We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Gurnee

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Gurnee
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Gurnee
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Colona, Illinois
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I were going to Six Flags and we just needed a place to crash after a long day. This was it.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 684ericaf
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response.

Ohio, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Great location right off highway. Loved the large room and memory foam mattresses. Hallway had a smokey smell to it, but rooms were very clean smelling. Room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very basic and has waffles in the toaster, not a waffle maker. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions and answering a...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and we appreciate your response and comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Spencer, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Don't expect to put food in fridge, fan in bathroom doesn't work, heater in room didn't work. Ice machine in basement. Over priced for what you get. I paid for king, got a queen. Breakfast is not hot.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 827jonathanz
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Super 8 Gurnee. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectations, We will surely look into the issues you have mentioned.

Minneapolis
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We were in town to attend my son's ceremony from military boot camp. The hotel was clean & staff was friendly. Breakfast was very basic such as cereal, yogurt, bread, coffee etc. I liked that there were restaraunts nearby so we didn't need to travel far to eat. My parked car was hit by another car in the parking lot,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lsy Y
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we will be looking forward to see you again soon.

West Allis, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Hard to find the front door. Beds are very hard, and their was mold growing in the bathroom I told front desk and they said "ok "

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattdS8118YK
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding

A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I chose this Super 8 for convenience to a 3 day weekend class and price. The value was excellent and the room was ideal for study and rest. The owner/manager was responsive to questions and concerns. Location was ideal for a variety of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments, We hope to see you soon again

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristie T
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Illinois
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed this last weekend in room 207 and the room was ok for a one night stay but not worth $75 a so called bargain. Refrigerator was not working and told front desk and nobody even bothered to exchange, look at, all they said was ok then after the first day they made up the bed and did not put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williemazda
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation.

davison
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 414ln2016
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

Vermilion
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fathead300
jit p, Manager at Super 8 Gurnee, responded to this review

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.6 km away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Gurnee

Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901 (Formerly Grand Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Price Range: ₹ 3,930 - ₹ 5,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Super 8 Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Gurnee staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Gurnee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 207 west side of the building very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles I275APdanm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stay off the main floor, corner rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles 547nadener, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter" bottom floor easier in and out”
 of 5 bubbles sonjal624, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Very nice place to stay . You'll be comfortable and Happy”
 of 5 bubbles kennyandtruck, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Really close to the Naval Base and the mall. You will not be disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles 653gailm, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5