We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoney Creek Inn

Show Prices
#2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stoney Creek Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

813 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 809: English reviews
Start your review of Stoney Creek Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Always a great overnight spot. Clean and the rooms are furnished well. We stayed in the theme rooms. Perfect night for a fire. Staff is very friendly. It was nice also to enjoy a late night drink in the lobby bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dottie L
Woodridge, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fantastic. needed a break and a change of scenery. we've been here before and enjoyed our stay. it's not too far from home (about160 miles) and that makes it a great weekend get a away. walking through the town and visiting the shops is a fun experience. best burgers in town are at the paradise bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edk1149
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

edk1149, we love the Paradise bar as well! It's a great local favorite in Galena. Thank you for choosing Stoney Creek when you need a little change of scenery! We look forward to hosting you on your next weekend getaway!

Saint Ansgar, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very nice and comfortable. We stay with Stoney Creek often and love that they do upgrades! We got a free upgrade and our room had a wonderful corner hot tub and king bed with lots of extra space! We love staying with Stoney Creek and being part of their rewards program. This particular location is in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em57moore
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear em57moore, Thank you for staying with us yet again! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and are taking advantage of being one of our most loyal guests! We love your feedback on our location and your comfortable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Rush City, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hot tub was not working, the bar doesn't have a bartender and limited drinks, bathroom fan was attached to light switch and very loud, no room dark curtains so when suns up so are you. A bit dated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danna C
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Danna C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I do apologize that the bathroom fan was loud and that your hot tub was not working. We will address that with our maintenance staff. I am also sorry that you were not satisfied with the bar. We truly appreciate all your feedback and are...

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a good stay at this Stoney creek. We've been to others and this one was just as nice. We were upgraded unexpectedly which was very much appreciated. The room initially smelled like someone had been smoking in the bathroom but once the front desk was notified, they came up immediately and fixed it as best they could. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Sara, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed an upgrade to one of our suites! It always makes a difference having the extra room. Our staff is happy to help in accommodating situations that will make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to your next stay with us in...

Kansas City
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the eighth time our Youth Group has stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn - Galena, each time over Presidents' Day Weekend. There is a reason we always return and that is due to the welcoming nature of this place, the facilities, the staff. We are always treated so well and we always hope that our group is respectful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeaconDaveLYF
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

DeaconDaveLYF, We look forward to having you back for your ninth visit to Galena! We are so happy to be able to be host your group year after year and provide such a positive guest experience for everyone. The coffee and breakfast are always complimentary! Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your review. Again,...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really liked our room (we upgraded to a fireplace suite). The room was very clean and well maintained. The only disappointment was both window overlooked parking lots. The hotel is in a grocery store and car dealership parking lot. The breakfast was good for a standard free breakfast. Pool area was nice and well maintained. Has a small bar which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily416
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

TravelingFamily416, thank you for choosing our cozy hotel for your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your fireplace upgrade. It's always nice to sit by a fire when you are away from home. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed here a few times and it has never disappointed. Great accommodations, full range of amenities, pool, exercise room, and even a bar! The breakfast is always hot and tasty with a nice variety of offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Janae T, Guest Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review

Tom, we thank you for choosing Stoney Creek again during your visit to Galena. We believe that breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day so we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our offerings. We look forward to having you back again!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 February 2017

What a wonderful place to stay with a great family atmosphere. And Galena is a wonderful weekend getaway for everyone. I would suggest this Inn for everything from a romantic weekend to a family getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajh7320
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stay here for the Special Olympics Winter Games. The room is comfortable, breakfast is good, and location is convenient. We enjoy sitting by the fireplace in the lounge, enjoying wine and friendship.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EhrenTL

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.9 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
89 reviews
12.2 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: ₹ 5,694 - ₹ 10,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoney Creek Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stoney Creek Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The theme rooms are excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles ajh7320, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King bed ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 616francesca, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Suites are well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles rogera263, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel does not have an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles E7231KKdianeh, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Their website gives a good, reliable description of each kind of room/suite available. Check that first.”
 of 5 bubbles MotherOfTwoSons, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5