We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highden Manor Estate

TripAdvisorUS$ 95*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Highden Manor Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Highden Manor Estate
 Click to rate
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed in the Wisteria Suite for one night. It was conveniently close to another event where we had family to drop off. The pot holes in the narrow overgrown driveway were ominous... the first view of the house is indeed grand. Our room was of suitably grand size, and having an 'ensuite sitting room' as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by the new owner, Sharon. We were there for her first night with guests. After a great welcome and summary of what facilities were available, Sharon helped us to our suite and showed us the facilities in each of the 3 rooms. There were roses on our King bed, the lounge & on the vanity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I, stayed at the Highden, on our Wedding Night. We used the Rose Room. The room was lovely. The staff were very helpful. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend to, anyone wanting accomodation, close to town, but with a country setting. Thank you Highden Team 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
Highden, General Manager at Highden Manor Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and it was our absolute pleasure to host you on your wedding night!

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I fell in love with Highden Manor and it's historical charm. Not many staff. It was a Little run down but the peacefulness was intoxicating. I would love to go back for a longer visit. It's not too far from town for site seeing and meals. Great place for a wedding and reception

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2017

House not looked after, birds nest above the front entry and in gutters, dead flies on window sills, dusty curtains and furniture and a feeling of being in an abandoned house. Almost without staff. Was very strange to have breakfast served by 2 different bare footed staff who both then exited the building not to be seen again. No check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Arrived late around 8.30pm and was vewry difficult to find staff. Room was a good size but poorly laid out with dead flys on windowsill. Booked cooked breakfast for 8.30am. There was no choice or menu, srambled eggs on toast with crispy bacon tomatos & bad hash browns. First watier was in tracky pants, woolen jumper & bare feet, he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
Highden, General Manager at Highden Manor Estate, responded to this review

Hi Kim, I am very sorry to hear you had a negative experience at Highden as we aim to ensure all our guests have a relaxing, enjoyable stay with us. As explained at check-in, we do not have a formal check-out and the key is to be left in the door of the room. If you need to reach anyone...

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Recently went to view with my family and was devastated at what we found. The grounds have been completely let go, birds nesting in the gutters and the outside of the manor was in much need of more than a good clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lia G
Mercer, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The setting is magnificent but we were staying in the "backpacker type" cheaper rooms. These used to be the monks dormitories back in the days when it was a monastery. We had a queen bed in a double room. Nicely furnished, clean fairly new bedding. I found the bed comfortable but my husband found it too hard. We were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmmayo
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This hotel would be spectacular if some time and investment were put into caring for it properly. There was a visible layer of dust over everything, and spiderwebs and fly poop everywhere. The windows clearly hadn't been cleaned in months and birds were nesting throughout the gutters and roof. From what I could tell, the common areas were NOT cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 116emm
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This venue had been booked for a whole weekend for 16 months for a family wedding. The place looked perfect when we first booked. The blurb sold it really well plus the obvious feature of the looks. The price given isn't really the price given. Be aware of add ons like hirage for this and that and corkage. Plants wilting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue B

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awahuri
0.0 km away
Thyme Out Estate
Thyme Out Estate
#6 of 8 in Feilding
2 reviews
8.8 km away
Aroha B&B Feilding
Aroha B&B Feilding
#1 of 8 in Feilding
70 reviews
28.1 km away
Celtic Motel
Celtic Motel
#1 of 1 in Foxton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
47 reviews
8.4 km away
South Street West
South Street West
#2 of 7 in Feilding
66 reviews
12.7 km away
No photo provided
Scottbase B and B
#4 of 7 in Feilding
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on 36 acres of manicured parkland and formal rose gardens, Highden Manor Estate is registered as a Category 1 historic landmark property by The New Zealand Historic Places Trust. Built in 1896 as a country home for a Wellington Member of Parliament, The Right Honourable Walter Woods Johnston and his wife Celia, this is now a Hotel & Venue in the Manawatu countryside, just 15 minutes drive from the city of Palmerston North. Restored to its original grandeur, the Manor welcomes guests for overnight stays, conferences, weddings, private functions, retreats, and offers the perfect venue for a multitude of special occasions. Ask about the "Exclusive Use" options for your occasion, or hire the public rooms and garden and create your own event. A truly private retreat property, Highden is "An Experience" not to be missed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highden Manor Estate

Address: 220 Green Road | R D 6, Awahuri 4476, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Awahuri
Price Range: ₹ 3,294 - ₹ 6,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highden Manor Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Highden Manor Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highden Manor Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Another property.”
W5152CImichellem, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Looks good from the outside, nice surrounding grounds”
kimmF2571KK, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs was good - numbers 12 and 14. 10 is next to the toilets. Can't help you with rooms in the main house sorry!”
tmmayo, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beds in hostel very comfortable”
bertmaggie, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As far as we are aware there are no ground floor rooms in the main building and no elevator.”
464stacias, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 95* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates