We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn

Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (25)
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (9)
Overview
500 Tollgate Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9315 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Fitness centre
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews(113)
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 43
  • 18
  • 7
  • 7
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Linda S
Phoenix, Arizona
204
Reviewed 19 Aug 2018
First, the staff was extremely friendly and cared about me, the guest. I was always greeted well. But the hotel is badly in need of a facelift. Hallways and rooms are dark and depressing. The interior of my room had a dented lampshade, Dented and banged up dresser drawers and regular doors. The toilet is separate from the wash basin so good if sharing a room. The counter top is spacious. The windows open to allow fresh air in. I would not stay here again, although the price was very reasonable. Nothing in walking distance for eating or shopping.
Thank Linda S
Samantha K
373
Reviewed 8 Aug 2018via mobile
We use this hotel for an event that was in the Elgin area. The location was nice it was in a safe area and our room was clean. But we're on the 3rd floor which we liked. There was breakfast with hot and cold items.
Thank Samantha K
Katherine H
Southgate, Michigan
9131
Reviewed 24 Jul 2018
That's the best I can say about this place, oh, and it was cheap. The room was dirty and there was no water pressure for the shower. The bed seemed comfortable but I was too tired to care. I gave it 2 stars because the front desk help were very friendly. The morning coffee was cold too. Would not recommend staying here unless you need a cheap place for the night in the area.
Thank Katherine H
mnjschneider
30
Reviewed 22 Jul 2018via mobile
The hotel is very old and understaffed. The rooms are small, dirty, and need to be updated. Our first room had a refrigerator that didn't work, even after the technician fixed it. The room was missing a shower curtain and not the cleanest. We switched rooms to get a fridge that worked. This room was better as far as cleanliness but not perfectly cleaned. Bathrooms in the rooms are very small and consist if a shower stall and toilet. Sink is outside of the bathroom. I do have to say the staff was very polite and tried to help as much as they could.
Thank mnjschneider
Response from General M, General Manager at Quality Inn
Responded 24 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all feedback. Sorry you felt your stay fell short. The staff and I apologize you checked into a room and we forgot a hang a clean, nice shower curtain. I assure you this is not acceptable. I hope you will give us another try to show you what a great stay you will have. James Diller General Manager Quality Inn of Elgin
Ellinas25
Charlotte, North Carolina
8540
Reviewed 14 Jul 2018via mobile
When I arrived the electronic keys weren't working and I had to get someone to manually open the door each time I wanted to go in or out. That should have been a hint

The breakfast bar wasn't maintained.
The business center computer did not work. Then, when they fixed it the printer did not work

When I returned to the hotel that night the locks didn't work to allow me into the hotel

After finally getting in I went to the room and housekeeping hadn't cleaned it. I called the front desk for towels and they said I had to come get them. The excuse they offered was that they were short handed and could not clean all the rooms. I told them this was unacceptable and asked if they was anything right or working in the hotel. The girl at the front desk then started yelling at me and said if I wasn't happy with the hotel I should just get out now!

Never again. I filed a complaint with corporate and left first thing in the morning. Avoid this place at all costs!!
Thank Ellinas25
Response from General M, General Manager at Quality Inn
Responded 18 Jul 2018
Good afternoon, Sorry you felt your stay wasn't up to par. I do admit, there were issues - our key machine did break down that evening. It is electronic and as everyone knows, things to break eventually. We had it fixed the very next morning. The breakfast bar - we provide a great hot breakfast daily - I sure the attendant was making a fresh batch of food. We want to make sure our breakfast is always fresh and hot. The guest computer - I am sorry you had problems with it - other guests have used it without any difficulty. I am sorry you felt your stay was so bad - please call the hotel so we can provide you with an awesome stay. James Diller General Manager Quality Inn of Elgin
PreviousNext
12345623
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Breakfast Available
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
80
Price range
US$ 65 - US$ 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Quality Inn Elgin
,
Elgin Quality Inn
Location
United States > Illinois > Elgin
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
80
Price range
US$ 65 - US$ 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Quality Inn Elgin
,
Elgin Quality Inn
Location
United States > Illinois > Elgin
Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
232 reviews
.19 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Elgin
145 reviews
.23 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
452 reviews
.39 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
112 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 206 nearby restaurants
Dominick's Pizzeria & Restaurant
32 reviews
1.96 km away
Alexanders Cafe
201 reviews
.30 km away
Gilbert's Chop Suey
19 reviews
1.93 km away
Bennigan's
124 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Underground Retrocade
17 reviews
3.04 km away
Gail Borden Public Library
112 reviews
3.34 km away
Santa's Village Azoosment Park
210 reviews
3.38 km away
GAT Guns & Firing Range
15 reviews
3.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Quality Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you have a pet they will not allow them in their suites."
sidneyw837
10 Jul 2018
Read review
"Do not take the room adjacent to the front desk. if you suffer from migraines."
BLACKMACHINEWOMANLX9
5 Apr 2018
Read review
"If you can, avoid rooms near the end of hallways leading to outside ... air conditioners are very noisy"
312Luv2Travel
15 Aug 2017
Read review
"The top floor is quieter."
467sandyd
24 Mar 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing