We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Show Prices
#76 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 952: English reviews
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I would stay here again and again! Great location, walking distance to shops, restaurants and the Merchandise Mart. Rooms are nice size ,comfortable, clean and up to date. I really enjoyed staying here and would stay here again! Had Breakfast in the restaurant, excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review! We’re thrilled you loved our location, cleanliness, comfy rooms, and recent renovations. We’ll be sure to pass your praise of the restaurant, BIN 36, along to them; we know it will make them smile. We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy more spectacular Chicago.

Mascoutah
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were staying a Saturday night so the hotel was sold out. We checked in about 4pm and asked if our room had a view. When we were told "no" we asked for a room with a view. The clerk was very helpful and did get us a room with a partial view of the river. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jon w
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Jon, We LOVE our fun downtown location, and we’re thrilled you loved it too! It’s great to hear that our hotel team member was helpful and our cleanliness appreciated. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the ice machine on your floor not working. We’ll take all your feedback, including your thoughts regarding the cost of snacks, into...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The best location, friendly and efficient staff and best concierge.Good service.It is centrally located, convenient to get to Magnificent Mile, Chicago Art Museum, wrigleys park, river cruise. Great restaurants around the hotel, convenient for shopping.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renu b
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Renu, Thank you for the fantastic 5 star rating and great review! Your praise of our hotel team has made our day. We’ll be sure to pass the compliments along to everyone; we know they’ll all smile. Our location is one of our highest praised qualities, and we’re very happy you loved it too. We hope to see you again...

Burleson, Texas
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wife and I had a king single room, furniture we think was supposed to be stylishly vintage, rather than dingy and vintage from use. My sister, the bride, her suite I was called on to repeatedly request repairs to entertainment center/ tv that didn't work, and lights over bar didn't work or flashed like strobes. Once repaired, at bedtime, you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TexRng
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Hello, We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the issues you mentioned. We are committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and your honest review is invaluable to our reaching that goal. We’re happy to know that our hotel team took excellent care of you, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next...

Dearborn, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My sister and I had a weekend trip with our five kids... We were so worried our stay was not gonna be fun.. We weren't aware of exact location or hotel condition.. Our surprise came quickly... The moment we pulled up the hotel attendant directed us to prepay immediately that way we would save money "spot hero". He saved us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzan M
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Suzan, It sounds like you enjoyed a fantastic Chicago vacation! Thank you for your great praise of our hotel team; we’ll be sure to pass the compliments along to everyone. Our location is one of our favorite qualities, and we’re thrilled you loved it too. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city.

Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great staff, great location nice sized room. 1st, we got in early (about 11 am) and were allowed to check in big PLUS! Doormen were very helpful Only complaint is that the concierge lounge was being renovated so we were relegated to a small area of the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Linda, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit; we’re thrilled you loved your stay with us! We’re happy that your early check-in added to your Chicago vacation and that our doormen were helpful. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to our concierge lounge renovations. As we strive to make Hotel Chicago better...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is under Marriott Autograph. I stayed four nights at this hotel and spent over 1400 dollars and the hotel did not provide any tea or breakfast during my stay. Of course, you and I can compare other hotels. Other hotels are more generous with warm hearts than Hotel Chicago Downtown. I checked in the suite and dirty towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BizVisitor
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Hello, We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to offer every guest a wonderful visit, and we apologize for not meeting that goal for you. We invite you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@thehotelchicago.com. We look forward to hearing from you and for the opportunity to make things right.

Las Vegas
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Chicago at the end of May and were happy to learn that it’s now a Marriott hotel. We’ve been staying at the hotel for many years now, beginning when it was The House of Blues Hotel, due to its location and friendly staff. I realize that they will be updating and upgrading to the Autograph...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mavrick17
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Mavrick, Thank you for your ongoing loyalty; we love welcoming familiar faces! We’re thrilled you loved our location and room sizes. Your praise of Richard is fantastic! We’ll happily share your many compliments with him; we know he’ll be very happy to hear them. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit Chicago.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It was funny to arrive at the hotel and realize that we'd stayed here twenty odd years ago when it was the Hotel Nikko. The service at the hotel was great - Murphy the doorman took excellent care of us for our whole trip. The decor in the our room was great and the beds were comfortable but not up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobucsfan
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Hello, We love to hear when a member of our hotel team offers exemplary service – thank you for your high praise of Murphy. We know it will make him as happy to hear your compliments as it did us. We’re committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and your feedback is invaluable to our reaching that goal. In...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wanting to check out the newest Marriott property in Chicago and one that looks like a W Hotel on their website, was anything but. Very nice atmosphere and great location just north of the river, the Hotel Chicago rooms were very similar to what you would see at a W Hotel. My disappointment started with the check-in and lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill M
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Bill, It’s wonderful to hear that you loved our location; we couldn’t agree more! We’re also happy our atmosphere and décor were welcoming. We sincerely apologize you were not offered excellent service from every member of our team. We’ll take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve, thank you. We hope to see you again...

558 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
King Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard King (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
2,443 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 10,730 - ₹ 30,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Sarnia
over a year ago
1 month ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check your room immediately upon check in”
kayliebarwig, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“my view was of the circular parking garage and a little bit of the river. Ask for a higher room with a view. I was on the 9th floor.”
mdluvs2shop, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevators; sounds like roller skates upstairs”
Reston10, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask before if WIFI is free. We had to pay.”
  • View seven floors up
robinita2, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I love the higher rooms for a great view”
MerehighBP, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5