We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hansen House Mansion Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hansen House Mansion Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hansen House Mansion Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
Macomb
Reviewed 26 March 2009

My husband and I never stayed at a B&B in Chicago before. We loved our visit to Hanson Mansion. The old mansion charm was wonderful. Such a beautiful historic building. The furnishing fit the old world charm. The mansion is so close to everything in the city, and the hostess, Fran was wonderful. She explained all about the area, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank plantdocMacomb
Mt. Dora, FL
Reviewed 23 March 2009

As a long time patron of the Hansen House, I had to write in to disagree with some of the frankly baffling posts listed about the B&B. I visit Chicago maybe three of four times a year on business and I ALWAYS stay at the Hansen House. I've visited many different parts of the world and quickly developed a distaste...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PIlatesworks
Napa
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We were concerned about our visit due to past reviews on the Hansen House Mansion, and I can tell you, as a picky and very detailed traveler the Hansen House Mansion FAR exceeded our expectations. We were celebrating a major milestone with family members, friends and employees and 3 couples and my Grandmother spent the night, we spent an additional...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NapaValleyGirl
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We stayed at the Hansen Mansion during the busiest time of year (around Taste of Chicago/July 4th) and were lucky to get in for the time we wanted. My wife and I were accompanied by her Parents from Quebec, and her Mother had never been to Chicago before, so I wanted to show them the best time that I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pcwineguy64
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 18 July 2008

I stayed with friends for 3 nights at the Hansen House. We had a wonderful weekend, thanks to the quality of the friends and the house's great location. The house is old and worn (shabby-chic would be a bit generous), but nice enough. However, there are several mis-representations on the website. The bathrooms are far from "luxurious". The third floor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MBernha267
Carlsbad, CA
Reviewed 17 July 2008

13 of us stayed in this quaint old house. We came from all over the U.S., New Zealand, Italy and Amsterdam. The house was wonderful, the location perfect. The problem I personally had was not being able to use the kitchen refrigerator. We were told numerous times that there was no room in the downstairs refrigerator and to take our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank socalles
Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 July 2008

My friends and I stayed at the Hansen House Mansion for a girls weekend. There were 13 of us - 10 stayed at the house and 3 stayed at a nearby hotel as the house only sleeps 10. The location is excellent! It is so close to Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan. There are restaurants and shops easily within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tajarl
st lazare
Reviewed 12 July 2008

This was our first trip to chicago. The hansen House Mansion is in an excellent location, the building is a wonderful old building. That is the end of the compliments. We got the 3rd floor set of rooms. House was very dusty and dirty. Terrace needed major repairs, fridge was not stocked are represented. Would not recommend for the Price....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grammi10
Chicago
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I reserved Hansen House 9 months in advance for a family reunion. It happens that I live in the area so I asked several times to see the B&B and the owner gave me the run around telling me that the place was always booked. I let is go but in in retrospect, I should have been suspicious. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank hobo49
HansenMansion, Owner at Hansen House Mansion Guest House, responded to this review

We did try hard to get this guest in to see The Mansion beforehand -- we love to show off! -- and even suggested she come see just the ground floor since the rooms were occupied the few times she could come, but she declined and chose to wait until her arrival. When guests insist on an early arrival, this...

HANOVER PARK
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We had a gift certificate for the Hansen House purchased through a promotional offer. Although the booking agent was curt and unpleaseant on the phone, we made our reservation for the only room that we were told was available for that date. When we arrived, we were greeted with "How did you get in here?" Not, "Hello" or "Welcome." We...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Kathryn W

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#87 of 188 in Chicago
1,328 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#74 of 188 in Chicago
2,494 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 188 in Chicago
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Lincoln Park

Neighbourhood Profile
Lincoln Park
Head to the North Side of Chicago for a stroll through one of the city’s greenest neighborhoods. Lincoln Park boasts over 1200 acres of green space complete with a free zoo open to visitors year-round. This pedestrian-friendly neighborhood is lined with parks, row homes, boutiques, taverns, and nature. Lincoln Park itself borders the lakefront area offering peaceful views of the water and the Chicago skyline. The Lincoln Park Conservatory is one of the most popular attractions in the area, with the Chicago History Museum a close second. Armitage Avenue is where you’ll find great shopping from high-end retailers and small boutiques, whereas Clark Street houses cafes and restaurants. For more highbrow entertainment, walk along Lincoln Avenue to find some of Chicago’s finer museums and theaters.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Hansen House Mansion Guest House

Address: 164 W Eugenie St, Chicago, IL 60614-5809
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park , Near North Side
Amenities:
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hansen House Mansion Guest House Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hansen House Mansion Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are three elegant rooms with queens (very comfortable). Another room has two singles. We also had a person on a cot (not preferable).”
 of 5 bubbles Sojourner43018, 12 Apr 2013 | Read review
“We loved our room at the top of the stairs on the second floor and the bath is wonderful and huge!”
 of 5 bubbles kredhead51, 27 Dec 2012 | Read review
“If you want a balcony, ask for the third floor suite. Great place with table, chairs and view!”
 of 5 bubbles writertype, 2 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Architects Room is beautiful and spacious and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaLily, 28 Nov 2011 | Read review
“The Celestial Chamber has a very large private and modern bathroom with shower. The Architect's Quarters is gorgeous- with a tub. If you booked both rooms on that floor you could share the shower.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyNCTraveler, 8 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5