We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
636 S Michigan Ave Lobby Entrance On East Balbo Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-1901
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Hotels.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Booking.com
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$199
Travelocity$199
travelup.com$216
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1452)
Room & Suite (773)
Videos (7)

About

#54 of 216 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
66Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
33Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2846Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,808
  • 725
  • 189
  • 75
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
arvin s wrote a review 7 Nov
1 contribution
This hotel is not bad. The rooms are big, and the beds are comfy. But there's something about it that makes it so that it doesn't feel premium. The elevators are small, slow and bumpy. And the breakfast is by far the worst part of this hotel. If you are going to Chicago with your family and your kids want some pancakes for breakfast. That won't work here. They ONLY serve porridge and eggs n bacon. So, you don't really get to choose what you want to eat. They do it for you. They location is also pretty meh. Its nice and quiet though. So that's always good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The higher rooms are higher up
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry to see that you didn't appreciate all our services. We hope you will join us again one day for another occasion bringing you to the area. All the best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlieinTexas wrote a review Jun 2022
Austin, Texas3783 contributions458 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed for one night, and look forward to staying again in the future. Excellent location, across from Grant Park on S. Michigan Ave. Easy access to the subway, all kinds of attractions nearby, and, walking distance to most of Chicago that a visitor might want to see. Lobby was reminiscent of hotels from a day gone by. Greeted warmly by Chautan at the front desk. Although I had to wait a little bit for my room, Chautan was so pleasant that I had no concerns that I would get my room as soon as it became available. Walked around Grant Park and Millenium Park for a few hours and had a great time. Fruendly call from Chautan telling me my room was available. Nice fellow took my bags and stored them, and I wanted to mention him, but I didn’t catch his name. Really nice room with a view of Lake Michigan. I would recommend asking for an upper floor. Very comfortable bed. Best hotel room desk ever. Really. Very large and lots of plugs accessible. Lots of hot water and good water pressure. Elevators arrived promptly too. A bit more about Chautan. Simply, a lovely professional that is a credit to the Marriott/Autograph Collection brand. Obvious to me that she liked her job, was eager to please, easy to talk to, with good recommendations about about the area, and was a definite plus in regard to an already excellent stay. Photo attached — ask for her.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Charleine, thank you so much for your wonderful review and especially your mention of Chataun. She was thrilled to read about your experience and how she made such a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a wonderful summer ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William L wrote a review 3 Nov
Outstanding historical boutique hotel, with a rich history hosting celebrities, politicans (including many US Presidents). The neoclassicism architecture is exquisit and detailed inside and out. The lobby is spectacular, warm and inviting. Most important, the staff is proactive, helpful and accommodating. They make sure you enjoy your stay at the Blackstone. Finally, don't miss dinner at the Mercat restaurant, absolutely outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For a weekend getaway, check in on Thursday or Friday. Dinner at Mercat Friday or Saturday...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
William, thank you for your very nice comments, I know the staff will be thrilled to read they made such an impact. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great week ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmluc wrote a review Oct 2022
Prague, Czech Republic17 contributions19 helpful votes
Spent a relaxing weekend in Chicago and stayed at the Blackstone hotel. It was very relaxing. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was very helpful. They also have a wonderful restaurant, Mercat that I highly recommend too. The location of the hotel is very convenient to so many things.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much and we are glad to see you had a nice visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tkingston25 wrote a review Oct 2022
Jacksonville, Alabama4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This was our first trip to Chicago, and we picked the perfect hotel! We had a beautiful lake view room that was very spacious, and quiet. We were able to walk to Navy Pier and Millennium Park, with Grant Park right across the street. The hotel itself is historically beautiful and we just wish we had spent more time exploring the hotel itself. We will definitely return here when we come back to this beautiful city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Great to hear you had such a wonderful time here. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Benjamin wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
My company spent nearly $1,000 for two nights and I was told if I needed wifi it would cost extra . . . unless I am a frequent user member. Even Days Inn offers free wifi. So not acceptable. The hotel restaurant food and service was terrible. Had to wait 20 minutes between courses. Food was salty, bitter and seemed like an experiment gone wrong. Room was nice, but I looked out at an alley.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Benjamin, thank you for your comments, however, WIFI is indeed complimentary for all our BonVoy member and it only takes 2mn to sign up and it is free. I am sorry you also didn't care for the food in the restaurant and I will share this with the team to ensure we address any deficiencies.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
judinewyork wrote a review Oct 2022
new york102 contributions53 helpful votes
We were looking forward to a weekend away, and the Marriott group is usually a good place to stay. Although the rooms are well appointed, the sizes and layout vary extensively. Upon arrival our assigned room lacked any natural light looking into the mechanical courtyard. Since we are Marriott members we called the front desk to see if another room was available which didn't feel like we were staying in a basement. The front desk staff (Friday) was AWFUL, rude, condescending and far from accommodating. They tried to convince us that all rooms had a similar view...crazy that anyone looking at the fire escape plan could tell this was untrue. Anyway, after saying we would be changing hotels (to a different Marriott which I have stayed at before) another room became available...but they wanted to charge us $60 more per night. We refused this "deal", and got a different room with a street view (not lake view which I totally understand should be more). A couple which we traveled with had a nicely appointed room but was so small they needed to more the nightstand to open the mini refrigerator. We attended a banquet, the vegetarian gnocchi was terrible and underdone. But the oddest thing was the service staff picked up the charger plates prior to serving any course...their banquet manager might want to review this procedure. Why not serve the salad placing on charger plate and when clearing salad plate pick up charger? If not skip the charger plate. Our room never received housekeeping services...we called down for towels around 2, the towels arrived around 3. Although this person probably would have taken care of our room at that time, we were trying to get ready for our evening plans. I was told they couldn't come back since the shift ended at 4. Would I stay at the Blackstone again? No. This property was below any Marriott service standard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Judi, thank you for your review and I am sorry to see we didn't seem to have met your expectations. We try to accommodate all our guests requests based on availability and at times, we are unable to. We will ensure the staff is aware of your comments as well to help with the training and development of our team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna O wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a great stay at Blackstone hotel. The room was quite big, nice lake view, we appreciated having the kettle in the room.The location is excellent. The reception was very polite, in particular Lucy and Morgan have been very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Great news, so glad Lucy and Morgan made such an impression, I will certainly share this with them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
getsaround wrote a review Oct 2022
Omaha, Nebraska39 contributions56 helpful votes
I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wondered, “Who got the good room,” and, “Who got the good service?” when I have traveled. Particularly post-COVID, I feel lucky if I even get basic service and amenities. The Blackstone delivers, friends. Friendly, efficient check-in, pretty lobby, nice bell guys, and our room!! TWO windows, beautiful light, roomy bathroom (although I despise barn doors on bathrooms) and clean, clean, clean. The fitness center was large and well-equipped and the restaurant was delicious. The Blackstone gave me hope that post-COVID travel is not ruined for good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Wonderful to read your review and to see that you had such a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William K wrote a review Oct 2022
Green Bay, Wisconsin63 contributions50 helpful votes
This is one of my favorite hotels to stay in Chicago. very nice clean room. However, unfortunately the king lakeshore room my head did not match the picture on Marriott‘s website. There was only one small window in the room that I stayed in. it’s nice that they’re one of the few Marriotts that the club lounge is open and staffed with a very professional team.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre-Louis Giacotto, General Manager at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Responded 18 Oct 2022
William, so glad you enjoyed your visit and that our staff made such an impression. Looking forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renaissance hotel chicago, renaissance hotel blackstone, renaissance chicago, chicago renaissance
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
335
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BLACKSTONE, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION (Chicago) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Fox in a Box Chicago (0.4 km), Ragnarok Axe Throwing (0.4 km), and Jazz Showcase (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafecito, Devil Dawgs, and Buddy Guy's Legends.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Blackstone, Autograph Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Blackstone, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Blackstone, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.