We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge Effingham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Effingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Effingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We were traveling and it was late and needed a place to rest our heads. This is your basic hotel, no frills, just a place to sleep. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast is very basic,waffles,fruit and box donuts. Great place for the price. Staff was very friendly.

Thank avalanchjoe
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were on a trip back from Ohio and decided to give this place a try, BIG MISTAKE!! and if we weren't so tired from traveling we would've sought another place to stay. If I were the choice hotel group I would drop this place off the list! DISGUSTING!!

1Thank TIM J
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Wow, I ignored the reviews and shouldn't have. First room I was in was exactly what I didn't pay for. It had two beds: one was way too soft, but the other had a sort-of firm mattress. The TV was an old tube. Toilet kept running. The door frame and lock weren't secure. There was a small centipede crawling up...

Thank topmomboss
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Came in late (midnight). Hotel clerk (tattoo showing on her chest) was knowledgeable and helpful. Recommend company polo or t-shirt for help Everything in the room was fine. Between 12 & 1am I heard a few people coming & going in the parking lot (which was dimly lit), which insinuated to me illegal activity. Wouldn't be real comfortable with my...

Thank Alex B
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 14 January 2015

If you need to use a tablet after hours like I do than definitely pass this place up! "Yeah we have wifi." What they don't tell you is that they only have wifi in the lobby. The rooms aren't wired for wifi and the owner from what I was told isn't up with technology and has no plans to do...

Thank bthor76
Vicky M, General Manager at Econo Lodge Effingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you were not able to get Wi-Fi on your tablet. we are however hardwired for internet in the rooms as my desk clerk explained to you. I feel that the fact that your room was good and it was clean[ as you had no complaint in this area] that the advice to boycott seems...

Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Nashville. I was able to book a free night with Choice Rewards points. Even though it was free, it was not good. The desk clerk, Chris, was very friendly and helpful. We had been booked into a smoking room even though I requested non-smoking, and he changed it quickly. The...

Thank Eldereaglewatcher
tinkel, director of operations at Econo Lodge Effingham, responded to this review

Dear eagle watcher, Please accept our sincere apology regarding the bathroom issues the tub non slip mat and the hair on the bath room floor. We just had all of our carpets cleaned so that may be why the carpet seemed damp and we are currently in the process of replacing all the tub mats in the entire hotel so...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I stay in hotels 300 + nights yearly and this hotel is one I'm glad to warn you about. The staff is friendly but after that checkin, watch out. The room was clean and the bed sheets were clean but the bed was very uncomfortable. There was a radio blaring from a car parked in front of my room and...

Thank ChuckMosher
Vicky M, Manager at Econo Lodge Effingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, on behalf of the staff and myself i would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We will take your comments to help make yours and other guest stay a more pleasant one, and i hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional expierience. Thank You, Vicky Mckerrow

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I believe I stayed in room 218. The room smelled. The towel I used to dry off after my shower literally flaked as I dried myself off. The tub had mildew on the bath mat. The sheet on the bed were only tucked in about 1" on the top and came undone in the middle of the night. I'm 6'1"...

Thank JerryMadison
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Staff was helpful, since we had to move 2 times...Key would not work in one room, the second had 2 lights that did not work. Maintenance does not wo.rk on Sunday. Finally, moved to nicer remodeled room.. Comfy bed. Clean. and it has a small but nice outdoor Pool, it was refreshing since it was 97 degrees at 5pm Traveling...

Thank MarciaRI
Vicky M, General Manager at Econo Lodge Effingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your response. On behalf of the staff and myself i would like to thank you for staying with us and we will use your comments to make yours and all guest stays a great expierience. we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Vicky Mckerrow

Kingsland, Texas
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We checked in late, experiencing mechanical problems with my motorcycle. The desk clerk was very helpful in recommending a local shop and did his best to situate us in a room where we could keep an eye on the bikes, though there were no ground floor rooms available. The room was clean and comfortable. We were so focused on getting...

Thank Deborah H
Vicky M, General Manager at Econo Lodge Effingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your online response. Your opinion is very important to us. On behalf of the staff and myself we thank you for choosing our hotel, and look forward to your next visit. Thank You, Vicky Mckerrow

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (6)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (3)
Room/Suite (14)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#12 of 19 in Effingham
92 reviews
2.3 km away
Super 8 Effingham
Super 8 Effingham
#4 of 19 in Effingham
467 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Effingham
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
0.9 km away
#11 of 19 in Effingham
315 reviews
0.3 km away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Effingham

Address: 1412 W Fayette Rd, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Price Range: ₹ 3,823 - ₹ 5,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Effingham 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Effingham Rodeway Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Effingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It was fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jeb8856, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Jayco-man, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Poorly lit parking area. 2nd floor may be more secure.”
 of 5 bubbles Ajaxbogs, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“Yeah....find a different place to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles bthor76, 14 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms in the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JerryMadison, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay