We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
155 38th Avenue, Saint Charles, IL 60174-5419
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$123
HIExpress.com$123
Travelocity$123
Expedia.com$123
FindHotel$123
Hurb$126
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 10 hotels in Saint Charles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Chicago West here in beautiful St. Charles, Illinois. The hotel offers the new Formula Blue Smart Travel Design and will feature an appealing combination of fresh, dynamic, and focused design features that enable an efficient and engaging environment, creating a distinctive style that is evident at every touch point of the Holiday Inn Express® brand experience. Located 40 miles west of Chicago, St. Charles is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. St. Charles, IL offers many different activities from miles of bike trails along the scenic Fox River, to the historic Arcada theatre where many notable musicians and actors have performed over the years. Chicago Premium Outlet mall offers an excellent shopping destination as well as our local restaurants for a great dining experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Convenience store
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
187Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 44
  • 33
  • 26
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Biggydsb wrote a review Jan 2022
Lansing, Michigan5 contributions4 helpful votes
I was very disappointed in the desk clerk. I am Spire Elite with IHG. When I asked for an upgrade with a room with a sofa I was told they were sold out so no upgrade. It is now 11 pm and they are still trying to sell the upgrade rooms on the websites. Next time I the area I will stay somewhere else. I chalk this up to lazyness.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hello Biggydsb, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience with the accommodation. I'm sorry that you felt we came up short in making you feel our warm hospitality because of the staff service. I know that this can be upsetting especially when your trip was supposed to be a relaxing one. I have shared your comments to our hotel management to address this immediately and I am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. Despite some of the services not meeting your expectations, I hope you choose IHG still on your future travels. Sincerely, Jenilyn J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan wrote a review Nov 2021
Chetek, Wisconsin1 contribution
I was double charged when I booked with points and after 4 days of trying to get ahold of them they refused to take my calls or call me back. Manager at this hotel needs to be fired. Stay anywhere else and save a headache
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Linda L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at this property the night of October 23, 2021. We booked because it was close to the Arcada Theatre. The morning of our stay I received a text from my American Express card indicating that a charge under the name of Country Inn & Suites had been made to our account. A call to the hotel direct proved most unsatisfactory. After speaking with four people, someone at the front desk, who indicated that she had not been employed there very long, told me that the hotel used to be owned by Country Inn and that "they" were having difficulty switching over to the proper name of Holiday Inn & Suites with their Internet provider. She did not know how long the property had been owned by the new company. Seriously?? When we arrived at the hotel after 3:00, the front desk reception was luke warm at best. Our room at first appeared clean. A closer look revealed spots on the wall around the toilet, yellowed towels, a dirty floor and a bathtub that was experiencing some kind of peeling in the finish. The room also gave off an odor like some kind of smell was underlying, perhaps from smoking. We grudgingly stayed, because we were being picked up at 5:00 for a dinner reservation at St. Charles Place to ensure a timely arrival for our concert at 8:00. The restaurant was excellent, btw. It we had had more time, we would have left. The heating/cooling system worked poorly. We were either hot or cold. We checked out at around 7:00 the next morning without showering. Yuk! We will never stay at this property again--and probably will never stay at another Holiday Inn. (I see in the heading above that this property was indeed formerly owned by Country Inn & Suites. Since I booked our stay directly with the hotel, I was unaware of this. Lesson learned, Tripadvisor! ) Bottom line: look elswhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GENERAL MANAGER, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We are working on training our staff and hire more front desk agents and housecleaning help. I am sorry that you weren't 100% happy with your stay. Please give us another chance! Thank you and have a great day,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly P wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
WE booked this Hotel thinking it was an Elite Hotel and looked very promising, we choose this Hotel due to being very close to my job. I have stayed at many Hotels in past years. This was the worst experience I had ever experienced, we checked in on 10/22. We get into the room 133 and we have a handicap room perfect since my husband is handicap. WE get into the room stained rug and the curtain outlet isn't working correctly took 15 minutes to finally put it up and than another 15 minutes to put down and it was very frustrating. The towels were soiled and dirt on them. The bench was dirty so husband couldn't shower. This is not end of my frustration we had someone trying to get in our room around 12:30am and no one saying anything and they kept trying to open the door. WE felt that someone was trying to break in our room. No one had said they were from the front desk. They asked who we are you and my husband got up and headed to front desk. Very unprofessional how they handled this. I have worked in the Hotel business for 10 years and this is not how you should handle this situation. The night time clerk was very pleasant and very apologetic and morning shift. I will not stay at this HOTEL ever again worst experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay at this HOTEL
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GENERAL MANAGER, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We are working on full staff at the hotel, including cleaning crew. I hope that you can give us another chance. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nanc f wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Stayed in the HOTEL FROM HELL this past weekend at Holiday Inn and Suites in St. Charles, IL. It was FILTHY! Screaming in the middle of the night to the point the police should have been called but the hotel in an effort to save money would not. Just allow the patrons to hear the screams and hysterical people melting down in the hallway outside the patrons doors allowing patrons to be in danger. NO CLEAN TOWELS. My husband went and got towels the first day upon check and then the next day we came back to no maid service and dirt remained. And for this lovely service I paid 438.00! I went on Priceline to give a review so others do not get the same horrible and dirty hotel only to find the Priceline reviews are simply "made up" by Priceline. They would not even allow me to review the hotel. They want to keep selling this horrible property to unsuspecting guests. I have been using Priceline for a long time but if this is what their "customer care" service is then no thank you. I thought the reviews were honest only to find they are not even real. And the best part the "customer care" associate after not allowing me to review the hotel DISCONNECTED the chat. Talk about crappy service. Well actually NO SERVICE.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GENERAL MANAGER, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Oct 2021
We truly regret to read of your experiences and I hope that you know this was an anomaly which had fallen far from the high standards of service & cleanliness described by our many other guest reviews. However, we had admittedly dropped the ball here and you can trust that your review has already been shared with our team as a training opportunity to prevent such lapses in service from occurring in the future. We do want to make this right and have already issued a partial refund from your visit. Additionally, we are confident that given the opportunity, we can not only meet but exceed your expectations should you visit us again. We would happily extend a special manager's rate and complimentary suite upgrade as your continued feedback would be a great indicator as to how well we've addressed our guests' concerns. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at (630) 987-4200 to make any arrangements or if you simply wish to discuss your previous visit in greater detail. Once again, thank you for writing and for being our valued guest. We hope to see you again soon, but until then, wish you safe travels. Warmest regards, Tim General Manager Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West – St. Charles (630) 987-4200
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia M wrote a review Feb 2021
Apple Valley, Minnesota6 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked 2 rooms this past weekend and they were alright. I could tell that the hotel like all right now (including my own that I work at) are struggling to stay afloat with the skeleton crews due to covid and things were missed. But seriously Alex made up for that!! He was probably the best customer service agent I have ever met. If I could I would have hired him on the spot myself! He needs a raise and a promotion!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liz wrote a review Nov 2020
Dayton, Ohio65 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel itself is very nice. It was clean, well kept, and employees seem to be following Covid protocols. They offer bagged breakfast in the morning in lieu of a breakfast area. There is an ice machine and vending machines as well. My one complaint, is that I added an extra night on to my stay, and the hotel charged me an extra $20 as a late check-out. They were actually going to make me leave the hotel with all of my belongings, and come back to check back in four hours later. As I was traveling, and had nowhere else to go, I begrudgingly paid the fee. I have stayed at many places and added on additional nights, and I've never been through the mess that this place put me through. The handling of that alone was very upsetting and was very unprofessional!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Caruso, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello LizTravels0905, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Chicago West - St Charles, IL. On behalf of the hotel, I'm sorry we fell below your expectation of an extra $20 charge for staying the day. We will address this concern. I have shared your comment to the hotel's management and ownership for review and service improvement. I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Yours in Hospitality, Darlene Caruso Director of Sales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam D wrote a review Sep 2020
Kent, Ohio1 contribution
We can into town to visit st Charles and the new wahlburgers that opened up. The staff at this hotel was super sweet. Our room was nice and spacious. The bed was so comfortable! We will for sure stay here again when we come back into town. We were planning on staying in Chicago our last night but decided to stay here again because we loved it so much!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darlene Caruso, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello 269pamd, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon! Yours in hospitality, Darlene Caruso Director of Sales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick D wrote a review Apr 2020
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin94 contributions28 helpful votes
Front desk staff were fantastic! Both checking in and checking out. Room was spacious and very clean. Miss not having a good breakfast but I guess that's what is happening all around. Next trip through I'll be staying here again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
James F wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions6 helpful votes
I had gotten surgery and needed a place to stay overnight. This hotel and it's staff where incredibly helpful as well as accommodating. Especially Kevin in the morning as part of the breakfast staff and Olna at the front desk . I was on crutches and Kevin brought me a really nice plate of food as well as helped clean up. Olna at the front desk helped get me up to my room as well as brought me a welcome bag with water and food that were much needed as I had no car and was not mobile. Thank you Kevin and Olna!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor as far away from the elevators as possible to minimize hall foot traffic.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn & suites by carlson, st. charles hotel saint charles, country inn and suites by carlson, st. charles, country inn saint charles, saint charles country inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisSaint Charles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include iPanic Escape Room (0.5 km), XD Adventures 9D Interactive Ride (0.5 km), and Classic Cinemas Charlestowne 18 Theatre (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Portillo's Hot Dogs, St Charles Place, and Vinothai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Charles History Museum and The Curious Fox Gift (3.5 km), Central Geneva Historic District (5.0 km), and Camp Kane (4.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.