We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BASA, The B.A.B.L.I. Guest House

Save
Share
Village & Po Dwaranda, Ilam Bazar 731236 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
B A S A, or "BABLI SHANTI ALAYA", is the Guest-House within B.A.B.L.I [Bureau for Agro-Based/ Linked Industries].BABLI is a rural-action project in interior Birbhum, near Shantiniketan (13 Kms), under the jurisdiction of Illambazar Police Station, in West Bengal, India.We also have a GUEST-HOUSE - where like-minded people, who want to spend a few days in a rural setting, away from the din of city life, can rent cottages of various types and tariffs.However, we are NOT a 'resort'/'eco-tourism centre' - the whole project is LITERALLY wild and UN-MANICURED. At the project, we explore various unconventional farming methods, aimed at rejuvenating the agriculture of the region and countering the process of rapid urbanisation by trying to support the rural culture and livelihood. Our work also aims at rejuvenating the fast-depleting forest cover of the adjoining areas, and conserving the threatened flora and fauna of the region.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
28Reviews3Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 8
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Debashis M wrote a review Jan 2020
Kolkata, India40 contributions43 helpful votes
Stay in Babli if you are fine with carrying buckets of hot water to your bathroom, staying in a room with cheap curtains and furnishings, sleeping on a hard bed with a brick-hard pillow and have zero expectations of any kind of service. I wish congratulate the management of Babli for their fantastic business model. They have reduced their expenses to bare bones by hiring negligible staff, providing minimal services, using the cheapest of furniture / fittings / furnishings, making the guests print their own receipts, no reception desk, no gatekeeper, etc, etc, but their tariff is comparable to the other more modern and comfortable resorts in the vicinity. And the master-stroke of Babli's business model is their slogan that "We are not a resort". IMHO, their slogan is a very clever all-encompassing excuse for not providing basic comforts and services and taking away the right of guests to complain about anything by retorting "Didn't I warn you before that it is not a resort"!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TravelUntilYouDie wrote a review Jan 2020
Kolkata, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
I chose BABLI based on feedback given by one of my colleagues. I was traveling with my 4 years old kid and 69 years old mother. I was over conscious while selecting the stay because of them. But unfortunately it did come out so. We were given a room which was the coldest and damped one. It was 29th of December and the temperature also was around 8- 9 degree c. We were almost frozen and did not make ourselves coming out of the blanket to have dinner. Later when I informed this to the manager he told due to year end rush they assign us that room !!! knowing that I have an old person and a kid ( may be stay was for 1 day? ). Now my suggestion to other travellers is that do not pick up the resort if you have kids with you and you are traveling in winter, as they have very basic amenities, you will not get hot water or room heater. Atleast avoid room(probably). They do not work professionally well when there is full crowd as it was mostly managed by local people. There was a communication gap for which we were delayed by 2 hours in getting breakfast. Finally I felt the stay cost and food are overrated. They charged 300 rs for extra person but did not provide mattress or pillow. We ordered boiled potatos for 5 of us with rice in breakfast and it was charged around 300 considering a side dish. These are few examples. Actually none of above mattered if we got a better airy warm room to stay or they compensate the dissatisfaction of us in any other way ( may be discounts somewhere). Good thing is that u feel close to nature , the dining hall is nice, food was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Pankaj A wrote a review Oct 2019
Kolkata, India37 contributions5 helpful votes
If you want to soak in nature and savor village life with sylvan surrounding, Babli – a wilderness farm- near Santiniketan is a perfect tourist destination. This is not a resort, though. Food is not expensive and members of the staff are hospitable. Rooms are neat. However, room service is not available. I appreciate the management’s strict adherence to discipline and cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
margaretsart wrote a review Aug 2019
Orinda, California6 contributions
+1
I spent 4 weeks in Kolkata working non stop. I was of need of a break! A dear friend suggested I visit B.A.B.L.I. I was met with warmth and kindness and spent three wonderful nights in the quiet. It was heaven!!! The staff were very loving and caring. The cook was AMAZING! I ate the best Bengali Food I had ever eaten! This place became my, Home Away from Home within three days!! I have traveled the world, solo and with family. I was solo this trip and never once felt alone(which was a lovely thing for me!) My room was perfect! Clean, big and beautiful in an authentic way. The surroundings lend themselves to reading under a tree, drawing a sleeping dog or a plante, meditating to the sounds of nature. If you are looking for a quiet place to demcompress from city sounds and smells, this is your place. AND the food was DELICIOUS!!! I Highly recommend this establishment to those looking for a quiet, lovely escape. Good for families, travelers, artists, and those seeking an authentic expereince.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I would ask for one of the bungalows. They were roomy and lovely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Resort326222 wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
we've visited last week of dec'18 BABLI. Rooms interior is good , but ambience was not good ...the behaviour of the Manager Was very rude and sometimes he used very harsh language and that is not at all tolerable .... By the way... drinks allowed inside the premises!! although notice board is saying otherwise. Plus, he demanded two times rental car fare from us because we had lunch in 'BANALAKHMI ', a famous Bengali Cuisine Place, and that's why he was not ready to rent us a car, on our way back, leaving us utterly helpless.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BABLI-FARM, Owner at BASA, The B.A.B.L.I. Guest House
Responded 9 Aug 2019
Our website clearly shows (repeated numerous times) that we are NOT A 'RESORT"... Visitors who come with a 'tourist mindset' tend to find a lot of things to be different from their expectation - because, our Farmstay/ Guesthouse is really meant for TRAVELLERS, who leave all their 'baggage' at home! Anyway, it is always an unpleasant experience, for both parties, when there is such a mismatch of expectations! We are sorry that your stay wasn't a pleasant one. However, your comment calls for a number of CLARIFICATIONS :- 1) "By the way... drinks allowed inside the premises!! although notice board is saying otherwise" Yes, drinks are allowed within the premises - but they are to be consumed RESPONSIBLY, within the private rooms where visitors are staying - NO, none of our notice boards say that drinks are not allowed - they inform visitors that drinks are not allowed in the COMMON AREAS of the project. 2) "Plus, he demanded two times rental car fare from us because we had lunch in 'BANALAKHMI '" No, we did not 'demand' any such thing - YOU were unclear about the car-hiring system for 'Local Trips' (which is what you had availed) - And you wanted to go back and forth between Shantiniketan and Daronda (our village, where Banalakshmi is also located) TWICE, since you wanted to come all the way back (13 kms) from the city to the village for lunch - and then go back AGAIN to the city. In any case, the hired-cars are only ARRANGED by us - for YOUR convenience - and they are provided by EXTERNAL providers, based on THEIR terms, which are CLEARLY mentioned on our website. Also, Banalakshmi is a very good FRIEND of ours - their restaurant was started with help from our founding Partner - and our project was started with intimate help and support from their organisation! So, the question of our 'harassing' you because you had lunch at Banalakshmi is TOTALLY ABSURD!
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalBardhaman DistrictIlam Bazar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about BASA, The B.A.B.L.I. Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to BASA, The B.A.B.L.I. Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Amar Kutir (7.2 km), Ballavpur Wildlife Sanctuary (7.4 km), and Shonibarer Haat (7.2 km).
What food & drink options are available at BASA, The B.A.B.L.I. Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to BASA, The B.A.B.L.I. Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bonolakshmi, Kharimati Resort, and Barishaler Ranna Ghar.