We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest\/Mettawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this Residence Inn in the past and had a great experience . Clean and quite comparable to other quality Residence Inns/Marriotts. I had a problem (no fault of the hotel) for my last visit and I couldn't have been treated better by the desk staff and the General Manager, Sandy Stanley. They all went above and beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

This feedback makes my heart sing! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We understand that not everything we do is flawless, but our goal is to make sure we that no matter what happens, we provide the best possible experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your...

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are going to stay here, PLEASE ask for a room away from the highway. Part of the hotel is literally next to the highway and it sounds like the windows are open it is so loud. I am staying here now and it's so noisy I cannot sleep. I asked for a new room but they are apparently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was negatively impacted by the location of the highway. Although it is convenient for travel, we understand that not everyone is accustomed to the sound. We do provide earplugs as well as white noise machines upon request. I am hoping hat we will have another opportunity to serve you and provide a room in a...

Lake Forest, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

As Marriott Rewards Platinum for Life members we prefer to stay at Marriott properties. I so wish that this place was better, but alas we can't stand this place. We've stayed twice in recent months and don't plan to return. The rooms are tired and don't look or smell the cleanest; the beds are not terribly comfortable. And the smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and for your Marriott Loyalty. I am disappointed that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations. The hotel recently underwent a renovation in both guest rooms and public areas so I apologize that you feel it is tired. Our goal is to provide the comforts of home and our in suite kitchens...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 23 October 2016

...stay at the Hilton Garden Inn next door. The lobby area at the HGI is much bigger, more inviting, and has a restaurant and bar. The lobby at RI is fine, but no place you'd want to hang out in. Beware the front desk girls: They are not informed about the area or the hotel. The rooms upstairs are average,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bagpackedletsgo
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We take pride in everything that we do and have unfortunately fallen short of yours, and our own expectations during your visit. We are already working diligently to correct the issues that you have mentioned. I hope that you will give...

Palm Desert, California
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This hotel was probably one of my favorite Residence Inns, but i do have to mention i was a little disappointing with the breakfast because the scramble eggs didn't look good like at other Other than that my stay was GREAT! I really loved the pool table by the lobby and staff was great! I was really pleased with front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yedith L
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sharing you experience! The staff and I are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service! However, I am sorry that the eggs did not look appetizing. Thank you for sharing this information as that is the only way we can improve. My kitchen crew and I will be looking into this...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Received contradictory statements from national booking and local hotel as to who determined complimentary Marriott Rewards applicability. While that was pending, first night's stay was horrible, capped off with the loudest TV and noise from adjoining room. Took 4 complaints to get it addressed, as I watched hotel staff walk through the area, but refuse to knock on the "loud"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennethrb2016
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for this information. The Assistant General Manager did assist you in a room move after speaking with the noisy guests in question. And I, the General Manager reached out to you via phone and left you a message followed up with an email the very next day after you checked out. I understand that I am unfortunately not...

Decatur, Illinois
Reviewed 2 August 2016

My boyfriend enjoyed our brief, one-night stay here. We found the room to be super clean, updated, and spacious. It had all the amenities we needed plus more! We were pleased with the fast, friendly check-in and with the breakfast buffet that was included. Our room faced the interstate, so there was a bit of road noise. It didn't bother...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JZimmerman3
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on your review! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities! We also offer white noise machines and earplugs for guests that are sensitive to the sounds of the interstate.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed here for nearly two weeks and had a pleasant stay. The room was clean, well-attended, and always addressed. We had a small "blip" in that a day was put in the room next door and did a lot--I mean a lot--of barking. For the two or three days that room was used, the room was uncomfortable but overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Throbbert
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize for the "blip" during your stay and appreciate your patience with our four-legged guests. I do hope that your travels bring you back to the area where we can accommodate you again!

Grove City, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites with family. The room was spacious, updated and clean. We didn't really need it but the kitchen was stocked with the basics if we had needed it. The staff was super accommodating and nice. We had one little problem and it was resolved quickly and kindly from the staff. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amber S
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy the spacious room and our amenities! The 2 bedroom suites are almost like apartments, the separation is nice when you have a lot of people. I do hope that you travel to the area again and stay with us. It would be our pleasure to have...

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Our family of 5 stayed here for a soccer tournament in nearby Libertyville. We are picky about cleanliness, and we were very impressed with the cleanliness of our room. Having a fridge. microwave, etc. in the room was very nice. Many restaurants nearby. Apparently this is a pet-friendly hotel, but I never heard a peep from any pet. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
Sandy_Stanley, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community! Our team is appreciative of your feedback and will continue to work very hard to be the cleanest hotel around! I hope that the girls continue to play well and when the tournament comes back to this area, your team chooses us!

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
3.4 km away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
5.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bannockburn-Deerfield
10.2 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Just off I-94, the Residence Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa hotel features new, apartment-style suites with living rooms with pullout sofas, free WiFi and fully-equipped kitchens. Don't feel like cooking? Enjoy a free hot breakfast buffet each morning and join us in the evenings for our complimentary Residence Inn Mix(R) where we're serving up yummy apps and drinks (Mon-Wed). Keep up your routine on the road at our 24-hour gym, indoor pool and outdoor, multi-use Sport Court. Relax with friends in our onsite Billiards room. Travelers appreciate the quick 15-minute drive to Great Lakes Naval Base, Six Flags Great America and Gurnee Mills Outlets. With easy access to downtown Chicago and convenient, free perks, you'll thrive on long stays at Residence Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa

Address: 26325 N Riverwoods Blvd, Mettawa, Lake Forest, IL 60045-3430
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Forest
Price Range: ₹ 6,682 - ₹ 21,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest / Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest
Lake Forest Residence Inn
Residence Inn Lake Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms near highway”
 of 5 bubbles M521AGpaulm, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid noisy freeway side. Front desk staff not smart enough to know what rooms face the freeway, so look out the window before you unpack.”
 of 5 bubbles bagpackedletsgo, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very crowded parking shared with Hilton Garden Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethrb2016, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a room that doesn't face the interstate.”
 of 5 bubbles JZimmerman3, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the basketball courts”
 of 5 bubbles N6967HRandyh, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay