacuzzi tub for us, because he knows how much I like tubs. However, when I tried to fill the tub the next morning, it was hard to tell which faucet was hot and which cold, so it took a while. There was NO SPIGOT, just the ability to turn the two knobs and then the fresh water came out of the jets. Odd, but not impossible to work with. What was impossible to work with, was that the water never got hot. Maybe this was because we were trying in the morning, when everyone was showering, but I'm not sure what the reason. I used the dial on the wall for the time, then turned on the jets, thinking that would make the water less luke warm, but that didn't help either. So I tried sitting in a luke warm tub for a few minutes and decided it just wasn't worth it. Not comfy. Then it took the next 2 hours (before we left for the event at 11) for the tub to drain, and it wasn't even done by the time we left at 10:30. ANNOYING. On top of that, I had to shove a chair under the front doorknob overnight (we were on the ground floor near the lobby - Room 104) because the deadbolt didn't work. All in all, very disappointing. The only saving grace was that the room usually goes for like $700, and we only paid $161. Would never stay at again, no matter what the price! The only highlight was the man who checked us in, who texted us at the restaurant when our room was ready. He was very friendly and helpful, but it didn't make up for all the other negatives.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay in 104! And check tub and locks before unpacking in any room...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Charles area.
PRICE RANGE
₹7,846 - ₹12,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott chicago st. charles hotel saint charles, courtyard saint charles, saint charles courtyard, saint charles marriott
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisSaint Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD CHICAGO ST. CHARLES (Saint Charles) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Nearby attractions include Ross Dress for Less (0.8 km), Classic Cinemas Charlestowne 18 Theatre (1.0 km), and T.J.Maxx (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Conveniently located restaurants include St Charles Place, Colonial Cafe, and Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant- St Charles.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Chicago St. Charles offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Chicago St. Charles?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fabyan Villa Museum & Japanese Garden (6.9 km), St. Charles History Museum and The Curious Fox Gift (2.8 km), and Pioneer Sholes Historic Site (5.6 km).