We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Nebraska
Reviewed 21 March 2016

As soon as we turned off the exit onto the street, we felt nervous. The area was really dark, desolate, hardly no street lights. Neighborhood looked kind of 'iffy'. Building next door was all closed up and a motel on the other side looked ???also. HJ entrance was not real inviting. Windows were extremely ?? and lobby looked to need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjecaa
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Sorry for your stay, hope we can see youf again under better standards.

North Liberty, Iowa
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Just a seven hour snooze before hopping a plane for vacation. Fridge was dirty, microwave didn't work, and batteries in remote were dead. Floor in front of fridge was wet also. On the other hand, desk help was very pleasant.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 818alm
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was terrible, hope you have you give us another try in the future.

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66fredericr
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We stayed one night, as we were leaving early the next morning on a trip. The location is very close to the airport, which is the reason we chose this location. Everything was acceptable and accommodations very well priced! No microwave or refrigerator in the room, but for the price, not a bad deal. If your looking for the "Hilton"...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 68shellieb
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thanks for your business, we really appreciate it. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you, and look forward to hosting you again.

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 February 2016

With friends, we spent the night here to be close to the airport. With the airport only minutes away the location is great. This place isn't the newest or fanciest place, but we were happy with our huge rooms. The room had a microwave, a fridge, coffee pot & nice TV. Desk staff were pleasant and directed us to a...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kleamiller
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us, glad you stayed and enjoyed it, thank you and please come again.

Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Not fancy, but clean & very nice personnel. Inexpensive and if you are going to Rockford airport, it is very convenient since as soon as you turn out of motel driveway, you are on road to airport. Continental breakfast in included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris54481
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, glad you were happy, hope to see you again.

Portage
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had 8 rooms recently the night before our scheduled flight to Puerto Vallarta which ended up being delayed 9 hours! Although the outside of the hotel is not impressive and needs quite a bit of sprucing up, the rooms we had were clean and comfortable at a very reasonable rate. After learning about the flight delay, we went back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarncePortage
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Glad your group had a good stay with us, hope to seeing you again.

Sutton, West Virginia
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

This place is pretty awesome. Indoor pool. Pool tables. Free breakfast and a restaurant next door. Tons of stuff to do nearby, as well. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, and excellent service for a good price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigwave5683
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Glad your stay was a great one, hope to see you again.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I stayed in this hotel and nearly left to go sleep at a rest stop... However, the security tips left by the hotel told me not to go outside after dark. I failed to read any reviews on this place before I booked it since I was staying for free. Everything was disgusting in the room and it appears they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kremel123
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad stay with us, hope you will try us again in the future.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 17 December 2015

If worrying that your organs will be harvested is your idea of a great time, this is the hotel for you! Once I got in my room, I didn't dare leave it, i was afraid I'd get stabbed walking around outside after dark. Additionally, the faucet in the bathtub was constantly leaking, and looked like it had been for a...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank longbob2015
tatelis, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry your stay wasn't a pleasant one. Hope to seeing you in the future.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
10.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Red Roof Inn Rockford
#6 of 25 in Rockford
316 reviews
6.7 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#13 of 25 in Rockford
170 reviews
11.3 km away
Days Inn Rockford
Days Inn Rockford
#14 of 25 in Rockford
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
10.8 km away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
594 reviews
10.5 km away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now under new management! Our hotel includes Complimentary in-room WIFI, large heated resort style indoor pool, dry rock sauna, fitness center, Guest Laundry & 24-hour game room with pool table. Smoking rooms are no longer available. We have free, fresh healthy continental breakfast. This Howard Johnson is conveniently located one mile from Rockford Airport and right off Highways 20 and 251. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL

Address: 3909 11th St, Rockford, IL 61109-3022
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Price Range: ₹ 3,345 - ₹ 4,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rockford Hotel Rockford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Rockford IL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the second floor rooms have balconies with nice patio furniture”
 of 5 bubbles lys2016607, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper rooms seem better as lower floor rooms have sliding doors that seem to need repair.”
 of 5 bubbles SenseIntoDollars, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Be sure you have a room fairly close to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles jarncePortage, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose one in a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles kellyj434, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“I asked for a non smoking room and just stepped outside. My last stay in a smoking room even choked me out. Don't forget to put the security bar back in place on the sliding door.”
 of 5 bubbles reallyitsjohn, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay