We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Herrington Inn & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
The Herrington Inn & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Herrington Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 353: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place is amazing! We went for an overnight get away for my Mom's 65th birthday. There were 4 of us girls. We ate lunch at the restaurant in the hotel which was fabulous! Very high quality food. We also had excellent services-the drivers took us all over Geneva to shop. The men who drove us were so kind! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_IllinoisJjss
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Very pleased that all the elements of your stay...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Five of us went to celebrate a 50th birthday this past weekend. From the moment we were picked up at the Metra station to the next day when we left, the service was all around exceptional. We did a day full of spa treatments on Saturday, all of us having had wonderful services. The rooms have beautiful views and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripfemme
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Thank you for celebrating with us and please pass...

Lake Barrington
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Herrington. Everything was perfect!! 1. Cozy room with fireplace. 2. beautiful view of the river 3. pick up service after a fabulous meal at Wildwood. 4. turn down bed service with cookies, milk,and robes & slippers laid out. 5. Continental breakfast. 6. Spa massage just steps away. We really enjoyed strolling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peaker_11
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. We shall endeavor to give you another 6 great...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was a much anticipated get a way and the hotel room was dilapidated. Although the view was stunning and the restaurant good, the over all experience was very disappointing. The hot water did not get hot, tub jets did not work and I was awakened by work men in the room next door bright and early. No sleeping in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us. Having spoken to the front desk regarding the situation the upgraded room you requested and subsequently moved to...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Bought a groupon to stay here, yet felt that the discounted $140 was still a bit high. The Inn was kind of tucked away on a side street and upon entering was surprised at the elegant and inviting interior. The rooms were very nice, if you like lace, pattern, old furniture - I thought it was pretty. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieD984
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Herrington Inn & Spa very soon. Kindest...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Pricey but worth it if you like to be in high comfort with convenient parking and a walking distance to all the downtown shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay. We did not eat in the restaurant but did eat in the bar and enjoyed their breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne0440
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Thank you once again, and we look forward to...

Oak Lawn, Illinois
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I found that these rooms are not fan friendly.There are not any hooks to hang your robes when you want to retire for the evening.Nice concept for cookies and milk,but unable to eat them.They are very hard.We had a issue when we left the Herrington Inn.We inadvertly left two chargers for our phones,but that evening we called and only one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy N
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is very disappointing to hear that we did not live up to this promise during your stay with us . I would like the opportunity to learn more information on your comments. Please contact me directly at...

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We live just 45 minutes away from Geneva, but after a previous great experience at the Herrington a couple of years ago, we decided to "getaway" for Valentine's Day and return to this terrific inn in the far western suburbs of Chicago. And once again, we were not disappointed. After much deliberation, I decided to book a town parlor suite,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JAB248
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team and of course Chris. For your next visit check...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My Love and I stayed at the Herrington Inn in January. we absolutely love, love, love this place! we stayed in one of the creamery rooms, it was so warm and cozy. we truly enjoyed the couples massage , fireplace and the bath tub for two. we have to give a Shot out to Chris. Chris thank you for what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toni m
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team and especially Chris. I’m very happy that you had...

Reviewed 1 February 2014

In the midst of all of this crazy winter weather in Michigan my husband and I planned a winter break getaway, courtesy of a Groupon deal, to Geneva Illinois and the Herrington Inn. We had serious second thoughts until we got around the lake and were treated to a sunny, crisp winter day. The Herrington Inn was so cozy, from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMEarlygirl
Stewart B, Director of Operations at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our mission at The Herrington Inn & Spa is always to exceed our guest’s expectations. It is wonderful to hear that we lived up to this promise during your stay with us. I will personally ensure that your comments are shared with the team. Our Executive Chef Jason Tsoris and his brigade were...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
128 reviews
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
3.1 km away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Price Range: ₹ 10,716 - ₹ 22,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Herrington Inn & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Herrington Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a River View room.”
 of 5 bubbles Ironpen47, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor on the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Preston1884, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“River view is great, but try to get a room away from Hwy 38 (State St.) to minimize traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles smallfeettravels, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the balcony further away from the road if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles rlnSB, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 112 is on the ground floor and has a walk out patio to the Fox River. Room 300 is on the corner and looks out over the Fox River. R”
 of 5 bubbles craigs732, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay