We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Inn of Chicago

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,693 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inn of Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,456: English reviews
FLorida
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I knew that the hotel was old when I booked the room, so I was aware of what that means - lots of noise from other rooms, possible issues with warm water, elevators not working. All of that could have been ok, but the fact that you had to pay for your wireless connection in the room (different prices for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thecosmopolitan
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear thecosmopolitan, Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location in downtown Chicago. We regret to learn that your internet connection was not functioning properly, but we will address this concern our IT Director. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused you. It would be a pleasure to invite...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I was in town for a business event right up the street. I saved $200+ by staying here instead of the hotel the event was at. The rooms were kinda small like they said but it was expected for the type of building it was. Great location, safe to walk around at night. My only complaint is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheLuvDiva
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear TheLuvDiva, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our friendly staff and central location off the Magnificent Mile. Allow us for apologize for the delays and inconveniences you encountered with the hotel elevators. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful, and we look forward to welcoming you back again...

Bonnybridge
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Downtown Chicago. reasonable price to be so central, and did not let itself down in comfort and cleanliness. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a list of breakfast places recomended by hotel, ignore these and take a walk up to Houlihans for a great buffet breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AileenBonnybridge
Wichita Falls, Texas
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just got back from staying 2 nights at this hotel. This hotel had probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in, and the bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it with a very small single sink you couldn't even put a toothbrush on. We had booked a room with a "special deal" that included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BetsyK12
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear BetsyK12, Thank you for your review. The Inn of Chicago is a historic building in downtown Chicago, dating back to 1927. As such, the design and layout of our guest rooms and bathrooms are different compared to what many would expect from other traditional hotels. Your comments about the carpet will be addressed with the maintenance department, and appreciate...

Calabasas, California
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here on business for a few days recently. Amazing location in downtown Chicago. Price is high but expected for the area. Rooms are simple with bathrooms on the small side. Lots of close by restaurants with transportation options very convenient

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zzixor1
Pencader, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is huge, the service is great, it is in an excellent location and my room was nice enough! The wi-fi is free, but only in the lobby. Noisy A/C but there is an off switch! Big TV, a proper bath and shower, decent coffee in the room...what more could you possibly want!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackdragonwales
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear blackdragonwales, Thank you for your review. Our location is very central in downtown Chicago, and we are glad you enjoyed it. We are relieved to hear that you were able to manage the A/C during your stay. We look forward to being of service to you again when your travels bring you back to Chicago. Best, Guest services

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Staff were not only unhelpful, but they stole/lost something, then lied about it. Management was belligerent and definitely didn't put the guest first. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. For the cost, the accomodations were lacking, but most importantly, service was abysmal.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank E K
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Calling this hotel 'renovated' is a joke. All renovations I could see ended in the lobby. This was a dirty hotel that reeked of thirty year old, stale cigarette smoke. It reminded me of a sketchy, off the highway motel. The pictures of the hotel rooms were nothing like what we actually stayed in. The only upside is the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ameliatom
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear ameliatom, Thank you for your review. It seems we fell short of exceeding expectations while you were a guest of ours. Not all of our guest rooms have been renovated yet. On our website, you can see both room types: contemporary and traditional. We are really sorry if you were unaware of this situation. It would be a pleasure...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed at the Inn of Chicago last week for one night and was happy with the location. The hotel is always running specials, so you can get a room for a good price that's right off Michigan Ave. The corner suite was nice and big, so it was weird that the bed was just a "queen" (really a full)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Sarah M, Thank you for your review. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn of Chicago and appreciated our central location. We do our best to offer a good value in downtown Chicago. As the Inn of Chicago is a historical building, our elevators are smaller than the ones...

Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel eager to explore Chicago. After we checked in I asked the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations & all she did was hand me a brochure. Very robotic & not nice. The room was large as we had a king bed & that is the only positive of the stay there. One of the bellman...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Schuliel
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Schuliel, Thank you for your review. It seems we felt short on a couple of instances during your stay. The lack of hospitality shown to you is unacceptable, and is never our standard here at the Inn of Chicago. Your comments will be addressed with our front office department, so that no other guest departs feeling the way you...

613 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (375)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
One King Bed (28)
Viewed
One King Bed Handicap Accessible (31)
Viewed
One Queen Bed (24)
Viewed
One Queen Bed Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Double Beds (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#105 of 186 in Chicago
1,444 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Magnificent Mile

Neighbourhood Profile
Magnificent Mile
Over 400 stores pack the concrete along Michigan Avenue, the eight-block stretch known as Magnificent Mile. This area between Oak Avenue and the Chicago River is more a shopping paradise than a full-out neighborhood. For prime upscale shopping, this is the place to go. It’s busy, energetic, and packed with shoppers. You'll also find hundreds of restaurants and dozens of hotels, all on the mid- to high-end scale. Some of the city’s most iconic buildings like the Wrigley Building, John Hancock Center and other architectural marvels define the magnificence of this neighborhood.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Price Range: ₹ 5,175 - ₹ 24,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn of Chicago staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Inn of Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“my corner room was great”
 of 5 bubbles SoccerMom2012, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I was on the 18th floor. There was almost no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Westerner124, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
  • Old and stained carpet
  • moldy fixtures
  • Leaky HVAC
  • Fixtures falling off the wall.
 of 5 bubbles Laurent139NYC, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles dianes636, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great location for shopping and sight seeing”
 of 5 bubbles damona103, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5