We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
605 Iowa St, Oak Park, IL 60302-1649
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (7)

About

#2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1916 in the Georgian revival style, Bishops Hall derives its name from serving as the residence for the metropolitan bishop of the Orthodox Church for several decades. Located in the historical district of Oak Park, the home is a contemporary to and set amongst the most significant concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright commissioned homes, including Wright’s own home and studio. The public rooms and guest rooms are all furnished in the gracious Georgian style. The terrace and par tiered gardens complement its architectural style. The three en-suite guest rooms are comfortable and quiet. Two include additional seating and dressing areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Walking tours
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Steam room
Wifi
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
82Reviews3Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
sheila D wrote a review Jun 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri10 contributions3 helpful votes
Peter and Nora made us feel safe and comfortable in these unusual times. The room was sanitized and they had contactless procedures in place. We had two delicious breakfasts that helped us start they day. The room was welcoming and comfortable. Great place for our first trip in this new world. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christine wrote a review Apr 2020
Lincoln, Nebraska1 contribution
This was a second stay at Bishops Hall. Peter and Nora are the perfect hosts able to accommodate food sensitivities and still provide an amazing breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, private and quiet. Our every need was anticipated and taken care of regularly. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cynthia P wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
I recently had the pleasure of having my studio piano recital at Bishops Hall. The music room has a fine baby grand piano. My families loved the mansion, and I think my students played better under the chandeliers! Peter and Nora were so helpful. We just gave them the food and beverages, and after the recital we walked to the reception room and were dazzled by the elegant reception. The next day I received many complimentary emails. From one of my student’s parents, “Listening to the music in such beautiful surroundings transported me to a different place. ” Cynthia Papierniak, piano teacher in Oak Park
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura H-R wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Bishops Hall is a magnificent bed and breakfast with friendly and amazing hosts. Peter and Nora's food is delicious and their attentiveness to guests is bar none. We will absolutely be heading back again to stay at Bishops Hall!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cdelavictoria89 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I stayed for NYE and had a lovely time. We were allowed to check-in ASAP and their response to our requests were immediate. Even though we were told they were having a small party downstairs, we were not worried at all since we knew Peter and Nora were respectful and kind hosts (we barely heard any noise). Their attention to detail is phenomenal. We are lucky to be able spend some time (we joined their party for a few minutes) to get to know them and their friends. I definitely will be back to stay and hopefully be able to host an event with family and friends (their party was great and put together). Thank you, Peter and Nora!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nora B, Manager at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Thank you! We loved having you and your beau here for NYE! I was thrilled that you were able to join us at the party. Please let us know when you'd like to come back! Happy 2020!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goldengirlfee wrote a review Dec 2019
Oak Park, Illinois12 contributions2 helpful votes
We had my husbands company Christmas party there this year and it was not a good experience. Having been there before, under different ownership I loved the place but it has slipped considerably. The bartender ran out of the signature cocktail we asked for by about 30 minutes after the party started & even then, getting any kind of drink was a long wait and we were only a group of 35. The food, though tasty, was lukewarm at best, wine glasses were not refilled hardly at all and the bartender disappeared after dinner: in fact I finally went outside where the liquor was being kept( which we paid for & brought in) & grabbed a few bottles for the tables. The music was barely audible despite requests to turn it up and was a very average quality at that. Despite not being advised of the party length we were basically asked to leave about a half hour after dinner ended. It is a beautiful place and I’m hopeful the bed & breakfast is run differently because it was one of the most unprofessionally run events I have ever seen & it wasn’t cheap. Will not come here again- the owners were also a bit rude. A very disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nora B, Manager at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 Dec 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you were not pleased with your experience. We always strive for the highest degree of service for our guests. Please accept our apology. We like to learn from our mistakes. We know we didn't get the bottles of wine to the table fast enough. As soon as you mentioned the audio, we increased the volume. (We have the same sound system as last time, so we aren't sure what was different for you.) To clarify, we worked closely with your team to plan the event. Per the agreement, the party was to end at 10pm. We did have guests in the rooms above that evening, and in fairness to them, 10pm seemed a reasonable time. Per our agreement, the bar closed once dinner was served. Dinner ended at 8:30 pm and the last guest departed at 11:15. We had already discounted your event by 50% because this was our first large party under new ownership. We are truly sorry you weren't happy. We've reached out to your husband's company to discuss what we can do to retain your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terrence wrote a review Nov 2019
Springfield, Ohio164 contributions43 helpful votes
Peter and Nora were excellent hosts as we thoroughly enjoyed everything about the accommodations, breakfast, and hospitality. A return visit is certain, as everything about Bishops Hall was exceptional and reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveler5432 wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
Luxurious accommodations in a beautiful large and spacious home. Just what I needed after a long day on a business trip. Breakfast was wonderful as was the company of Nora and Peter who were such thoughtful hosts. I will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SteveS S wrote a review Nov 2019
Canterbury, United Kingdom28 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed at this wonderful home for our long anticipated visit to Oak Park and the Frank Lloyd Wright buildings. This had been on our “bucket list” for years and not only did the houses and Unity Temple not disappoint but Nora and Peter made the visit even more memorable with their attention to detail during our stay. The Tartan Room was excellent and breakfasts were scrumptious. Their recommendations for places to eat for lunch and dinner were spot on. Bishops Hall is extremely well placed not only for walking the neighbourhood and to the Wright buildings but also for the L train into the city. We cannot recommend it too highly as “the” place to stay in Oak Park.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrea F. wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
My husband and I had heard wonderful things about Bishop’s Hall and decided to stay there on our last trip to Oak Park. We’re so happy we did! Our hosts, Nora and Peter Bouchard, made us feel incredibly welcome from the minute we arrived. The little touches throughout the entire home were delightful, and our room was appointed with everything we needed....and more! Nora and Peter shared their knowledge of the home’s history, and encouraged us to explore all of the public spaces throughout the Hall. They also took into account our dietary needs, and served a delectable breakfast each morning we were there. We would highly recommend Bishop’s Hall to anyone looking for a warm and inviting, yet elegant, atmosphere!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nora B, Manager at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast
Responded 28 Oct 2019
It was lovely having you! Please visit us again when you head out this way!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisOak Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 km), Wright Plus Architectural Housewalk (0.9 km), and Frank Lloyd Wright's Unity Temple (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maya Del Sol, Hemmingway's Bistro, and Il Vicolo Trattoria.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Bishops Hall Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (6.1 km), Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 km), and Wright Plus Architectural Housewalk (0.9 km).