We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1780 Capital Street, Elgin, IL 60124
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
CandlewoodSuites
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$118
Expedia.com$119
Lol.travel$121
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (8)
Bathroom (2)

About

#7 of 8 hotels in Elgin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Candlewood Suites Elgin Northwest Chicago, IL is conveniently located 20 minutes from Chicago s O Hare International Airport ORD and only 40 miles from downtown Chicago off Interstate 90. If you are coming to the area for business we are only minutes from Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company and Nissan Forklift. While in the area be sure to experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall or visit nearby Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center or the Schaumburg Convention Center. We understand that extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your special needs. Candlewood Suites is designed from the ground up and our all suite hotel features full kitchens complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free, high speed Internet or relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. When you come to Chicago we know what you need. Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month or even a year.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
68Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 16
  • 9
  • 5
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The P wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If I could rate this hotel a zero I would!!!! I was in town for a wedding from Alabama. Drove 13 hours to be there. I stayed from August 21st-23rd. We stayed in room 330… and received an early check in we had asked for. My friend and I noticed the bed sheets had spots on them but didn’t think anything of it since they were white sheets. And I understand some stains will not come out. We stayed 3 nights… not one time was our room serviced by a housekeeper, no new towels, no toiletries… nothing. On the morning we checked out, my friend noticed a bug in her bed when we woke up… not thinking anything of it we packed our stuff and left. When I got in the car I noticed BED BUG BITES all over my arm. And so did she. I called the hotel to let them know the room had bed bugs and to mark it out of inventory. I got an attitude from the front desk when I asked to speak to a manager. He said a manager would call me tomorrow. So I emailed pictures of our bed bug bites to the hotel management email. It has been 24 hours and still no call. So I called the hotel again today and asked to speak to a manager. The front desk cleared asked me what about and I told him it was about our previous stay and that we had bedbugs in our room. He asked me “room 330 right? Yeah we didn’t find anything” and I said well they’re in there not only did we see one but I have bites all over me. He said a manager would call me tomorrow (again) and when I told him I wanted to speak to one today he HUNG UP ON ME!!! This is completely disgusting and unacceptable. Bed bugs don’t just come out for you to find. If you allow someone else to check in that room (330) they will carry them home as well. I spent all night after a 13 hour drive cleaning my clothes, my property and showering to make sure they did not follow me home. I even threw away several items. I EXPECT A MANAGER TO CALL ME BACK RIGHT AWAY. Thanks, Porsche
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2021
Dear theplcm, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the cleanliness of our room and the bed bugs. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that you received an early check in. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline S wrote a review Aug 2021
Elgin, Illinois2 contributions
I would not recommend Candlewood Suites at all - you have to get your own towels, toilet paper, kleenex and other items. My first night here, a drunken guest followed me all around the lobby breathing beer and whiskey fumes in my face until I finally called the police on her. There are a few nice staff members - Albert who does the cleaning of the vacant rooms in the middle of the night is a pleasant, affable person. Deanna, who sometimes works the front desk in the late afternoon and early evening is pleasant. Yesterday, when I threw a wet bath mat in the cleaning lady's bin for dirty sheets and towels, she took it out, cursed at me in Spanish and threw it on the floor. I would strongly recommend you stay elsewhere. Other guests have also complained to me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Linda Gral wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
Stayed one night and after checking out was charged for a “ broken faucet”. Tried to speak to manager Mahendra Yogina and was always avoiding the call. Can hear him tell the receptionist that he wasn’t there. When we finally got to speak to him he was very very nasty and disrespectful. Didnt care to listen all he seemed to care about was money. His son who is also a manger was much nicer than him, but wasn’t much help since his dad was the one with the last word. Would not recommend, even if you had a problem Mahendra wouldn’t even bother talking to you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Hello Lindagral, Thank you for choosing the Candlewood Suites and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconveniences you encountered after your stay. We appreciate that you brought your experience to our attention and we take feedback seriously and will directly speak to the General Manager regarding the concerns you raised, particularly about the service your received concerning the charges on your card about a broken faucet. We strive to make each experience as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we appreciate that you brought your experience to our attention. Providing functionality and convenience in a relaxed and casual environment where you can truly feel free to make yourself at home. This is what we want you and our guests to experience when you come visit us. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. We look forward to hosting you again soon. In addition to this, we have sent you a Private Message for further details. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne S wrote a review Oct 2019
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina178 contributions30 helpful votes
Hotel has a little age on it, but convenient to the interstate and nearby restaurants. Carpet should be thoroughly cleaned or more accurately replaced as it is worn out and shows heavy dirt and traffic patterns.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Margo D wrote a review Aug 2019
Grundy Center, Iowa9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I booked this hotel after researching hotels.com for reviews. SOME HOW this place got an overall rating of fabulous. As you will understand, not only was it NOT fabulous; of the hundreds of hotels I have stayed at in my life- WAS THE WORST! Initial impression of the room, what exactly is that smell? Not solely smoke, nor cat urine, nor dog, not of mold- perhaps a combination of hell! As you spent more time in the room, became nose blind. Pantry available with the typical pricing ridiculously high. Pantry comes into play in the morning. I asked if they had the "typical" continental breakfast. The reply? "We dont have a restaurant connected to the hotel, so we cant do that. Thats why we have the pantry. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in was a very remote part of ND, there wasnt a standard restaurant within 30 miles or so. The hotel had a whopping 6 rooms. To clarify this was NOT a bed and breakfast, rather a small hotel. Guess what? THEY had a continental breakfast! Toast, milk, juice, dry cereal, pastries. since when do you have to have an attached restaurant to provide a basic continental breakfast? So for only $6 I was able to buy 2 small bottles of juice, and I believe a danish. Please do not waste your time and $$. Staff were nice, but seemed unaware of the state of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jazz Gumbo wrote a review May 2019
London, United Kingdom745 contributions356 helpful votes
Situated just off the freeway this is a excellent hotel that is worth taking the time to provide a good review. The staff are efficient and friendly. In a very quiet location there is little ambient noise. The rooms are clean and extremely spacious, I'd stay here again when in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul H wrote a review Jan 2019
North Tonawanda, New York6 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice accommodation, great staff, clean and quiet, close to toll way. They do not provide daily room cleaning. You can exchange your towels with the front desk at anytime. Weekly room cleaning. Nice little convenience store on site. Resturants just a few minutes by car away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barbara G wrote a review Jun 2018
Bloomington, Minnesota72 contributions14 helpful votes
It was a pleasant and easy to get to place. Many times, we like to cook while traveling, and our stays at Candlewood Suites facilities have been good all around. It is not fancy, but it has everything we need, is clean and pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dishy1999 wrote a review Dec 2017
Spooner, Wisconsin18 contributions6 helpful votes
The staff was good. The room was good. They do have a handicap assessable room with 2 beds. What was BAD about it was the smell. I'm not sure what it was but it kept me awake and I could smell it all day in my clothes after we checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2017
Hi merhood58, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and for choosing to lodge with us. We are delighted you liked our room and found the hospitality rendered by the staff to be good. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience you encountered with the smell of the room. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations, I apologize your stay was marred by this aspect. I will make sure that your feedback will be reviewed and be forwarded to the housekeeping department for checking. Thank you again for your review. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience. Should you need anything, please contact the hotel directly at Phone: 847 888 0600. Regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom L wrote a review Nov 2017
Federal Way, Washington143 contributions19 helpful votes
Very nice hotel. Right next to a corn field. 6 minutes away from Harvest Bible Chapel. Friendly staff. Answered all my questions. Nice roomy suite. Comfortable with kitchen and well priced. We were in Room 130 and the room had a musty smell upon arrival. The carpet was old and stained in places. The wood floor was sticky and not well cleaned. In the evening the smoke alarm went off. I called the front desk and he asked me if I had been cooking. I told him we were not and were just sitting watching TV. He was able to remotely turn it off for us as it was so deafening we had to cover our ears. At 5:30 am it went off again, twice. Although we had this bad experience I enjoyed the stay and would stay again, but in a different room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
candlewood suites elgin - northwest chicago hotel elgin
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisElgin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANDLEWOOD SUITES ELGIN NW-CHICAGO, AN IHG HOTEL - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escapade 360 (6.9 km), Santa's Village Amusement & Water Park (6.7 km), and Fisher Nuts Store (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al's Cafe & Creamery, Elgin Public House, and Alexanders Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Elgin Historic District (6.7 km).