We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Had Outstanding Customer service Was Very Pleased And Satisfied with My Visits. Would Love To Come Back Their Bar Was Amazing . Would Also Recommend Friends And Family When In Chicago Area. I Was Very Very Very Very Very Very Pleased And Satisfied With Jonathan Personality And Also His Very Great Customer Service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devaris S
Tony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Devaris S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. We are very pleased to hear of the outstanding service you got in our bar especially from Jonathan. We will be sure to praise Jonathan for the wonderful comments and pass them on to his fellow team members to...

Massillon, Ohio
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Extremely nice hotel just off I-94 north of Great Lakes. Room was clean and quiet. Front desk staff was very pleasant. Free WiFI. Overall good place to stay if you're visiting your Navy family member.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airdvr1227
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Airdvr1227, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. Great to hear of your clean and quiet room and the good experience you had with our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to seeing you again if you come back to our area.

Stratham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Came here for business...not my choice as I am not a big fan of Holiday Inn's anyway but looked on line and saw pics and its a convention center so I thought it looked pretty good. 1st room had cobwebs along the wall. Called and switched to second room that has mold on ceiling above shower. Crud along base of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracker631
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Tracker631, Thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay with us. Oh no. We are so sorry you had cobwebs in one room and mold in the second room along with your other issues. That is unacceptable maintenance of our rooms on our part and those issues have been addressed with our maintenance and management team so...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

The suite with two double beds plus sofa sleeper was great for our family shopping overnight! (If the beds were queens instead of doubles, my rating would be a "5" for excellent.) Due to snow we stayed in for dinner at the hotel restaurant. Steak sandwiches were delicious! Then we enjoyed the pool and hot tub - nice & warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveling03
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Traveling03, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. Great to hear your family and you enjoyed our suite, pool, and hot tub. Our steak sandwiches are pretty good. Glad you liked yours. We loved hosting you and look forward to future stayovers from you all.

Soddy Daisy
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We were here because of surgery scheduled in nearby Zion. Pros: The shuttle was one time and the drivers very nice. The food was good. Even though we did't use them the inside pool and hot tube looked clean. I had trouble with the internet and the I.T. dept. was prompt on calling me and helping fix the issue. Nick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Jeff H, Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your stay with us. We are terribly sorry for you having to experience problems like the uncaring front desk staff who didn't have quarters and your room temperature not regulating among other things. We are very displeased that our front desk service to you wasn't...

West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 January 2016

I attended the 2015 Navy Ball here. Everything was beautifully done. The wait staff was good with getting everyone's food out quickly and refilling pitchers. I liked that they had a bar at the restaurant that was separate from the drinks bar tended at the event, because then we could still get drinks after dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine G
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Jasmine G, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. We appreciate your response. We are so happy to hear you had a ball at the Navy Ball. Great that the staff took care of you with the food and drinks and that you had that separate bar just for...

Reviewed 3 January 2016

Had a good 2 night stay at this holiday inn on new years day. Check-In: checked in at 6pm. The staff at the counter was nice and courteous. Once we entered to our room we notice a strong smoke/tobacco smell. Called the front desk and they changed our room right away. Pro: - Clean room - decent buffet (expected more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donrey2
Stephen M, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Frandolf, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, Great to hear you had a good stay. Sorry to hear of entering your room with a smoke smell and had to deal with loud neighbors. We are glad you got switched to a clean room and got to encounter our nice and courteous staff....

Glen Burnie, Maryland
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and was very happy with my room, the service and the front desk staff. Weather was awful and the parking lot was very well maintained and plowed throughout as well ( better than the mall parking lot by a lot ) Definitely would recommend and stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank levinwest
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Levinwest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee. That is great to hear that we took care of you as far as your room and customer service of our front desk staff. Love to here of recommending us to others and would stay again. We loved hosting you...

Pekin, Illinois
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel for Two nights. I usually stay at the Best Western in Antioch IL when in the area but decided to stay at this hotel because it was closer to our Company Christmas Party. The hotel room was clean and up to date, the bed and pillows were comfortable. The Lobby was nice as well as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dragons30
Tony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Dragons30, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear of your poor customer service that you received. When guests want coffee we do advise that it is not complimentary and can be bought in the breakfast area but it can be bought without buying breakfast...

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Stayed here for three nights recently for business. The hotel staff was very friendly. They will provide a free refrigerator and microwave for your room. There is a bar and restaurant inside the hotel. The restaurant is "Spice" and the food was not that bad. The overall condition of the hotel was clean. My room was nice and very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark0076
Stephen M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Mark0076, Thanks for giving us a review on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Gurnee, We are happy that you enjoyed your room and also the Spice Restaurant. It is a really good restaurant and the plus is you don't have to leave the hotel for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We hope to see you again...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
203 reviews
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
1.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
1.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Price Range: ₹ 6,154 - ₹ 10,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eat breakfast elsewhere and bring ear plugs! And certainly don't book a room with breakfast deal. Clearly everyone walks in and eats. No one asked for our breakfast voucher. Anyone who pays 11.95 for yogurt and cereal and 15.95 for fake eggs, frozen waffles, and oatmeal you could hang wallpaper with is crazy!!! Holiday Inn take the breakfast sign down and include it as free continental breakfast. Can't complain about what's free!”
 of 5 bubbles ericav691, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the side away from the Highway if you want to avoid high road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose a room on the west side”
 of 5 bubbles DanK984, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well furnished & clean, 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles joannesparker, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I go for least expensive rooms if i travel alone.”
 of 5 bubbles N8376KObobs, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5