We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westin Chicago River North

Show Prices
#55 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westin Chicago River North
The Westin Chicago River North
Panoramas (38)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin Chicago River North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,767: English reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I return to this hotel once a year.i always feel welcome. Lisa, the concierge, is outstanding. She is knowledgable and caring. Every member of the team has a smile. The lobby has a welcoming aromatherapy scent, which instantly relaxes you. I would highly recommend this location for a stay in Chicago, both for the terrific employees as well as location....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheri D
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello Sheri D, Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful note and your kind words with us. It brings me great joy to hear that Lisa was able to leave such a positive lasting impression on you while you were here. I'm glad that you found Westin's White Tea scent to be relaxing, and that it helped you truly...

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We recently spent two nights in a GREAT suite at this hotel, and really enjoyed the experience! The suite was reasonably priced ($500 per night) for the space it included, and it was perfect for a group stay where we all gathered in the suite before activities. Plus, the view was unreal, and everything is easy to get to (a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_G84
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello Melissa_G84, Thank you for sharing this wonderful note with us! I'm delighted to hear that you and your guests had such a renewing visit. We certainly pride ourselves on our service and it's great to hear that one of our front desk associates was able to really showcase that to you. I'm sorry to hear about the billing issue...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We just returned from a Valentine's weekend stay at this Westin slightly north of the river in downtown Chicago. We loved the location -- we walked to the hotel just a couple of blocks from the L stop. The staff from the front desk to the bellman to the lounge attendant were are friendly and helpful. Our room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWithTheJone
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello TravelingWithTheJone, I'm delighted to hear that your stay with us was so refreshing! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I'm so happy that you were able to take some time and unwind while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again for your next Chicago escape! Be well, Bryan W.

Mendham, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for three days and although the location was good, the service was not and the staff and management were extremely rude and unfriendly. The rooms need updating and renovation. Were tired compared to rest of hotel and the club lounge which was freshly updated. Restaurants are pricey and the food was so so. Not worth the expense We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah82060
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello Sarah82060, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience. I'm disappointed to hear that your stay was not enjoyable and not up to your expectations of the Westin brand. If you have a free moment I'd love to speak with you further regarding specific instances where you interacted with both management and associates...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and in a great location. I wouldn't eat or drink at the hotel there again. We ordered 3 drinks (vodka sodas) and watched him pour Smirnoff. Our bill was over $40.00! Pretty over priced for a rail vodka. Also the second we walked into our room our toilet wouldn't flush. They sent someone up a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndbrit06
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello ndbrit06, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm truly sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent visit, and that you do not plan to return. It is my sincerest hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back and show you that this is certainly not...

St Pete Beach
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel right next to the House of Blues. Tons to see & do. Great restraunts and night life. The staff is very friendly and professional. The room was stylish, modern and very comfortable. Room service was prompt and very tasty, but a bit overpriced. Have already planned my next stay there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oconnor1129
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello oconnor1129, Thank you for sharing this wonderful note with us. I'm truly delighted to hear that your recent stay was so renewing that you've already booked your next stay with us! If you have any special requests, or anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable or memorable please do not hesitate to reach out to...

AZ
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I used to stay at the Westin all the time, but I began to try nearby boutique hotels, and liked them. The freezing weather drove me back to the Westin (which is attached to the building where I work) and I'm glad it did. The service, as always, was stellar. Very responsive to guest needs for everything from a tape...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BuffCrone
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello BuffCrone, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share this valuable feedback. We truly appreciate the notes you've given us regarding the room conditions, and I'm sorry to hear that you experienced them. If you have a free moment and would be able to email me any further feedback as well as your room...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We got a great deal on a social coupon website so we obviously got a great deal. Everything at the hotel was enjoyable and convenient, and felt luxurious yet simple. The only issue we faced one morning, around 7 or 8am they started grouting the outside of the building and it was incredibly loud. I understand it's tough to time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reg P
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello Reg P , Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with noise while you were here, I am however glad that we were able to resolve this for you while you were here on property. I'm also delighted to hear...

Silver Spring MD
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great stay at the Westin. Restaurants nearby are abundant. My only complaint was the restaurant on Sunday doesn't open for breakfast until 7am. They do offer a senior rate that is excellent and you can still cancel up to 24 hours before arrival without a penalty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgespicer
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello Georgespicer, It was a pleasure to host you for your recent Chicago escape. I'm delighted to hear that you left feeling refreshed, and that you felt that your stay provided great value. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago! Be well, Bryan W.

Aurora, Canada
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel was very reasonably priced and very clean and quiet. It is also close to a number of restaurants and other attractions. My only complaint is the service is very poor. Very hard to find a concierge and nobody seems to want to answer the front desk phone. That said I will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review

Hello Richard D, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit and find a great value in the hotel. I am however saddened to see that you felt the service was not up to...

726 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (316)
Viewed
Amenities (87)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (32)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite (39)
Viewed
One Bedroom Luxury Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Traditional King Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
2,421 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Kamehachi - Lobby Westin River North
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Price Range: ₹ 11,987 - ₹ 35,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Chicago River North staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Leo
1 month ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Shakopee, Minnesota

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Chicago River North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view”
 of 5 bubbles StephNewYork, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing the river have really nice views!”
 of 5 bubbles Traveler104, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bring your workout gear”
 of 5 bubbles peterkD3700YK, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“AVOID like the plague!”
 of 5 bubbles addendum, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“River view rooms are worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles misszoey, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5