We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC

Save
Share
625 South Ashland Avenue at Harrison Street, Chicago, IL 60607
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$263
View deal
Marriott Hotels
$251
View deal
Booking.com
$253
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$263
Hotels.com$263
Priceline$263
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 13/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Updated 13/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#138 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Modern Hotel located opposite Rush-Presbyterian Medical Center & University of Illinois-Chicago.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
98Restaurantswithin 1 km
13Attractionswithin 1 km
365Reviews17Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 133
  • 50
  • 27
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tamhicks10 wrote a review Aug 2022
Goshen, Indiana431 contributions81 helpful votes
I. Love. This. Hotel. We have stayed in many places when going to concerts at United and this was by far the nicest and easiest. Pros: -Parking on site valet $40. Took five minutes to get our car. -Shuttle to United Center every half hour. -Comfortable rooms. Luggage space out of the way was so nice. - loved the decor - big fluffy duvet on bed with plenty of pillows - able to walk to or from UIC arena or United Center - plenty of places to order Uber eats, door dash, etc. we had an amazing breakfast deliver from Stax in 30 minutes at 10am on a Sunday. - staff was sooooooo friendly and helpful. - small little set up with drinks and snacks for purchase - atm in lobby (fee was $2.75. A NORMAL fee) - noon check out ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️. I don’t give five stars often. Negatives - I honestly cannot think of any. The a/c rattled a little bit so I slapped the register and it stopped. The end. Will stay here for all Bulls, Blackhawk, concerts from now on.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Our room was 215 at end of the hall away from elevators and ice machine. Loved it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Anderson, General Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Responded 3 weeks ago
Tamhicks10, we truly appreciate you taking the time to review and rate your stay! Most of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. We are so happy the location and staff exceeded your needs. We truly look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dovernj wrote a review Mar 2022
295 contributions189 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel in the past month. We love Roseiland who works at the main check in desk. Both times we stayed, we have had clean rooms, and very comfortable beds. We love the location. Very safe and quiet. The valet staff are great, They had our car waiting as soon as we called. This is very nice during the Windy City winters. We will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Didier Ch wrote a review Jun 2022
Taipei, Taiwan47 contributions45 helpful votes
A very expensive hôtel without any service. No breakfast, no restaurant, lounge for frequent travelers but closed on the weekends, and very very basic water and coffee service during the week. Have to go to reception to get a plastic spoon as none are available in the room or the lounge….Paid 600 usd a night for this crappy service !! Not worth of the Marriott name !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Anderson, General Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Dear 137didierk, Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience during this Chicago City-Wide event. Our restaurant is closed as is mentioned on the website as the property gets ready to change brands. The Marriott brand does not provide complimentary breakfast but does have the complimentary coffee and hot tea service, whole fruit, a Market to purchase from, the Concierge Lounge with breakfast, beverages and snacks, as well as a ton of options for delivery. When the Lounge is closed we do purchase our Bonvoy Members the extra bonus points for the inconvenience. I am very sorry to hear there was no cutlery available in the Concierge Lounge. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused and do hope you will have to the opportunity to stay when we have opened the Bistro so we may better meet your needs. We have added a shuttle to Little Italy and Greek Town as well. Sincerely, Tina Anderson,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
waupacaillini wrote a review May 2022
Waupaca2 contributions
Woke at 3:30 am up to a fraud attempt alert text saying that Chicago Marriot UIC charged me for 2 rooms that I canceled 2 months ago. The desk agent I spoke to laughed when I asked for a refund on a weekend and told me to leave a voice mail for a manager that was supposed to be back on Mon. Called again Mon. and told a manager would be back Tues. Wrote a complaint to Marriott Intl. and got no response. 5 days later, reached a manager, and finally got it done, but it took hours to solve and an sleepless night while on vacation. Beware if you cancel a reservation here and check your card. They are not helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Anderson, General Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Dear waupacaillini, We are sorry to hear you had difficulty with the cancellation process and for the undue stress you had while traveling. The reservation system did charge a no-show fee as there were no record of cancellation; charges are posted around that time of the early morning as we close our business day. We are happy to hear these charges were resolved after the long holiday weekend. I hope you have an opportunity to enjoy a stay in our Chicago Medical District area in the future. Sincerely, Tina Anderson, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brandon K wrote a review Feb 2022
Decatur, Illinois159 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
Check in was so fast fun and easy our favorite front desk girl Rosalind was so helpful with checking in and a few extras we needed with a smile! Worked hard to find the perfect rooms that would suit or larger party for the weekend! Nice plush beds. Supermodern bathrooms! Great location to United Center in loads of restaurants. Hospital right across the street with a late night subway restaurant!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JGMM wrote a review Jan 2022
Springfield, Illinois107 contributions118 helpful votes
If you need a place to stay for an appointment at a Rush Medical facility in downtown Chicago, this is your best bet, The hotel is located just steps away from Rush, Once the Covid pandemic subsides, the restaurant, gym, and shuttle will be available again and this Marriott can return to being a full-service hotel, Until then, you will find that the rooms are clean, the hotel staff always accommodating, and the rates reasonable. Highly recommended for Rush patients.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ycnaF m wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The carpets were nasty, dirty. The lamp was broken. No vending machines. $9 for 2 sodas from their “gift shop!” $40 for parking! No room service! No Bristol! No bar! Customer service was rude. We hated everything about our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vicki Kroll, General Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Responded 16 Nov 2021
We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with the leadership team. We will work to improve our arrival experience and do our best to prevent from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shanna M wrote a review Nov 2021
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania14 contributions2 helpful votes
Despite the hotel's age this was a really lovely hotel. The valet staff was great and so what the desk staff. It was fairly quiet and the bed was comfortable. The only complaint was that there was nothing close by to eat. We had to walk several blocks to get our dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AsIff wrote a review Nov 2021
Indianapolis, Indiana93 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
The Good: Hotel was 1.5 miles from The National Museum of Mexican Art, our destination for the evening. Bed was comfortable. Hotel looked like it has been renovated in the last 5 years. Room smelled clean. Staff was friendly. The Bad: Hotel offers zero amenities and still blaming Covid19. Restaurant Closed, Bar Closed, Workout Room Closed. No Room Service. Even though all this is closed because of Covid19 they have Valet Only Parking. You can not self park on the property. You have to allow a stranger in your car to park it. I contacted the Hotel prior to staying and was told to download a parking app. ""At our property we only have valet. Some guest use Spot hero for area parking options."" Above was my message from the hotel when I mentioned Covid still being a thing and not wanting a stranger in my car. Valet is also $40 a day. I contacted Marriott on Facebook. And I was told someone from the hotel would contact me. They never did. Saturday the day of our stay we got to the hotel. We drove around the area looking for street parking. Since this area is heavy with Apartments / Condos and Medical District / UIC all the street parking is permit parking. Begrudgingly we used Valet. In total there were four different people in my car. Parking the car, retrieving the car to go to our event , parking when we got back that night and retrieving when we were going home. I have no idea if these four people have had a vaccine or if they kept on their mask or if they used hand sanitizer. I wiped down every touch area with a Clorox wipe after each time I got back in my car. I know to some this is ridiculous ,but you know I haven't had a cold, flu or anything in 2 years by keeping myself and my family safe. I also cleaned every surface in the hotel room. The hotel not allowing self parking is a disservice to the Hotel Guest. I had no issue with the parking fee. On with more bad. I said the hotel room smelled clean and it did. But there was spider webs above the mirror in the bathroom and spider webs above the TV. Also above the TV is never dusted. See photo of white washcloth with dust on it. And photos of spider webs. Elevator doors looked like someone tried to claw their way out. Pillows were horrible. Im my opinion Marriott has really sunk. Being a Bonvoy Member means nothing as well as brand loyalty.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is Valet only. They dont allow self parking. Parking in the area is permit only.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vicki Kroll, General Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Responded 12 Nov 2021
We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with the leadership team. We will work to improve our arrival experience and do our best to prevent dissatisfaction from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
medtech72 wrote a review May 2021
Bartlett, Tennessee8 contributions
This hotel has the BEST Customer Service; the most friendliest of staff that I have had the pleasure to experience, in Chicago. Walking into the lobby, the staff was welcoming. The lobby smelled very nice and clean. My room was very nice, modern and clean too and the noise level was minimal considering it was located next to Rush Hospital. Parking is available onsite too and the restaurant was available for in room service. If you are working in the Chicago Medical District, I would definitely recommend this hotel for your business accommodations, and NOT Hyatt Chicago Place Medical District.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vicki Kroll, General Manager at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Responded 10 May 2021
medtech72, We are delighted that your stay with the Marriott Chicago at Medical District/UIC was enjoyable and appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule to share your experience online. We love receiving great feedback about our team members and hotel. We hope to see you on your next visit to Chicago, until then, safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$198 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chicago marriott at medical district/uic hotel chicago, marriott chicago downtown medical district
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoUniversity Village/Little Italy / Near West Side / West Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
113
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC
Which popular attractions are close to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Nearby attractions include United Center (1.1 km), wndr museum (1.1 km), and Chicago Children's Theatre (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, a fitness centre, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Rosebud, Chez Joel, and Tufanos Vernon Park Tap.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Chicago Marriott at Medical District/UIC?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (4.5 km), The Rookery Building (2.9 km), and Macy's on State Street (3.4 km).