We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

HIExpress.comUS$ 105*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 105*
US$ 105*
US$ 105*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Ladue, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 8 October 2015

My wife and I stopped here for the weekend while doing some scuba diving nearby at Mermet Springs Quarry. Our room was clean, comfy, and ready to go when we arrived. The staff was friendly and we checked in and out with ease. The breakfast (included) is pretty good and any empty selections on the buffet were filled quickly. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Peter J, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Vic

Metropolis, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Platinum Member This hotel has two good this going for it. 1 Nice people that work here. 2. The house keepers do a nice job of cleaning. The problems I experienced after I checked were 1. I went to get into the elevator and all the light builds were burnt out, it was pitch black!!! The next morning I walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b c
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear b c, Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your recent experience here with us in Metropolis, IL. We also appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite member. While we are most glad that you found our staff to be nice, and the rooms to be clean, I apologize sincerely for the elevator problem,...

Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Don't stay here unless you have no other option! We just stopped in for a quick overnight while on the road but like others have said, the staff seemed put out. The hotel was full and couldn't get us a larger room so they said they'd get us a roll away bed. They were under staffed. There was a shift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missy K
Vic M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Missy K, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay fell way below expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better...

Sun City Center, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We arrived at 1:00am. Front desk lady provide very efficient check-in service and friendly, big smile, and helpful. Clean, quite, and comfortable. Great stopover on a long road trip. Easy access, yet no highway noise. Recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
Kearney, MO
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We checked in late. Front desk guy seemed bothered by us. Very short, no directions on where to go, when breakfast is(only till 930am). Hotel pool VERY tiny. Hotel fitness center - a closet with 2 pieces of equipment..terrible. The room was musty. I wore shoes the entire time. I'm usually more laid back. The bathroom was so tiny you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley76
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Hayley76, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. I regret that you had a bad experience with the check-in staff. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The hotel is not updated. We have stayed in many HIE and this is by far the oldest of them all. It feels a little dingy. Out too was really hot when we got in and turned the AC down, but it never really cooled off. The king suite we stayed in had a broken sofa bed so the kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelli Q
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Literally just off the interstate, we arrived about 2am on 8/8. Front desk clerk,was very friendly. The room was cozy and very clean. The pillows...man the pillows were just tops. Just sunk right into them. That ALONE gets 5 stars! Housekeeping staff were very friendly as well. Place was 100% book yet quiet and serene. Great free breakfast that ends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcsno1fn
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Great rate, room, staff, breakfast, and service. Did not notice in office area, but hallways on floors wreak of mildew smell. The room I occupied did not have evidence of mildew nor smell of mildew. I saw review comments on the mildew after I booked, but forearmed with that information elected to stay there anyway. This is not a bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 06jca
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear 06jca, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a competitive value. We certainly regret we fell short in exceeding your expectations for your stay. Though we...

Acworth, Georgia
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We attempted to stay here but the room had very noticeable mold around the windows. However, the staff was very nice and apologetic,but everything was out of their hands. They said they will be going through major renovations soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nan H
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Nan H, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We do value the opinion of our guests as this gives us the avenue to improve the quality and service that we impart. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations especially with the condition of the room accommodations you were given....

Duluth, GA
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We’ve stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Metropolis about a dozen times and previously wrote glowing reviews. This property went downhill dramatically on this stay. There was no breakfast available before closing time and we arrived well before that to find nothing but two bananas. I can buy breakfast at a restaurant when traveling, but dislike not getting a service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Fred H, Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your latest experience with us here in Metropolis. We are most grateful to welcome you back again. I am sincerely sorry for the breakfast issue you experienced, I completely understand your frustration. I also regret that you had a bad experience with the Front desk person on that...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
4.8 km away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
1,606 reviews
4.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
0.5 km away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
8.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
7.2 km away
Comfort Inn Paducah
Comfort Inn Paducah
#8 of 28 in Paducah
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, Illinois. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, IL, is located at the intersection of I-24 and US 45 at exit 37, across the Ohio River, about 7 miles from Paducah, KY. Just minutes from Harrah's Casino on the river, and Fort Massac State Park, host of the 19th century re-enactment, 'The Encampment.' And of course, Metropolis is also the Home of Superman, and features a 15-ft tall statue of Superman and a million dollar Super Museum! We are also the closest town to Mermet Springs/Mermet Lake Conservation Area, where you can go scuba diving, hiking, picnicking, fishing and hunting, all in the same area. Come and enjoy the new Express Start Refresh breakfast bar featuring our cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, crispy bacon strips, sausage patties, biscuits & sausage gravy, yogurt, and Smart Roast coffee, among other items. We also have an indoor pool and spa for your recreation, along with a fitness center. All guest rooms feature the Simply Smart exclusive line of amenities, bedding, and the one and only Stay Smart shower head. Passing through or visiting Metropolis, IL? Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.We are situated just outside Paducah, KY, about half way between St. Louis, MO, and Nashville, TN, posing as an ideal overnight stop for long-distance travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Address: I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Region: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Price Range: ₹ 6,089 - ₹ 7,987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Holiday Inn Metropolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Metropolis staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Metropolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the north side are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles williamrY1970DQ, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We picked first floor. Very handy to door.”
 of 5 bubbles VirgiFranzi, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Other reviews said lower rooms were noisy above, we stayed on the top (third) floor and it smelled bad.”
 of 5 bubbles billsD3006WA, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“read the reviews. Do they sound like they are written by the hotel staff or actual customers.”
 of 5 bubbles 627bc, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“go somewhere else till remodel is done”
 of 5 bubbles Hayley76, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$ 105* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 105
TravelocityUS$ 105
TripAdvisorUS$ 104
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates